Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in pleasant area.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming to both us and our dogs. The room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joyce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Craig from Kent

Clarence

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Really enjoyed it although found room a bit on the hot side
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great location but needs maintenance

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Arrived to a good looking Hotel in a great location. However I was then left trying to ring a wireless bell in the lobby unsure if anyone was hearing it, for about 10 minutes wondering if I was in the right entrance! Eventually a very nice chap came and checked me in and that was all pleasant. The room looked nice, even with a teddy on the bed to welcome me. The bed looked promising as did the nice big shower. However the bed was so creaky I kept waking during the night every time I rolled over! Then awoke to have a shower and discovered the showered fluctuated in pressure and kept making odd noises which made for a nervous and non very relaxing shower. Thankfully the breakfast and the staff were all lovely, and they did make note of my comments about the creaky bed...but didn't offer any remuneration for a lost night's sleep. I won't be returning to find out if anything was done about Clarence's Creaky Bed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Fakenham

Happy camper !

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
Although I had booked a standard double room on the Hotels.com site, I was told on arrival that I was going to be in a basic small double, but then because there was available room in the hotel, I was 'upgraded' to a standard double. Clearly, what you book, and what you get are two different things ! The evening meal and breakfast were excellent, staff were very nice. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hi Paul, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. You booked a classic double room which is one of our small double rooms. (Expedia do not have a category Small so suggested Classic was best fit) We hope to welcome you again soon
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Handy for town, but could do with some updating

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Cons: Décor
Décor rather tired in both public rooms and bedroom. Friendly service, good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three Night Stay

Posted Mar 7, 2015
This is an excellent hotel that lives up to its reviews and reviewers. Very central to the town and all it offers but free from traffic noise. We had an excellent room very spacious with comfortable six foot bed and en-suite with bath and separate shower. Breakfast to meet everyone’s tastes and needs, as has the restaurant with a wide menu well prepared and presented. Our hosts and staff were all most welcoming and helpful at all times. It does exactly as it says on the tin and we certainly recommend it and would use the same hotel next time in town. Thanks and keep up the good work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ruth from Croydon

Short visit to Cheltenham

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Faultless breakfast, clean room, great location. Quality of wardrobe could be improved as it wobbled, would definitely recommend though, and would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by stephen from Cwmbran

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel close to the town centre and in a nice area