Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Great location but needs maintenance

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Arrived to a good looking Hotel in a great location. However I was then left trying to ring a wireless bell in the lobby unsure if anyone was hearing it, for about 10 minutes wondering if I was in the right entrance! Eventually a very nice chap came and checked me in and that was all pleasant. The room looked nice, even with a teddy on the bed to welcome me. The bed looked promising as did the nice big shower. However the bed was so creaky I kept waking during the night every time I rolled over! Then awoke to have a shower and discovered the showered fluctuated in pressure and kept making odd noises which made for a nervous and non very relaxing shower. Thankfully the breakfast and the staff were all lovely, and they did make note of my comments about the creaky bed...but didn't offer any remuneration for a lost night's sleep. I won't be returning to find out if anything was done about Clarence's Creaky Bed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wiltshire

Handy for town, but could do with some updating

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Cons: Décor
Décor rather tired in both public rooms and bedroom. Friendly service, good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three Night Stay

Posted Mar 7, 2015
This is an excellent hotel that lives up to its reviews and reviewers. Very central to the town and all it offers but free from traffic noise. We had an excellent room very spacious with comfortable six foot bed and en-suite with bath and separate shower. Breakfast to meet everyone’s tastes and needs, as has the restaurant with a wide menu well prepared and presented. Our hosts and staff were all most welcoming and helpful at all times. It does exactly as it says on the tin and we certainly recommend it and would use the same hotel next time in town. Thanks and keep up the good work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ruthfrom Croydon

Short visit to Cheltenham

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Faultless breakfast, clean room, great location. Quality of wardrobe could be improved as it wobbled, would definitely recommend though, and would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by stephenfrom Cwmbran

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel close to the town centre and in a nice area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Iainfrom Solihull

Highly receommend staying here boutique style room

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
Very welcoming reception and welcome, great room, we ate in restaurant the food was excellent. Breakfast was great the following morning
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff and good breakfast.

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Had a nice two night stay in this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was scrummy. However, the twin beds were extremely narrow and we were a bit nervous of turning over in bed in case we fell out! Bathroom could do with a night light as the only light had extractor fan connected. It was also a bit 'cobwebby'. Would stay again but ask for a different room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedfordshire

Lovely listed hotel, with wonderful, helpful staff

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Beautiful building, wonderful staff, lovely facilities, delicious food, well situated - just fantastic!
Cons: A lift would be great, if I hadn't been travelling for just two days I'd have struggled to carry my luggage - but staff were happy to help if needed.
Location: Very close to town but still situated near a lovely park (in the centre of the square), some lovely restaurants and bars nearby also to the Chapel Spa
I was greeted on arrival by cheerful, helpful staff - given and upgrade from a single to a small double (I'd had issues with my train and I think the kind gentlemen felt sorry for me!) on check in! The room was lovely, prettily decorated and a meticulously cleaned bathroom. The staff were efficient and very accommodating when I arrived slightly early for check in, even carrying my case upstairs (one slight draw-back - no lift). The hotel is situated five minutes away from town, but not so close that you get any traffic noise. The staff were very accommodating giving me directions to different areas I needed to get to (I had traveled for a course and didn't know how to get there) and offering to book or call taxis for me and offering to store my case even after checkout (I was unsure if my course venue could store my suitcase). Breakfast was both delicious and generous, they offer a range of cereals, fruit, yogurts and pastries in case you don't want a full English. I also ate in the restaurant in the evening, and the food was delectable, and if anything negative can be said - massive portions, I couldn't finish mine! - but I figure you get a generous portions for you money which can't be bad. If I go down the Cheltenham again in March (as planned) I will definitely be hoping to stay at the Clarence Court Hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shivfrom London

Enjoyable stay.

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
We were greeted by a friendly hotel manager who very kindly upgraded our room after hearing of our horror story with another hotel. The room was very spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortable - everything we needed for our two night stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good value, quiet hotel in a relatively central location. The only slight issue we had was with parking as the hotels slots get filled up rather quickly and the nearby streets are mainly permit holders. Overall an enjoyable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeannefrom Amsterdam

Hotel in Cheltenham stijl

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels
Prima hotel maar wat verouderd: geen lift, maar wel veel trappen, electriciteit deed t niet overal Maar ze dragen je koffers naar boven en eten in het restaurant heel lekker!