Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delta B.C.

great character

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Character, history, breakfast
Location: Convenient location close to Gettysburg visitor center and city center
Beautiful house built in 1862. Clean and comfortable with lots of character. Great peaceful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NSW Australia

Historical B&B

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: History
Location: Drive to Gettysburgh national museum and battle fields
Great stay at Lightner Farmhouse. Warm and friendly hosts and short easy drive to nearby National Museum and battlefields of Gettysburg. Eileen is passionate about the house's history and role in the civil war. Don't miss Wednesday morning chat about the original owner Mr Lightner! Thanks for a wonderful Gettysburg experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dennis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Virginia

46th Anniversary at a Fine B&B in Gettysburg

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the Battlefield and the town of Gettysburg.
Cons: Pretty good as is.
Location: Obviously the Battlefield and the town.
My wife and I enjoyed staying at the Lightner Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast for our 46th Anniversary. The staff (owners) were very nice. The two breakfasts were excellent and visiting with the owners and other visitors was fun. We were about a mile from the Gettysburg National Battlefield and visitor center. Very convenient to visit and good recommendations for dining out were provided. I would suggest staying in a room other than the Cedar Room. It had a bit of plumbing sounds, but was still nice. We certainly would return to the Lightner Farmhouse in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lightner Farm B&B

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Beautiful, welcoming and historical B&B near the Gettysburg battlefield.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Grounds!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Walnut room was spacious, private, great views, lovely porch with rockers and the food was excellent.
Cons: Cleaning could be a bit more extensive, but I'm a stickler for that kind of thing. Overall very well kept place.
Location: Just a few minutes out of town, with the most lovely mini golf course we've ever seen anywhere on the way to town. Huge outlet mall nearby.
We found the Lightner Farmhouse B&B online and it looked like it suited our needs. Stayed in the Walnut room, which is actually a converted summer kitchen. Living room and bath downstairs, very spacious bedroom upstairs, all comfortably furnished. Good bed (didn't need the trundle bed), nice tv, small fridge, coffee maker, freshly baked cookies in a jar. All the mechanicals worked well. We had a private deck and rear entry off the staircase to the bedroom, overlooking gorgeous grounds. They have nearly 25 acres of well maintained grounds, with walking trails. I don't know how it would be staying inside the main house. The two breakfasts we had were excellent, which is always nice in a B&B. Our hosts, Dennis and Eileen Hoover, were informative and very friendly. Son Jason helps with cleaning and cooking and was also very friendly. Would definitely return when we're in Gettysburg again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mikefrom Bethlehem, PA

Better Battle For this B-n-B

Posted Jul 31, 2012
Pros: The friendliness of the owners.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: A little over two miles from all the attractions.
The staff provided a very interesting short history of the building and its significance during the Civil War. It was a very short distance to the Battlefield.itslef. They served a scrumptious breakfast and overall there was an extremely relaxing atmosphere and friednly staff. No doubt, I would defintiely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JWG

Very nice B&B!

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable stay at a very nice B&B! The host/ownwers were extremely friendly and helpful. A comfortable room with a very good breakfast! Would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Robin

Excellent B & B

Posted Jun 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Exactly what I was looking for in a Bed and Breakfast near an historic venue. Very comfortable, rustic and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Corona, CA

The Lightner Farmhouse B&B-Comfort & Hospitality

Posted Nov 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
Dennis & Ilene were adorable. They made us feel at home right away. They gave us a tour of the home, a brief history, and more information to read if we wanted to follow up. They also gave us information on what to do in the area. They left us with cookies and hot beverages to explore on our own. Our room was bright and comfy, The Maple Room. All rooms were clean and tidy! Breakfast was pumpkin pancakes and Bacon!!! Delicious!!!