Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Clean and grand hotel close to train station

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Our stay was OK. The hotel is clean and fairly well located but i probably wouldn't stay here again. On the last night the staff were very unhelpful and awkward. We had bought a bottle of wine to enjoy in our room and asked for a bucket of ice at reception. This appeared to be a huge inconvenience. We received a dessert bowl with some ice in. We then arrived back at our room to realise there were no wine glasses or a bottle opener. This was frustrating as there was a selection of wine in the mini bar fridge but no means to enjoy any of it. Also, surely the man in reception knew this but didn't think to preempt it. So we went back to reception with the bottle for it to be opened. The man at reception again found this very inconvenient and claimed the lobby bar (always empty) didn't have a bottle opener so directed us to the 7th floor (a tiny terrace bar) to see if they could help us. This all just seemed really unnecessarily unhelpful and poor customer service; especially considering it was the only request we made during our entire stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel in convenient location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Clean, quirky, friendly staff, good location.
Cons: Nothing, it was great.
Location: The hotel is right next to Genoa's main train station and a short walk from the old centre of town.
We stayed in Grand Hotel Savoia for two nights on a trip that took us by train from Milan to the Ferry to Sardinia. Grand Hotel Savoia is located in a most convenient part of town for the main train station and also to get to the ferry port (by taxi, don't attempt to walk). The hotel was clean, quirky and lovely decorated and provided excellent service. Our room had no view, but was nice and cool and the bathroom was excellent. The staff was professional and friendly and very helpful. On our first evening we enjoyed a nightcap on the beautiful 7th floor terrace which is open till midnight, which is convenient if you just want a glass of something after dinner. I can't comment on the restaurants attached to the hotel, the quality of roomservice or breakfast as we didn't use any of them, but the basics of the hotel were great. I would definitely recommend Grand Hotel Savoia to anyone planning to travel to Genoa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good base to explore Genoa but not 5 star

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Good location but hotel a little dated and faded. Room excellent but staff variable which pulled our rating down. On a couple of requests for help either didn't come back (needed aspirin for headache) or gave very perfunctory recommendations (for dinner) and didn't offer to make reservations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent Location - Grand Hotel!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location, Amenities, Cleanliness, Modern by Charming.
We spent 2.5 weeks in Europe and this was by far the nicest hotel that we stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manhattan Beach, CA

Fantastic Old Hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Eliminate rooms near elevators. Our initial accommodation was next to the elevator... when we expressed noise concern, we were immediately moved.
Location: Old Genova, the train station and lots of interesting restaurants.
Perfect for our short stay in Geonva. Close to old Genoa and the train station. This ii a well-kept old hotel with outstanding service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Exceptional 5-star hotel across from train station

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The Grand Hotel Savoia is a luxury 5-star hotel right across the street from the main train station in Genova. The hotel breakfast was outstanding & presented on their breathtaking rooftop terrace overlooking the city & harbor. The hotel architecture, room details, amenities, and spa (available during your stay) are extraordinary! We were thrilled we chose to stay at the Savoia & make easy day trips to Portofino & Santa Margherita.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Very good hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Location. Interior.
Grand Hotel Savoia is a really good hotel located just opposite Genova Piazza Principe train station. An abudance of original features inside the hotel. Roof restaurant/bar terrace affords excellent views over the city. Breakfast buffet was superb - really worth the price. Watch out for the city tax added to the cost of breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from penn

Great situation - shocked by grandeur!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: grandeur, situatuin
Cons: all great
Location: perfect for sightseeing,
For the price i paid for a triple room for one night i expected a reasonable level of service. This hotel went way above our expectations! we were upgraded to 2 double rooms, and we didn't expect breakfast to be included in the price, - it was and it was superbe - everything you could wish for in a beautiful setting on the 7th floor overlooking the Genova skyline. Situated next to the main train station minutes from the port, this hotel was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Last-Minute Switch

Posted Aug 4, 2014
When I arrived at the hotel, I was told they were overbooked and I would be staying in their sister hotel: the Hotel Continental. The hotels are connected and very similar. My room was comfortable and I was given a complimentary breakfast at the Grand Hotel Savoia's buffet due to the switch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, U.S.A.

Beautiful hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
So conveniently located near the train and with a friendly and knowledgeable staff, this beautiful hotel gets a five-star rating from me. We will stay here next time we travel to Genova. Restaurant management and staff, and food, were excellent as well.