Ratings based on 690 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntingdon, PA

Bates Hotel has nothing on this one!

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Not close to anything. was well off the beat and path.
From the minute we pulled in, you could tell there was issues. We had to register at the hotel beside this one. When we got our key and walk in, it was so hot in the hallway, it was horrible. We then get to our room and open the door and it was worst. Could barely stay in there. Turn on A/C, after 5 hours, still well above 80 in room. Try to give us room beside ours. It was to have better A/C, after 3 hours, still to hot. Waited for another 3 hours for first room to cool off enough to fall asleep in. Indoor pool was so hot, you could not even be in there. Never would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
For the most part a good stay. Wasn't impressed with the breakfast at the attached restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2015 by Joe, Hotel Management
I hope you enjoyed your time in Gettysburg. I'm sorry you weren't impressed with our breakfast, feel free to drop me a note with specifics you were unhappy with so they can be addressed. Our restaurant serves a great buffet on weekends and a menu during the week. I appreciate any opportunity to improve it. I appreciate your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Nice place for an overnight stay. The room was comfortable and the staff friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: a/c was on full blast and would not cool the room, no microwave, no refrigerator
Cons: needs renovated badly
Good price but would have rather had another hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2015 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and for your review. I believe this online review process can be helpful, but it would be more helpful if your review was specific. Knowing what specifically made you wish for another hotel would help me fix those issues. As much as I enjoy hearing the great things, hearing the not so great are more helpful in making necessary corrections. Our entire staff is committed to making our guest experience the best it can be. We appreciate your business and hope to see you visit us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

looks nice on the outside - good pool area

Posted Jul 20, 2015
rooms are old and dirty looking This place peeked in 1985 - the last time any upgrade was made to this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Gettysburg. I'm happy to report guest room renovations have begun. We appreciate your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from downingtown pa

Downhill fast

Posted Jul 19, 2015
First I should qualify this that I didn't pay full rank rate; however, this room was a flop house. I had stayed here 2 years ago and while it wasn't 5 star, I was not prepared for such a rapid decline. Carpet tore up, lights didn't work, stains in the back of the door, wall paint chipped away in several places, shower stall tile broken in several places and the kicker: the sliding door going out to the pool area came off its tracks every time you opened it. You needed the strength of Hercules to get it closed again. The lobby of the hotel apparently is permanently closed as you must check in and out at the hotel next door, I guess this should have been a warning. I complained at checkout and the reaponse, "yeah, slowly but surely the rooms are getting updated. It's a slow process." True I didn't pay rack but still more than a budget hotel, and since the place it quite a ways from town and the battlefield I can't help but wonder what warrants their rates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntingdon , Pa

Run down

Posted Jul 12, 2015
The beds were comfy . We stayed by the pool and the sliding door that went to the pool area heck we really couldn't lock it . There wasn't even real glass in half of it . This place needs an upgrade really and it would be fine . I wasn't impressed at all . I would only stay here again if it was a last resort .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Posted Jul 11, 2015
I'm sure it was great 30 years ago but it was old, stuffy and dark. No working deadbolt on the door. For that price it should have included a continental breakfast, or fridge or microwave!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

VERY NICE CLOSE TO THE GETTYSBURG AREA

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: LOCATION AND MANNER OF AIDING YOU WHEN YOU HAVE QUESTIONS
Cons: DON'T GO CHANGING ANYTHING
Location: 2 MILES FROM ANYTHING IN THE GETTYSBURG AREA
HOTEL STAFF VERY HELPFUL AND READY TO SERVE VERY CLEAN AND THE RESTURANT WAS ALSO VERY GOOD
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us and for noticing our fantastic staff. They work very hard to accommodate our guests. We appreciate your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, VA

20 year old mattresses

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Replace the mattresses or at least have the staff pretend to be concerned about the dilapidated conditions of the hotel.
Location: The town of Gettysburg and the battlefields are excellent and worthwhile seeing the entire area, but not from this hotel!
Outside of Iraq and Afghanistan in the last 8 years, the 2 king size mattresses were the worst we have slept on. The hotel was mostly deserted on 4-5 July 2015. The clerk said he was giving us an upgraded room. He lied. The room was mostly clean, but you could see the beds had been slept on by J.E.B. Stuart's horses. We asked for a new room and nothing happened. The wifi was none existent. The tub did not hold water. The fitness center was closed, and the hot tub was not open all weekend. The manager was told several times and has never returned our calls (while we were there or since). This hotel is not as advertized.