Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom swindon

A quiet get away

Posted Sep 28, 2014
A lovely place to stay , friendly staff, clean well looked after room, we enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning...the food was lovely , the only downside was pricey drinks..a large wine and a double jack Daniels £18. Not a deal breaker by any means..and a long walk to the back of the hotel for our room, which wasn't too bad and after a lovely meal I think I needed the exercise!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Karl, Hotel Management
Dear Del Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and the facilities. I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Karl Wilson General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk

Disappointing

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing in particular
Cons: Address issues mentioned above
Location: Reasonable location in Bucks
We expected more. Bath water hot tap ran extremely slowly, very noisy on Friday night until 2 am and unable to sleep. Restaurant menu very limited and inefficient service: it took an hour for our order to arrive. Very small portion size, tough inedible mushrooms and carrots with carrot root fly damage. Waiter did his best to make amends by plying us with G &Ts whilst waiting. We won't use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gar1234from Kent

Great Stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed 1 night after a wedding locally. Good service, clean room and very comfortable stay. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Wales

The Bull Hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The comfortable beds, the air conditioned room and the friendliness of the staff. There was nothing to dis-like about our stay.
Location: We stayed here because it was convenient for our purpose. Initially we were visiting family in Oxford and then spending a day in London.
Fortunately, we stayed for two nights in executive rooms, well away from the noisy function room! Our room was a good size, clean, very comfortable and air-conditioned. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the lounge bar on our second night and all enjoyed our meals; the service was prompt and again, staff were friendly..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall

Lovely hotel, but needs air con.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The look was nice, the evening meal was nice as was the breakfast. Very convenient location.
Cons: Needs air conditioning in all rooms. If not they need to inform people when they book. The price does not correspond with the lack of amenities.
Location: Quick and easy to get into London. Nice village.
We stayed at this hotel years ago and thought we would go again. It was convenient for what we needed. The hotel looks lovely and we had an easy and friendly check in. After a bit of a walk we found our rooms. Very nice, but this is July and there is no air con or fans in the rooms. It was 26c outside. Boiling was an understatement. If I had realised we would have booked elsewhere. To keep the windows open the whole way you couldn't close the curtains. Our rooms overlooked the outside bar area which looked lovely but at 1am was still going strong. Not a lot of sleep was had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in convenient position

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Stayed in hotel to attend family function. Room was clean with all facilities required for an overnight stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kerryfrom Worcestershire

Rooms too hot

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean and staff were excellent. Gardens looked good. Excellent breakfast. Unfortunately air con is not standard and the rooms were far too hot. Could not leave windows open due to noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Karl Wilson, Hotel Management
Dear Kerry Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found the staff to be excellent and your room clean. Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed your breakfast and found the gardens well-maintained. I am sorry to hear that your room was too hot. Some of our other rooms do provide air-conditioning that will make your stay more comfortable. I do hope that you will return to us in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JDfrom Poole

Pleasant Stay

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Bull Hotel is very charming, great location with very comfy rooms newly decorated. The hotel reception staff is exceptionally helpful and very friendly. The hotel is very clean and the public areas are appealing, especially the outside grounds when the weather is nice and sunny. Beautiful gardens well kept with comfortable garden chairs to sit for a drink, have breakfast, or a bite to eat over lunch. The only drawback is the restaurant service is very slow, tables are not regularly cleared and it's hard to get the attention of the staff. The Sunday Jazz lunch is a great idea, good Jazz band and good quality food. This would have been much nicer if the hotel hadn't organised a children’s birthday party at the same time. All in all a very pleasant stay, we would be happy to return. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Muckypup

A hotel that caters well for a family of 5!!

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would certainly return to this hotel. The room was brilliant. A family of 5 was no issue and the staff and service were brilliant. Thank you The Bull.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by Karl Wilson, Hotel Management
Dear Muckypup Thank you for yuor perfect score! I am delighted you enjoyed your family room at The Bull. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by Karl Wilson, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your perfect score! Kind Regards