Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Very central for the town centre

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: In a very nice area of town with parks just up the road if you take a dog along with you.
Cons: Evening meals need to be looked at, perhaps the chef had a bad day. Breakfast was fine.
Location: The town centre shops are 10 min walk away and we were there to see Bill Wyman and the Rhythm Kings at the town hall.
Lovely Georgian house, now a hotel with the upstairs rooms carved off each other. Clean and nice staff who are very helpful. Downside was the food, over cooked and not terribly well presented, shame as this was really the over main fault of the hotel. It is a good base for exploring Cheltenham area but I was surprised at how shabby the town centre was. They also take dogs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farnham

evening stay at the hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
It was a nice evening so we decided to stretch our legs and walk into town. We chose to eat at Great hotel near to the town. satnav found it ok. we watched the world cup in the bar at the hotel afterwards. wifi was good as well.!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Toronto

A little gem

Posted Jun 30, 2014
This is a fantastic small hotel. The building looks amazing and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The general appearances internally are in need of improvement in places, eg peeling paint, but this didn't detract from the overall feeling. I ate at the hotel and was pleasantly surprised at just how good the food was. Their sticky toffee pudding is to die for!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lee from canada

Architectural beauty. A place to sleep.

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Food - breakfast - great serving staff.. Architecture.
Cons: Sound proof bathrooms and bedrooms (people were whispering in their rooms!). Renovations ongoing - didn't bother us.
Location: Close to Cotswolds.
As per reviews previously, paper the walls.Our room,#5 had two bathrooms for adjoining rooms carved out of it and I could have hummed along with the showerer 3' from where I slept.! ( a thin wall between us). Bed was small but comfy. Room very tight. Nowhere for second person to sit. Dirty upholstery. Amazing architecture and food. 3 night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Willie from Quad Cities, USA

Good hotel, well located.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Clean room. Good breakfast
I have no real complaints about the hotel, but it is undergoing refurbishment and this was not disclosed when we booked. I think the hotel has the potential to be very good once the upgrades are completed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jules from Rotherham

Friendly and helpful staff

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a very pleasant area of Cheltenham but in February weather a little too far to walk to the centre and the Montpellier area - taxi fare was only about £6. The hotel is very characterful but our room's dimensions were on the small side following previous re-modelling to accomodate our ensuite bathroom and the neighbouring room. The bathroom was perfectly seviceable but not to the standard of the main hotel facilities. The staff were all extremely friendly and willing to help including allowing us to check in early. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and served quickly in very pleasant surroundings.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by BenR from Manchester

Disappointing

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very disappointing, from reviews expected more. Had single room in loft, needs redecorating and rain bouncing on roof window kept me awake, wifi didn't work. Shower pressure low. Corridors were in middle of redecoration. On plus side breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary Marchant from Bath

Good value for money

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay. Good value for money. Our room was small but adequate, comfit able mattress. Fittings and fixtures need updating, however house has charming traditional Cheltenham architecture. Staff were helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com