Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lucerne

The hotel is OK, but has seen better days

Posted Jul 30, 2014
The location of the hotel is great for exploring Liguria. Beach across the street, direct bus to Genoa from hotel, and train station 5 minutes walk with connections to Portofino, Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza. The hotel itself could use a face-lift, as the rooms are large but dated. The bathrooms also have the old-school hair dries that take ages and ages to use, so bring your own! Hotel is right next to the beach, but for added comfort there is a private beach, with beach chairs and a pool that hotels guests can use for a reduced charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from swiss

Great location

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Great location and staff extremely friendly, Hotel room was a great size with heaps of room. Price was also fantastic ! We were even aloud breakfast 30 min after it closed ! Very happy customer
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Crystal from Toronto, Canada

Terrible!!!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
“Terrible!” I would NOT stay here again nor would I recommend it!!! The staff are rude, condescending and arrogant! They were not helpful at all!!! I have spent 12 days backpacking thru northern Italy and this is the worst hotel I've stayed in! They say free Wifi, yeah for an hour. If you forget to log out then you've used your hour of free wifi. The bathroom had mildew/mould in the shower. Rooms are NOT sound proof! I could hear the man in the room next door blowing his nose! I spent 4 days at the Hotel Castello Miramare across the street. Initially only planning to stay two. When I decided to stay longer, unfortunately they were booked for the 5th night as I flew back to Canada I wanted to stay in the area because it was close to the Genoa airport. I ended up at the "Grand" hotel Mediterranee and I was unimpressed! I actually walked back to the Hotel Castello for travel advice because the staff there were far more approachable and eager to help. Plain & simple... Happy to help! :) "Grand" (term I use loosely) Hotel Mediteranee wasn't worth the extra euro! They certainly need to take hospitality and service advice from the smaller and friendly hotel across the street!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by don and lori

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sean from Switzerland

Great location

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Probably the friendliest and most accomodating staff I have ever had in a hotel. Great location for local beach with easy access into Genoa centre. Rooms a bit dated, but massive in size.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a short stay.....

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Location: On the seafront and has great views.......but a lot of traffic noise
The foyer and reception smell of stale cigarette smoke. Reception staff pleasant and helpful on arrival.......offhand and abrupt on departure. Huge room with lovely big windows, great view. Kingsize bed was ok comfort wise. Wood flooring very old and in need of repair. Bedside rugs were dirty. Bathroom was well equipped but could be a lot cleaner. I'm sure this hotel, in its hey day, was very grand, sadly today it is a little tired and is in need of some tlc. Free parking was a plus and the complimentary breakfast was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Rather dated & in need of facelift

Posted Jul 17, 2011
Hotel was in need of a good overhaul especially the exterior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Excellent!

Posted Jul 8, 2010
4 travelers. Great staff - very helpful. Huge room - actually 2 rooms, more like a suite. Nice breakfast too.