Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good ryokan

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: great service, excellent food
Location: excellent location in colorful, traditional gion section
very good traditional Japanese ryokan experience. quite different then a hotel e. g. you sleep on mattresses on the floor which are stored in cupboards during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay with great location

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Room is clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly. Unfortunately, only a few staff can speak simple English. However, all these do not seem to be important with great hospitality and food. Staying in a ryokan takes some getting use to. It was a great experience and will definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by chiharufrom 東京

感動~!

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
家族4人で行き(一人は娘婿で外人)、1人が卵のアレルギーと魚介類がだめでしたが、たくさんの種類のメニューで他の3人と変わらないように工夫して下さりとてもありがたいおもてなし でした。 2泊しましたがお部屋の床の間の掛け軸や生け花が2日間別のものでした。 仲居さんにもよくしていただきありがとうございました。いい思い出ができました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall a good stay, with friendly service, a beautiful room in an excellent location and delicious food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ryokan

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall a very nice place to stay with friendly staff and good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom LA

Best Ryokan in Kyoto, Japan.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Staff beyond helpful, we felt like we were coming home but had never been there before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shannonfrom toronto

An authentic Japanese jewel!

Posted Dec 26, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay and loved the surrounding neighbourhood. The rooms are clean, spacious quiet and very zen like. We were with our 2 adult children and got a kick out of all sleeping together on very comfortable mats on the floor under cozy down comforters. We opted for our meals to be included. You have to be adventurous! Everything was beautifully presented and dinner was a multi course extravaganza. They include a menu so you do know what you are eating. It is an incredible experience The staff is polite and professional and went above and beyond. I became quite ill and ended up having to go to the hospital for antibiotics. One of the staff Naomi accompanied me and stick handled the whole process. Her English is excellent and I was so appreciative of her kindness. This was Japanese hospitality at its finest
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharonfrom Shanghai

Great location. Very nice staff. Lovin it!

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Great location. Very nice staff. Meals were so good that we enjoyed very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nathfrom bordeaux

Ryokan charmant dans le quartier de Gion

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Nous avons passe 4 nuits dans le ryokan, ce fut un moment magnifique. Les propriétaires sont aux petits soins. Le petit dej japonais vaut le détour ! À recommander...!!!