Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wiltshire

Handy for town, but could do with some updating

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Cons: Décor
Décor rather tired in both public rooms and bedroom. Friendly service, good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three Night Stay

Posted Mar 7, 2015
This is an excellent hotel that lives up to its reviews and reviewers. Very central to the town and all it offers but free from traffic noise. We had an excellent room very spacious with comfortable six foot bed and en-suite with bath and separate shower. Breakfast to meet everyone’s tastes and needs, as has the restaurant with a wide menu well prepared and presented. Our hosts and staff were all most welcoming and helpful at all times. It does exactly as it says on the tin and we certainly recommend it and would use the same hotel next time in town. Thanks and keep up the good work
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff and good breakfast.

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Had a nice two night stay in this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was scrummy. However, the twin beds were extremely narrow and we were a bit nervous of turning over in bed in case we fell out! Bathroom could do with a night light as the only light had extractor fan connected. It was also a bit 'cobwebby'. Would stay again but ask for a different room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedfordshire

Lovely listed hotel, with wonderful, helpful staff

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Beautiful building, wonderful staff, lovely facilities, delicious food, well situated - just fantastic!
Cons: A lift would be great, if I hadn't been travelling for just two days I'd have struggled to carry my luggage - but staff were happy to help if needed.
Location: Very close to town but still situated near a lovely park (in the centre of the square), some lovely restaurants and bars nearby also to the Chapel Spa
I was greeted on arrival by cheerful, helpful staff - given and upgrade from a single to a small double (I'd had issues with my train and I think the kind gentlemen felt sorry for me!) on check in! The room was lovely, prettily decorated and a meticulously cleaned bathroom. The staff were efficient and very accommodating when I arrived slightly early for check in, even carrying my case upstairs (one slight draw-back - no lift). The hotel is situated five minutes away from town, but not so close that you get any traffic noise. The staff were very accommodating giving me directions to different areas I needed to get to (I had traveled for a course and didn't know how to get there) and offering to book or call taxis for me and offering to store my case even after checkout (I was unsure if my course venue could store my suitcase). Breakfast was both delicious and generous, they offer a range of cereals, fruit, yogurts and pastries in case you don't want a full English. I also ate in the restaurant in the evening, and the food was delectable, and if anything negative can be said - massive portions, I couldn't finish mine! - but I figure you get a generous portions for you money which can't be bad. If I go down the Cheltenham again in March (as planned) I will definitely be hoping to stay at the Clarence Court Hotel again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol UK

Birthday treat

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bed and pillows
Location: five minute walk to the city centre
Great for a weekend break just a short distance from Cheltenham city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonfrom Manchester

Friendly and great value

Posted May 21, 2014
Warm, welcome, friendly bar, room a touch hot, great sleep, good breakfast, quiet location, excellent value, job done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Free access to Fitness First gym.
Really friendly and attentive staff. Very friendly. Super room with really high ceilings. Very comfy bed, best nights sleep I've had in ages
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Sidcup, Kent

Excellent Value for Money Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly, accommodating staff is the real plus point with this hotel.
Cons: Nothing that I would identify at all as to what might be improved.
Location: The hotel is just 10 minutes or less from the High Street etc so very well located.
Well located, very welcoming, comfortable hotel with well-appointed rooms. All the staff were very welcoming, friendly and accommodating. For example, we arrived back to the hotel after pub closing time and although the hotel bar was empty and the Canadian manager was counting up, apparently ready to retire for the evening, he was very happy to serve us. Otherwise, all service came with a smile, including meals, reception and any general enquiries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elizabethfrom Toronto, Ontario

Handy to both the racecourse and centre of town

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: My room was a good size, quiet, and comfortable. I appreciated the attentive staff and the feeling of welcome at all times.
Cons: The bed was not as comfortable as I would have liked.
Location: Cheltenham is close to the Cotswolds and Oxford, and there is excellent bus service to nearby villages. The town itself is beautiful and interesting.
I was in Cheltenham to attend the Greenbelt festival at the Cheltenham racecourse which is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is in a very attractive area and easily accessible to the centre of town with the historic promenade and shops. It is a lovely building with large rooms and fine looking furniture - rather like a small country manor house. I found the staff warm and welcoming and eager to make my stay comfortable. That sense of hospitality extended to the excellent soup and wine I had on my evening arrival. The hotel has a restaurant and a bar which made it an inviting place for a glass of wine after a long day at the festival. It was also quiet and relaxing, conducive to a good night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janefrom Sheffield

Good hotel close to the racecourse

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Quality of furnishings and the bed
Cons: N/A
Location: Great location for Greenbelt
Very relaxed and comfortable. I am not sure what else to say as I was only there for 2 nights