Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Ideal base for the Ayrshire Coastal Path

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Staff were happy, friendly and very attentive, giving the impression they want to make sure you enjoy your visit. Breakfasts (& choices) were great.
Cons: Considering the 3 star rating we had no complaints at all, although a few rooms are a distance from the hub for someone with impaired mobility.
Location: Maidens village, Turnberry Golf Course and Culzean Castle are all nearby and worth seeing and the Ayrshire Coastal Path passes the front door.
We needed a comfortable base from which to walk the southern sections of the long distance coastal path from Glenapp to Ayr and Malin Court proved to be a perfect choice. Its literally on the route and backed up by public transport at the entrance gates and a taxi operator in the village. We already knew about the care home connection but even if we didn't it would have taken nothing away from our 3 night experience. You would really need to be hard to please not to like this hotel bearing in mind its 3 star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

A very comfortable overnight

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Well designed, comfortable and warm on a winter's day.
Cons: Dinner ends at 8pm - that is far too early! How about 10.00 guys?
Location: The Whisky Experience at Kirkoswald
My recent say was a short one but very comfortable. On a miserable day the hotel and notably bedroom was war, and comfy. The menu was extensive and the food was good. With limited time in the morning I was a bit concerned that the breakfast was full service, i.e. no buffet. However service was prompt and no time was wasted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Very friendly staff who looked after me well. Excellent food and a lovely clean comfortable room. Couldn't ask for more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to golf clubs and visitor centers

Posted Oct 5, 2014
A very nice hotel but also a care home on the ground floor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrew Campbell from Lytham st Anne's.

Surprised.

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
The location was great. The scenery is stunning. The only surprise was it is also a "residential care home". Having said that, when the time comes, I would love to relocate there ! It is all within the same building, but separated from the hotel side, so it's not a problem at all. ( nor should it be I guess ) I would stay again for sure. The menu and quality of food was great also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tempe, Arizona

Stay at this little Gem when golfing Turnberry

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location to Turnberry without the cost. VERY nice rooms and staff. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.
Cons: Longer hours for restaurant and hotel access, however I do understand why they need to do that for the residence.
Location: Cruzlan Castle, Turnberry Golf course, The town of Maiden, Mull of Galloway..Too much to mention here! A great place to be a tourist.
I was taken back a bit when we arrived at the Malin Court Hotel. As it turns out it's a combination hotel, and Senior residence. Yep also known as a nursing home. The upstairs is hotel rooms and the lower level are residence. PLEASE don't let that sway you from staying here. The rooms were the best on our 10 day trip through Scotland. The staff was very friendly and the dining room was excellent! They had a nice bar area, and because people lived there, the gardens and location were awesome. Our room overlooked the 7th green on Turnberry and we got up in the morning to see Pheasants and sheep in the light fog over the pasture. Beautiful! Friends of ours were staying at the expensive Trump Turnberry hotel only a mile up the road, and our room was every bit as nice at a fraction of the cost. Very quite and just a great place to stay. I can only repeat, don't let the Senior living thing scare you, you'd never know they were there and when you do run across them you get nothing but a smile! BTW we are not seniors. The room was large and spacious, bathrooms very upgraded and all very very clean.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Bill Doran from Dublin

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels
The bed was very small. The decor was dismal. The food was dreadful. we left after one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal for why we were in the area

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Situation
Cons: Food
Comfortable and pleasant stay maybe catering could be improved
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was clean tidy and people were so nice & helpful

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Lovely hotel . Would defo recommend to stay if in Area . Breakfast was amazing 5star x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from largs

Chillaxing.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The views and the silence.
Cons: The view from our bedroom window was amazing but something could be done to paint immediately outside the windows as they were quite clatty.
Location: Turnberry golf course and hotel are about 1 mile down the road. We got the bus into Ayr and the journey through the countryside was great.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and very reasonably priced. The room was large and comfortable. The scenery outside the hotel was beautiful, and the sound of silence was unbelevable.