Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kylertown, PA

Early check-in

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: The staff and the pillows.
Cons: I think housekeeping should spend a little more time in the room. The bathroom could have been cleaned a little bit better.
Location: Chambersburg mall was close as was the Gettysburg National Military Park. So is Shippensburg University!
WE arrived earlier than expected and I asked about early check-in. As wonderful as they were they allowed us to check-in 2 hours early. The room was comfortable and for the most part clean. The pillows were the most comfortable I have ever used at a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newark, DE

Pretty nice for the price!

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Very clean and fresh smelling. Quiet a/c allowing for a very restful sleep.
Cons: Outlets near the night stand would be nice.
Location: Gettysburg, PA
I've stayed at Super 8 motels before but only if I had no choice. They were only fair to disgusting. I reluctantly booked this motel since we had to make the trip and it was the last place we could afford that had a room. From the moment we stepped into lobby and then into our room right off the lobby, I couldn't have been happier. The room was clean and fresh and the air conditioner cooled the room quickly and quietly. The beds were decently comfortable although I prefer a softer mattress. The only gripe I had was the lack of outlets. We had to move the alarm clock to the small table near the a/c as there was no outlet to move it to the end table between the beds. Other than that, we was extremely happy with our stay. We did not have a microwave in our room, but there was one for use in the lobby. Our room did have a small fridge and a two-person table with chairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Basically what you would expect from a Super 8. The rooms were clean and pretty spacious, and breakfast was reasonably good. However, if you are traveling with young children, I wouldn't recommend it. We could hear TVs, alarm clocks, talking, cell phone rings etc through the walls. If you are looking for quiet, this is not the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Poor Experience

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: See above - needs major improvements.
Location: Many restaurants nearby and Gander Mountain very close. 20-30 minute to Gettysburg.
I have reviewed many hotels over the years and all have received 3 stars or more so this is my first time to rate a hotel below 3 stars. The room was just plain hot despite an air conditioning unit in the room. Front desk looked at it but was not able to cool off the room - just plain miserable. The bed was small for 2 people and it was on the hard side. I found holes in the blankets/sheets which appeared to be caused by smokers. The hallways and rooms smelled like cigarette smoke and curry and left all the clothes in our suitcase smelling like this. The mini fridge seemed to be leaking water on the floor. The location of the hotel was fine and the staff seemed nice enough but it was not a comfortable or pleasant place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Multiple Visits

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Economical stopover for a day or two. No complaints, but I'm not finicky, either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from PA

Decent accommodations

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Convenience to highway and comfortable accommodations.
Cons: Disposition of the desk clerk.
Location: My stay was for one night between work days on an out of town project. Again, it was close to the highway and my work site which is all that mattered
My first impression was not a good one. The gravelly voiced woman working the front desk had next to zero customer service skills and barely any human to human interaction skills, but I chalked it up to miserable person syndrome and went on to my room without worrying about it. When I got off the elevator at the lower level, I found the corridor to appear dark and dingy and began to think I had made a mistake by booking here, but when I got to the room I found it to be very nice and clean with a comfortable bed and overall nice accommodations. I had a pleasant stay and no issues until having to deal with Ms. Sunshine again at checkout. Mostly it was a non-issue because she was busy not serving another customer when I attempted to hand her my key card. I barely got a glance and a grunt from her so I left it on the counter and departed, remarking to my coworker that if she worked for me she would be sitting in customer service training right now. Good place, comfy accommodations, miserable greeter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was great! The room was what I expected, reasonably clean. The mattress was well used but ok. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holley, NY

A nice place out of the way

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: It is a nice facility at an interstate exit where there are not many other amenties.
Cons: Get a new "greeter".
Location: There are many restaurants and shopping areas at other I 81 exits nearby. We got Chinese takeout for dinner in Scotland, not bad.
We had the worst "greeting" of any recent hotel stay. The gal at the desk must have gotten out of the wrong side of her bed. She really put a negative spin on a decent hotel where we have stayed previously. The desk person on checkout Sunday was very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

OK

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Close to Highway, good for one night travelling through on the road
Close to Highway, good for one night travelling through on the road
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

Visiting relatives

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Convenient to visit family.
Cons: New mattresses
Location: N/A
We stay here once and a while to visit relatives in the area. We don't ask for much, just a place to lay our heads. I have a bad back and the mattresses in our room were horrible. My back is still sore 2 nights later. Please buy new mattresses.