Ratings based on 2,309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in mountain gambling town.

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Contained all amenities under one roof...spa, restaurants, casino, and pool.
Cons: More Vegas-style amenities for casino play and restaurant use.
Location: Close to other casinos in Blackhawk and Central City CO (that do offer gaming and meal deals).
Excellent accommodations at very good price. Less than helpful desk staff but restaurant and casino staff friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great Stay!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Clean, updated, and plenty of amenities.
Cons: The service (not the food) in the restaurant needs improvement.
Location: We were traveling through but there were plenty of pull offs on the side of the road.
The hotel was great. We were just there for a night traveling through. The hotel was clean and updated. One thing we were disappointed with was the sauna was not available on the weekends. That was one of the reasons we chose this hotel and ended up not being able to use the sauna so this was a huge disappointment. When we were leaving the next morning we were seated for breakfast and had what we thought was plenty of time to eat breakfast and get to the airport. Although the breakfast was delicious the service was really slow. Granted it was pretty full but not packed. We ended up cutting it really close to catching out flight. Other then that, it was a great place to stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Stephanie , Hotel Management
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review our property and give us feedback. We'll pass along your feedback about the sauna to our spa department. We're glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, co

Best place to stay in Blackhawk

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Cons: More shops! One small shop is not enough! Us women like to buy things, and when you gamble and have money it makes it even more fun!
Blackhawk and Central City desperately need to take a page out of Vegas's book and try to make the hotels in the area more upscale. The Ameristar is the ONLY hotel in the area that is even anywhere close to a "nice" hotel- with a pool and a spa (all very upscale) and some nice restaurant choices. I never go anywhere but here. I'd love to see another nice hotel built in this area. Until then it is the Ameristar for us!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Stephanie , Hotel Management
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to give us such a great rating! We aim to please, and we're glad you had such a great stay with us. Hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delta Co

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Room was clean and friendly housekeeping staff.
Cons: The food, the smell of the room, strong cigarette odor. It would be nice if the front desk was closer to the parking ramp.
Location:
My wife got sick, and we were looking for soup for her all they had was tomato, wished microwaves came in every room. Was disappointed I didn't get free room coupon. Wished you could buy items at buffet instead of having to have entire buffet. We were excited to stay here because last time we had an awesome time,but I was very disappointed this time. Machines were not hitting at all. Very poor payout. Would have stayed longer but took my money first hour I was there. Did go and eat all you can eat crab legs at another casino/
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2015 by Stephanie , Hotel Management
Hi there, We're sorry you were disappointed with your last visit, and we appreciate your feedback. We'll be sure to pass along your comments to the appropriate departments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Great

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We went for a short 1-night weekend stay for a birthday and had a great time. I booked Ameristar because it had the best reviews of all the other Black Hawk hotels and it delivered. After check-in we explored the other hotels and casinos, and we're very happy we booked ameristar over the others! Would definitely stay there again, worth the extra money paid for the room. Also, nicest hotel bathroom I've ever had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Stephanie , Hotel Management
Hi there, Thanks for the great review and the 5 stars! We love getting guest feedback, and I'm glad you had a wonderful time during your stay. Hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denver co.

Very clean and comfortable. Everything we needed

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Awesome and great food!! Pool, hot tub was perfect. Just need more cocktails waitress's we did not have anyone ask us for a drink when gambling. The good weighed out the bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Stephanie , Hotel Management
Hi Bill, Thanks for the five stars, and the feedback on the lack of drink service while you were here. I'll be sure to pass your message along to our F&B director. Thanks, Stephanie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Littleton, CO

Has everything you would want in your room.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Everything is new.
Cons: Maybe a shelf near the toilet.
Location: Plenty of food options in this Hotel/Casino. Blackhawk is a small town, so most casinos are in walking distance.
Very modern. In room coffee, safe, iron, hair dryer, small refrigerator. Tub and separate shower stall. Nice views. Great TV. I really enjoyed staying here. Oh, also, there is a rooftop pool & an indoor & outdoor hot tub!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Stephanie , Hotel Management
Hi there, Thanks for the love and the five stars! We're so glad you loved your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with clean comfortable rooms!

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Very friendly staff, easy valet service, clean comfortable rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Stephanie , Hotel Management
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to rate us and give us five stars. We love hearing our guests' feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice new hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Great hotel with a huge bathroom. Very clean best video poker that we found.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by Jenn, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ameristar Black Haek Casino

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The rooms are clean and the beds are super comfortable.
I've generally enjoyed the rooms at Ameristar but the Security can be a bit up tight. The night I stayed they were doing maintenance on the pool so it was closed, that would have been nice if they were able to state ahead of time, provided it was scheduled maintenance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Stephanie , Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We love hearing from our guests, and we appreciate you reaching out and leaving a review. I'll pass along your message, and see if there's anything we can do about making sure guests know in advance that the pool will be closed. Thanks