Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Classic Stay

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is an old hotel but it is very lovely high on the hill over looking part of the city. I enjoyed the stay and the clock tower that chimes throughout the day. I would stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairns Australia

Hotel looks better on the internet then it really is.

Posted Aug 6, 2010
We came in our room- the toilet seat fell apart - the shower door fell off the track - the TV wasn't working the plug was broken - the hairdryer hose was broken and coundn't turn it off, etc. The caretaker couldn't fix it all. The room door was locked but open in the afternoon made from the room service. The breakfast buffet was the worst ever. No choice of food, nothing fresh, the same rotten fruit in bowl for 4 days, Coffee always luke warm. There was a pan and hotplate to make your own scramble eggs but not heated up - took 20 min. to heat up and no oil. It seems they try to save on every corner to make profit. But we wouldn't go in this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Calif.

Only for a Select few

Posted Jul 5, 2010 on Hotels.com
This is an old castle type structure - extremely bad location (safe) - but far from anything and difficult to find and get to. Not very friendly staff. Dinner was a joke - waiter was the bar tender, waiter, and cook. As for the cooking..... micro wave Pasta - for crazy price. - might be the place for someone that enjoys the quasi castle style - but over-all not for me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4 star, I must have been to the wrong hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2010 on Hotels.com
Do not book this hotel. We visited this hotel as part of a tour of the south of France and Italy. We booked this hotel for firstly its pool and four star rating (I think not). Upon arrival, it was virtually closed, we had to search around to find a member of staff so we could check in. The staff were very unhelpful, we could not find any information on meals, they were not interested at all, it was as if it was closed. The pool was closed and full of algae, the rooms were very small with oversized furniture, and the air conditioning did not work. There was a fridge in the room with just water and no prices. We had to drink plenty due to the temperature in the room. Upon check out we got a nasty surprise of been charged 2 Euro's a 0.4litre bottle, and we had used quite a lot as usually they are complimentary. The location is just set above a lot of high-rise flats up a very narrow road. We would advise any one to avoid this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

Lovers Hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2009 on Hotels.com
We arrived very late (couldn't find the hotel) but when we did check in, all services were closed. We were hungry and tired. The front desk assistant was good enough to have four sandwiches made and offered a selection of wine. We sat down near the pool with our food and wine and just fell in love with the place. Next morning we came upon the "Grotte" gardens. What a fantastic find. It was well worth the effort. Wonderful place for a wedding. On a hill top overlooking the bay and the port. We would go back again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Brushed aside

Posted Jun 26, 2009 on Hotels.com
I would not recommend this Hotel. Their focus was on nightly group partys and convention guests. I asked to get a beer on the pool patio at about 4:00 in the afternoon (I went to the reception because there was no waiter on duty), I was told the bar did not open until 7:00 but the receptionist brought me a beer, she made sure I knew the bar didn't open until 7:00. The pool was closed, not broken, no lounge chairs, no food or drink service during the day, no internet. Hotel is a long way from town. Room was tiny and air conditioning was not cool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Awful Awful Awful

Posted Jun 2, 2009
My girlfriend and I booked this hotel for two nights. The hotel seemed ok at first (although its really out of the way) and the walk up the countryside is interesting. However the rooms are really really cramped. Our first night was ok, however at about 7am in the morning several crashing sounds came. The walls in hotel are poorly insulated. The second night was a fiasco. The hotel hosted a Lions club event and I saw a man with a gun walking around hotel. After repeated attempts to get ahold of the front desk failed, we heard several "gunshots" and a woman screaming. I called the police and eventually the front desk called me and told me this was part of the Lions club comedy show. The hotel neglected to mention to the guests that this would be going on even though they were told of the gunshots before the show took place! We didn't sleep until 3am, partly because we went downstairs to the front desk to complain. I asked if they would pay for a cab to the train station because I had major business meeting in Milan at 1pm and wanted to try to get a skosh more sleep. They said no! And then they said "maybe we can give a discount on the room, but you didn't pay very much." Which implied they were only jerking me around. The next morning they called our cab to take us 1km down the hill 15 minutes too early. So our cab ride was 19 euros for 1km. My attempts to complain to the hotel have failed and thus I say: Avoid this worthless hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brighton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2009 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Grass Valley

Romance

Posted Mar 15, 2009 on Hotels.com
WOW!!!!! This place was surreal!!Dinner was incredable and breakfast (included) was the best we had in all of Europe! The grounds were out of a fantasy! The staff couldn't have been better from start to finish. The only drawback was the proxsimity to the town. Hard to find and 20 minutes to anything; but well worth it. Jaw dropping!! I loved this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Aix en Provence

Très bon séjour accueil un peu froid

Posted Sep 13, 2008 on Hotels.com
Beau bâtiment, jardin à visiter, service et propreté des chambres bons. Bonne literie. Piscine pas très propres (algues). Accueil desk un peu sec