Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

An extra special place to be

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I really can't think of anything.
Location: The Cotswolds are a short drive away. There is hiking right out the front door. A bit far from town, but that is not a drawback.
Wow! sums it up. We felt welcome as soon as we drove onto the property. The site is beautiful, the staff is attentive, friendly and very helpful. The food and drinks were all good (best Sticky Toffee Pudding on our trip!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from oregon

What a treat!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Staff was superb
Cons: Internet access was spotty at times
Location: Cotswalds access. Great place to go to all the many villages
Easy access to the Cotswalds and an amazing staff - enjoyed every moment!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Just perfect

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: That we could have stayed longer
Location: In the heart of the Cotswolds so there's plenty to do!
We decided to take a few days out with our 5 month old. Our first little holiday. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at ease, the staff were so helpful and accommodating. The grounds, rooms and food are just lovely. We didn't feel uncomfortable having our baby with us, in fact quite the opposite. The facilities are, well, lets just say it is immediately apparent why this hotel features in tripadvisors top 25 hotels for the UK. It is deserved. We loved our break and can't wait to go back again.
2 out of 5
by Michael from Hampshire

Good standard Hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Character
Cons: Service is not of a standard I would expect in a hotel of this quality.
Location: Cheltenham.
Fine standard sub standard service, the Car Parking Valets were first class but the serving staff in the Breakfast room were dreadful. We stayed for three nights over a Friday-Monday and each morning had to continually ask for Coffee and various other parts to our breakfast. Ordered hard pillows on the first night and gave up waiting and phoning for them and they arrived for our last night, also asked for clean towels and had to phone reception 3 times. It is in a beautiful setting and I would only stay there again if the service livened itself up a bit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeannemarie from San Didgo

Manor style hotel

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Relaxing grounds and location view s all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by K Shah from London

Magnificent hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely countryside resort with fantastic building and views of the Cheltenham racecourse. Stayed there for 2 nights with my wife and the dinner, spa and rooms were excellent. If you're travelling by public transport it can be a bit of a pain to get to as there is only one infrequent bus from the town centre. But no complaints with the hotel itself. Lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mrsg2012 from London

Great hotel experience

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Food and service was excellent.
Cons: Pillows were not good. Need to be firmer.
Booked for my hubby's birthday and also valentine's day. Lovely hotel which met our expectations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Stoke Mandeville

Amazing Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Best hotel we've ever stayed in!. Friendly staff, superb food. The hotel was spotless, room was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tina and Tom from Corona Del Mar, CA

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was the nicest, friendliest and most service oriented hotel we stayed at during our trip to England and France. Even the staff at the restaurant was outstanding. It is not located in a prime location and you will need a car to get around. The setting made up for the location. We were very comfortable during our three night stay. We highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alyssa from London, UK

Lovely hotel with really great staff.

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Cons: Beds.
The entire stay was very nice. The staff were helpful, polite, and gracious. They did their best to accomodate with any needs and reccomend ideas outside of the hotel as well. The facilites were very clean and of top standards. My only gripe was that the large bed in our room was actually two beds pushed together to make one, so there was a prevelant divide in the bed which I kept waking up in. The shower gel was not replenished the next day. We also asked for a wine opener which they wouldn't leave in the room. We only had one bottle to open so not an issue, but strange that it wasn't offered as an optional ammenity. The spa treatments we recieved were very nice, Hannah did a great hot stone massage, I'd highly suggest a treatment if you have time.