Ratings based on 1,928 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our stay on Sept 11th

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Everything! Everyone was nice and very helpful
Check in was fast and easy. The room was very clean, easy to find. We enjoyed the Casino so much we didn't need to leave to go to another.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Great time for all!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Contacted Expedia had room in seconds, price was right on time no hassles. Room on the 28th floor, beautiful view from clean and comfortable room. Had a great in house pizza for dinner which was yummy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Awesome

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Great room. Great casino. Very clean and wide open. Very Vegas like. We will definatly be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder

Very nice casino hotel!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Stayed for one night to play some poker with a few buddies and enjoyed the stay here. Pretty high end for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: elegance and cleanness.
Enjoyed the hotel. Restaurant food quality is good but bit slow in service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel & casino

Posted Sep 5, 2014
We have been going here for a few years now, and will come back next year...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful room

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Casino downstairs.
Location: Within walking distance of lots of other casinos
The room was very nice. The bed wasn't as comfortable as I would have expected. Would definitely stay there again though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room appointments

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Everything is a 10 except for the lousy foam pillows which are a 1. Why go cheap on the pillows ? Bring my own next time
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Check in was very bad, but the rest was ok

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Cons: More organized check in times, especially if our rooms were guaranteed by a credit card.
I realize it was Labor Day weekend, but when you spend over 200.00 a night for a room, you expect it to be ready when you get there, especially at 9:00 at night. Two of our rooms were not ready, we were tired and had no clue when we would even get into them. If you are going to have a bunch of people, hire extra staff to get the rooms cleaned faster, don't make the present workers work harder. I don't feel our first night should have been charged full price because we were only in there for less than 3 hours. We were told that if we were there at 4 our room would be ready, that the staff had many late checkouts and couldn't get the rooms clean fast enough. Well I'm sorry, but I booked these rooms a long time ago, two of the women were very pregnant and needed to rest, I was very angry. Other than this situation, the hotel was very nice and the rooms were very clean. I hope you treat your cleaning staff well because they worked hard and did a good job. I hope you take time to read this, because we frequent the area a lot, not sure I would recommend staying there after the awful check in. It kinda set the mood for the whole trip :-(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Husbands birthday

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: how clean it was and the upgrades made it feel like a vegas hotel
Decided to spend the night up in black hawk my husband has never been there and i have heard great things about the ameristar. Once we got there it felt like a vegas hotel when we checked in, it was very spacious. We got the chance to pick the 18th floor. Once we got to our room our key didnt work, so we had to go down to check in desk and get it fixed and the lady wasnt very pleasant to work with about it thats the only reason i give it a 4, once we got back up to our room it worked fine and never had a problem through out the night. The room was beautiful! The bathroom was granite and marble with a huge soaker tub and separate shower, the room it self was giant! The king bed was so0o comfy no complaints of the room. We ate at the lodge casino for their all you can eat crab legs so0o wonderful! The gambling at the ameristar was nice to were not big gamblers but just pulling slots for awhile was fun. We were told to go check out the pool and hot tub on the 34th floor so we did and it was very very nice and romantic especially the outside hot tub. Our sleeping was nice no loud neighbors so nice and quiet. I would recommend the ameristar to anyone we will defiantly be back.