Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Firstly, Arenzano is a wonderful town. The winding hill streets are speckled with restaurants, wine bars and all the other amenities you could need. The people living there a lovely and it was a joy to be surrounded by them during our stay. The Grand Hotel was an excellent choice. The location is perfectly situated on the beach front and it's a minute's walk in to the center of town. The hotel's pool and surrounding area was great and has it's own bar where food and drinks can be purchased. Our room, despite being a bit outdated, had all we needed and an extremely comfy bed. All in all, we had an excellent 7 nights at the hotel. Would highly recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Friendly and classic hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Lovely location for a day or three. We got last room and it wasn't the best but clean and bed fine. Shower not so good Overall though the welcome was good, the pool and bar are great. The location and local restaurants are good - had the best barbecued steak i can remember. Overlooks sea. Great for a atop off on way through rather than driving into a city centre. Good value for money
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton

Average

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: the hotel is tired and outdated. in need of modernisation
Location: Great beach view location and within easy walking distance to the beach, bars, restaurants and shops. Cute little town
The name suggests something a lot nicer than the hotel actually is. Unfortunately, the standard of hotel is less than you find in France (we were on road trip from the French to the Italian Riviera) and so, I was hoping for a better standard of hotel. In order to get to the room, it required the lift and then a flight of stairs, so anyone with a lot of luggage, young children or not particularly mobile would have difficulty accessing this room. The view was wonderful (sea view) but the room looked tired and a little outdated but it was clean. I wouldn't stay there again, but it depends on what you're looking for...
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Nadyafrom London

2 nights and a nightmare check out

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived at this hotel in the afternoon and although I booked the room with a sea view for four days via hotels.com, the receptionist said we had park view booked and we had to pay 20 EUR extra for each day if we wanted to have a sea view room. We paid cash upfront for four days to have sea view. The hotel is ok, definitely wouldn't give it 5 stars if they didn't have a pool. The rooms are very dated, carpets are stained, wallpapers are coming off in some places. Furniture is very old and greasy. Breakfast is very "Italian". You are not going to get a proper English breakfast or anywhere near that. Out of hot food they only serve scrambled eggs and overcooked bacon. You have a choice of different bakery and jams. No fresh juices available. Some cheese and salami is there. Coffee is of a good quality. We had a dinner in their restaurant which was OK, but overpriced. We decided to leave after two nights, because the weather was bad. At the check out we were asked to pay for three nights, because we decided to leave after two nights instead of four which we booked. The price they asked us to pay was much higher than my quoted price when I booked the hotel. They also did not want to refund any money for 1 unused night at the sea view room. Overall, a rip off. The receptionists could hardly speak any English. They had no idea how the prices are formed. Young girls working there are very rude and irritated. I had to spend nearly 30 minutes at the check out. I managed to get my bill sorted. At the end, they all agreed that I would pay for three nights only(only stayed 2) without any sea view charges. The price I paid for two nights after all the arguments was 390 EUR. The location is beautiful and this hotel could really stand out. It is cozy and would be nice to have a weekend spent there. The management side and the overall culture of the hotel can really spoil your weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Annafrom Australia

Great location

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ok for short stay, great for families
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scottfrom of Melton

incredible value

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'm so used to staying in bland chain hotels that this hotel was a wonderful surprise. Right on the seafront, large room with high ceilings, just wish I had more nights there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marcfrom Evesham

Great hotel and location.

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, great location. Would be better in the holiday season when everything is open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel on front opposite beach

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Breakfast buffet good, plenty of choice. Outside swimming pool with towels provided. Booked a double room, given a room with 1 double and 2 single beds so had plenty of room. Bathroom good size, good quality and size towels. Public beach opposite, stony in places so shoes recommended, slopes quickly to deep water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice enough hotel. Room was a little expensive for what it was but we did stay in peak season and book last minute. Location was good for beach, restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels.com