Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good central location.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: Free wifi
Location: The high street runs just behind the hotel. There are plenty of local pubs and restarants within a short walk. The port is less than a 10 min walk.
The hotel is well situated to walk to the port for a variety of restaurants as well as boat trips. The only bad mark is that the wifi is not free and it will actually be cheaper to use your cellular provider. Most restarants will give you free wifi when you are out so I'd not recommend paying for the wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to most attractions

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The staff from reception thru to cleaners, they always made us feel welcome and could not have done any more
Location: We were 5 mins from the cable car and 10 mins from the main square and 100 yards from Main Street
Brilliant from start to finish, staff made us feel very welcome and they could not do enough for us. I have celebrating by birthday and they gave e a bottle of champagne to get it off to a good start. They helped us plan our trips without using a tour guide, that way we would take our time, especially at the Rock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Very nice hotel conveniently located in the centre

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Dinning room on top floor provides excellent views over the town and bay. Food and staff so good that we only ate elsewhere once in the week.
Cons: Bed rather hard. More information about tourist activities would have been useful.
Location: Everything in Gibraltar is close to hand. Would not recomend it for families with young children.
An enjoyable week during February weather warmer than UK but variable, but this did not stop us going out each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by danny from uk

Hotel was very good. Near main shopping street.

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: the furniture and décor in the room could do with a revamp
Location: handy for all facilities ie. shopping,cable car,museam.
The hotel dinner and breakfast were very good. The rooms were big and comfortable. The furniture could do with renewing the tops were marked with cup stains etc.. Otherwise no problems. The weather was poor and we could not land. Had to go to Malaga. Which made us 2/3hrs late. The same was due to happen going back but luckily the plane landed at the last minute, when the clouds lifted. So beware of the weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from UK

2-day break to Gib

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The location is perfect for a brief visit to Gib.
Cons: Reception staff work hard BUT typically there was only 1 person there who couldn't cope with the queue of people, phones and stored luggage requests
Location: WWII tunnels - but the ticket arrangements have changed and u can only buy 1 ticket covering several attractions - at a cost of £18. Expensive!
The hotel breakfast (included in the price of the room) was first class. Am not normally a fan of buffet breakfast but this really is the exception. The food was in small enough quantities that it was constantly freshly cooked. First class food and with amazing staff who worked VERY hard to ensure tables were cleared and cleaned in seconds - as well as bringing freshly-made tea or coffee to order.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from London

Classic Hotel in GIbraltar

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Must have free WiFi in the future
Location: Excellent location close to main street and short walk from cable car to the rock
Very Helpful staff but the hotel is tired in places and needs more money spending on it . Room furniture was tired with scratched and stained tables. Shower would not drain properly meaning you had to keep turning the water off or risk flooding the bathroom. Most irritating of all was expensive WiFi access which is even charged per device which is ridiculous. Modern hotels simply must have free WIFi these days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trudy from UK

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Good location, excellent sized rooms.
Cons: Cheaper breakfast when not included in the room rate
Location: Convenient location for shops and marina and other attractions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Lancashire

Hotel ok - room allocation is important though!

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: Central location - closer to the action" than (say) The Rock. Good view over the bay from the restaurant, especially at night.
Cons: Free wi-fi. Better tv. Improve cushioning on the armchairs!
Location: Close to all shops and bars. Taxi tour of the Rock is good. Cablecar ride good but not cheap. Get Hoppa ticket on bus for all day riding - cheap!
This hotel is very central - 1 minute from Main Street and all the shops. Only a few minutes from the airport so pretty cheap on a taxi fare too! Check-in/out was efficient. Unfortunately, we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel on the first floor - no view at all and the air conditioning units are right outside and run all night and are quite noisy, so no open window for us! Apart from that the room was "ok" but not great. The chairs were not very comfortable for any extended period. The bed was fine though. TV only fair - picture quality quite poor but typical distributed signal which degraded as more people watched tv. You have to pay for wi-fi in the hotel, which is crazy when the Gibraltar government is rolling out wi-fi hotspots all over the rock. Also, you can get free wi-fi at almost any cafe, bar or pub so why on earth would the hotel think anyone would be stupid enough to pay a small fortune for it in their rooms (and in the public areas like the bar)? The staff are friendly enough. The bar as adequate and the live jazz on each Thursday nights was good (and free). Prices slightly higher than local bars but not overly so. Bar food prices were not cheap though. We ate out every day in a couple of local cafes and pubs - mostly good food and decent prices. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our final night - the waiter looked after us well and the food was very good. It actually seemed like reasonable value (compared to similar restaurants).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cevin from Southampton UK

If you're in Gib, stay here, good central location

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Third time that we've stayed there, return visits say it all, good location, good service, good food, good staff, clean rooms.
Cons: Some of the decor could do with a bit of an uplift, some areas of the hotel look a little "tired", not a major issue, just an observation
Location: The rock [taxi if you want to see the caves etc] [cable car if you want to just get to the top] The shopping Dolphins & diving Chilling out
My wife and I have stayed at the "Elliot" on a number of occasions, this year we decide to treat our son and daughter in law as well. Again, not disappointed, the hotel is so well situated for all attractions in Gibraltar. Cable car a short walk, just off Main Street [shopping], bus stops to Europa Point [and other attractions] a five minute walk away, 15 minutes to Ocean Village [diving / dolphins / casino / numerous restaurants there]. Staff as ever were attentive. Breakfast good [make sure your booking includes breakfast ---- if not it is expensive]