Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Havant

Cannot fault this hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: A very high standard all round
Cons: A card detailing hotel meal times and menus would be welcome
Location: Plenty to do in Gibraltar for a week - trips out into the bay to view dolphins, trips up the rock to see the rock apes, St Michael's caves.
The hotel exceeded our expectations. The levels of professionalism by all members of staff was superb. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Views overlooking the bay at exceptional and our room was always cleaned to a very high standard.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln

Complete Disappointment:

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The Service and quality of meals in the Dining Room were good.
Cons: Almost everything. This Hotel needs to reflect as it fails to resurrect the former glorious top Hotel in Gibraltar from out of the ashes.
Location: Exceptionally good town centre full of history and interesting things to see and explore.
At the time of making our reservation, many months ago, we were aware of the proposed refurbishments. So as the months went by we constantly watched the Guest Reviews/Emailed the Hotel re progress. As the completion dates became further delayed we did become most concerned. However the Hotel assured us that "all would be well" for our Special Occasion. I have to be honest the Restaurant service was very good. However the Service on the adjoining area for drinks/light snacks was extremely poor. Folk were walking away to go elsewhere for a drink and one chap who had been unable to get an answer to "Room Service" still had to wait an inordinate period of time to be supplied with a bottle of champers to take back to his room. The quality of workmanship to the refurb was extremely poor and the cold laminate flooring very much reflected the cold and unwelcoming welcome to this 4 Star Hotel! Will never return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ireland

Well located hotel for access to The Rock

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The staff were most informative and helpful. The sea view room with it's balcony was well worth the extra.
Cons: Wifi access needs improvement. We had to go down to the reception area or out into the hall to get coverage.
Location: The location was excellent to see the attractions on The Rock. There was also aus stop outside the hotel.
Short walk to the Cable Car and the various attractions on The Rock.
2 out of 5
by Markfrom Mansfield, England

Great view

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The view
Cons: Decor and amenities.
Location: Close to main street. Close to cable car and botanical gardens.
Close to the main street and up a steep road the Rock Hotel provides rooms with great views of the Med, Spain and North Africa. Due to the many ships and boats moving in the bay there is a lot to interest the eye from the balcony. The hotel is in need of a lot of refurbishment. The decor is old, the paint peeling and plaster cracks are everywhere. Carpets in corridors are worn. The rooms are basic with cheap furniture and basic amenitites. If you're not in good physical condition the getting into the hotel can be a challenge. It's a steep walk and even with a car in the hotel parking there is still some exertion required. The only way to partial mitigate this is to use a taxi to the front door. The staff were friendly and helpful although "please do not disturb" was ignored.
2 out of 5
by Sallyfrom Bath

A very faded old lady

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: The location and the wonderful views.
Cons: Everything - it is being refurbished but it needs all new staff and management and certainly customer service training.
Location: This used to be THE hotel to go to in Gib - forget it!!! You can walk into town and to the Marina for dinner, cable car is 5 minutes.
A very sad experience. I used to love this hotel and was looking forward to returning after several years. The staff were completely disinterested apart from the lady at the pool bar who was lovely. The y key was virtually thrown at us and no one bothered with us for a whole wee. The room was old fashioned and faded and reached via dirty corridors, paint peeling off walls and doors and a very old bathroom with pathetic shower. The bar was being refurbished so not open but the Terrace room which could have been used as a bar was constantly laid up for meals so no one dared use it - atmosphere was therefore zilch. The rooms were more expensive than the Eliot and certainly not worth the money. Only on the last day were we told that breakfast had been included in our room rate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pippafrom London

A great experience

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The old fashioned charm and friendly staff.
Cons: Carpets in public areas leading to bedrooms need a clean.
Location: The botanic gardens are just across the road and a brief walk through these takes one to the cable car boarding point.
I had been told this was the place to stay in Gibraltar and it did not disappoint. The Rock is in prime position to enjoy the view over to Africa with all rooms having this view. Staff I found really friendly and helpful with my need for fast relaiable wifi, the server was reset for me when requested as problems were occuring. The wisteria terrace is a must for a drink and relax and the photographs in the bar are worth seeing of past visitors. My room was comfortable and pleasant with a well stocked bathroom. Both were immaculate. Sadly carpets in the corridors were stained which let down the standard elsewhere. Breakfast was a buffet and very varied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

could be better...

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: friendliness of staff
Cons: decor
Location: loved the view
overall pleasent stay - pricey for what you got though..
1 out of 5
by Donaldfrom Marlow UK

Faded elegance

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: It's history.
Cons: Nothing short of a completed refurbishment.
Location: Location and views, great. A trip by nearby cable car to the top of the Rock, a must.
Very tired decor, outdated air conditioning, very noisy extractor in bathroom, no safe, empty minibar, cheap unlined curtains, scruffy dirty balcony, brown bath water & very tired decor in corridor with damp patches in walls. All in all a very disappointing experience. I did bring these matters to the attention of the receptionist whilst checking out and advised them that I would be forwarding my complaint to Expedia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible outdated relic best described as a Hostal

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Staff unhelpful, service slow, food poor. This is just about the worst Hotel (HaHa) that I have ever stayed in, best described as a Hostal with school food and the customer service of Fawlty towers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Northamptonshire

Well appointed traditional hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Location. Reception and domestic services, Very pleasant and helpful staff
Cons: Hotel internal decoration
Location: Commanding position in easy reach of all that Gibraltar has to offer
Staff and facilities very good. Reception area excellent but much of the hotel accommodation requires major redecoration, particularly the corridors on the fourth floor Dining room menu excellent and modestly priced