Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Restaurant/bar off the lobby Pool & activity area for the kids
Location: Great place to stop on our way from Yellowstone to Mount Rushmore. Easy off/on.
We arrived early and the place was nearly empty. Very nice pool/activity area for the kids. Had a nice meal & drinks at the attached Bootlegger's. 20% off coupon upon check-in, which was very nice. They have fantastic happy hour specials. If you're planning on sleeping before 11pm, you may want to request a room away from the pool area...it was quite noisy. Nice breakfast in the morning, which was included in the price of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Friends from Canada from Ontario, Canada

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. Big pool. Clean rooms and excellent location.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

just a place to stay

Posted Jul 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I felt uncomfortable in the room just because it seemed unclean and in the bathroom part of the sink was falling apart and the ceiling tiles looked like they were ready to fall in. Did not think for the price we had to pay was worth it, other than it was a place to sleep for tired drivers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brie from Bozeman, Mt

Old and Dingy

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel reminds me of the older conference style hotels that you went to for high school events with the swimming pool in the courtyard. I think this hotel could be really fun but it is severely outdated. The staff keeps it as clean as possible for what they have to work with. Lots of nasty smells throughout the halls, elevator, and room, hand-written numbers on hotel buttons to tell you where you are going, and a "hot breakfast" that is not even worth checking out unless you are just trying to feed a family for free. I wish I would have booked a room earlier at another hotel but this isn't the worst available if you are looking last minute...I felt safe and it was convenient.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Average hotel, nothing special

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were not impressed. Outdated room, nothing special. Didn't appear clean. Bootleggers restaurant was not good and terribly overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Location: Coal mine tours.
This hotel was great for our family. It had a wonderful pool (a bit cold but the kids didn't mind), a kiddie pool and a nice sized hot tub. There was also a small play area next to the pool for younger kids to play on with some arcade games for older children. The breakfast was nice. Would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Janelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tony from UK

Rooms need an upgrade

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, with massive atrium with big swimming pool in the middle. Very nice breakfast and very friendly welcome.However, they need to upgrade the decor in the rooms which was very worn, clean but well worn. Car park looks like a building site when you enter it but closer to hotel it's fine. Fairly good location to drive to restaurants and close to interstate. Enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BMIC from Wisconsin

Awesome place to stay in Gillette

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: The Pool
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right off the interstate and close to many accomendations.
Loved this hotel. Beautiful indoor pool and yummy breakfast. Definitely a great place to stay,
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Gillette, WY

the room was too warm

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was good, the place was clean, if a bit dated. The room cooling system didn't cool the room and we did not sleep well at all- sweated most of the night. I turned the thermostat all the way down to 40 with it set on cooling and the room was still at 76 the whole time. We will not stay again. We have family and grandchildren in Gillette adn will be making frequent overnight visits but will try one of the other hotels the next time. We already were happy with the Fairfield on both other visits but the Clarion price was better so we tried it. We will NOT do that again