Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Economy hotel in good location

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location is good and room rates were cheaper tan others in the area.
Cons: Front desk staff could make one feel welcome and provide room information.
Location: Good location in downtown, easy walk to everything.
Hotel room was aged but maintained in acceptable condition. Hotel desk staff was functional but did not make one feel overly welcome. Breakfast consists of buns and coffee, get there early or by 8:00 AM you are out of luck. Tv operation was complicated and should have been explained by front desk staff but was not.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
It was what you would expect from an older motel. Nothing great but it did the trick while we were in Gettysburg.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Colton Motel, Gettysburg

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: It was close to everything we wanted to see.
Cons: The bathroom vent needs to be fixed.
The room was small and somewhat spartan. The vent in the bathroom did not work. When I went to the office for a cup of coffee in the morning, there was sugar and creamer, but no mixers. The attendant told me he would go for them later in the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Window unit ac - noisy. Room close to street - noisy. Blankets, bedspreads & towels- old, ratty & holes. Very poorly renovated bathroom. Didn't get much sleep. Continental bfast was honey buns from the dollar store & coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

right in the middle of everything in Gettysburg.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: close to the heart of gettysburg
Cons: nothing totally happy
Location: museums resturants best buffet ever,col pickets,lincoln train museum ,cemetery, shops.
we were in walking distance of almost everything we wanted to do in Gettysburg.this was our 3rd year at the colton in Gettysburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The hotel was out-of-date, but I kinda liked it. It felt more roomy than most hotel rooms, with lots of space between the foot of the beds and the TV. The best part of this hotel was the location. It literally bordered the Soldier's Cemetery, which is a popular Gettysburg spot. It was very close to all the sites we wanted to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint motel.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location,can walk to many sights!
Cons: Internet service.
Great staff, very helpful and informational, clean rooms, beds comfortable. Great location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimmy from Ohio

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Throw back style of the hotel, reminded me of when my father and me traveled across country in the late 60s when I was young.
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE and toilet, shower water handle, and mold around the shower/tube.
Location: Excellent location on main strip of Gettysburg, near McDonalds and Friendlys. Within a mile or two of Gettysburg National Park visitors center.
The Colton hotel is just like I read about in other reviews. It's a throwback 1960 style hotel with only a few updates. TV was old tube type although we were only there from about 9 pm to 8 am so we never turned it on. Cleanliness was only an issue in the bathroom as the calk around the tube was dirty/moldy and this went up a couple tiles. Other then that the room was clean just old style which I kind of liked. Operational issues: toilet was not secure and would wobble when you sat on it (one bolt securing it to the floor was flopping). Shower handle had a tremendous amount of "play" in it to the point that you couldnt make minor water temperature adjustments but rather had to "hunt" for correct temp by coarse movements back and forth. Comfort: beds were harder then I liked but adequate. Micro fridge worked fine. The ice machine had plenty of ice to fill cooler. CUSTOMER SERVICE: POOR. Checked in and the clerk didnt charge my cc card resulting in a rude call the next morning from the new clerk insinuating I tried not to pay. Went for coffee/danish at 0645 but breakfast doesnt start to 0700 which was fine but the morning clerk (I think owner) looked at my wife and me and in very rude way asked, "what do you want". I replied a cup of coffee and he again rudely replied, "read the note" and pointed towards the door which had a # of small hand written notes posted on it. Bottom line its not a bad place to stay if you dont mind the mold, shower handle, toilet issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid It

Posted Jun 15, 2014
AC in room was broken, loud laundry room next to us had alarms going off all night, paint peeling off toilet, no water in pool in June. Two thin pillows on bed. Rest of bed was comfortable. Shower was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid It

Posted Jun 15, 2014
AC in room was broken, loud laundry room next to us had alarms going off all night, paint peeling off toilet, no water in pool in June. Two thin pillows on bed. Rest of bed was comfortable. Shower was good.