Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent previlige Room

Posted Mar 21, 2015
We booked 3 previlige rooms for our families couple of nights stay. These room are spacious and comfortable. 2 of the rooms had been newly renovated. One of the room had a lumpy mattress and they transferred us to another newly renovated room. The breakfast is good but nothing special. We did dine in the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent and good value. On the whole a very enjoyable stay. One warning though - parking is £10 per night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ideal hotel for concert at the town hall

Posted Mar 5, 2015
room was impressive and better than expected,perfect for the one night stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lincolnshire

Well appointed for Cheltenham centre

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: It impressive appearance in and out and it's location is spot on.
Cons: Don't assume that all your guests don't care how much dinner will be before they book it.
Location: Museum & Art Gallery 10 minutes walk. Horse racing 30 minutes walk. Shops & numerous Restaurants within 5 minutes walk.
The hotel staff were very helpful, cheerful and attentive. The room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom could have done with a bit of skilled attention. Being asked, as a paying guest, to pay for parking was a shock which Expedia should have warned about. On arrival we were given a special Valentines Day Menu, which was not priced, and were told that there would not be no other choice for dinner on the 14th. We considered this to be bad form (especially the lack of pricing) and decided to eat out on both the Friday and the Saturday.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom oxford

Treat your guests properly.

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Its location
Cons: A better levelof service to guests
The experience of staying at the Mercure Queen's Hotel Cheltenham was spoilt on discovering on arrival that a wedding function was taking place. It was quite noisy and in fact the receptionist was finding it difficult to communicate with me. Obviously it was too late by then to make alternative arrangements. I do think that hotels are under an obligation to inform prospective guests that such functions will be taking place at the same time as their booking. We were given room 112 which was just above the function room. I would have thought that it would have been appropriate to give guests not attending the wedding rooms well away from the function. We found it difficult to get off to sleep until the noisy function finished. This is not the level of service that one would expect from a 4 star rated hotel. It is quite likely that we will be coming to Cheltenham a number of times in the future but in view of the poor experience we had we will have to reconsider which hotel to use. Can I also point out that one would expect the plates provided for use for breakfast for hot meals to be warmed not cold as they were this morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to all facilities

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: That the character had been kept while making sure it had modern comforts
Cons: The only thing that was a little disappointing, was that the poached eggs a breakfast were a little overcooked
Location: Very convenient for my sister and I as the reason for our visit our brother in hospital, and it is also very convenient for the station.
We had a very comfortable stay, the staff were pleasant and helpful which made the stay more enjoyable, especially as we were visiting our brother in hospital, which is in walking distance of the hotel, it was good to spend the evening in a relaxed atmosphere .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clivefrom Southampton

Overnight stay

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed overnight to meet family Had room over brasserie which was a bit noisy Very good breakfast selection Staff are superb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Raphaelfrom Basingstoke

An excellent hotel full of old world charm

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a lovely old charming hotel whose standards have been maintained. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is well-situated and is really in the middle between two particularly charming areas of Cheltenham.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, ON

Very nice hotel right downtown Cheltenham

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Location in Cheltenham. Friendly staff. Complimentary Internet. Historical ambiance. Updated rooms/bathrooms.
Location: 10 minute or less walk to most anything in the downtown areas including scenic gardens, restaurants, movie theater, shopping.
A very nice hotel. It's definitely an older building so floors do creak in places, but didn't bother me. Complimentary Internet access was more than sufficient for regular usage. Breakfast buffet was Full English, and very tasty with a variety of options. Staff was very friendly and helpful providing complimentary toiletries (I forgot my razor at home) and able to provide directions to every place I wanted to go. The location in downtown Cheltenham, on the Promenade, meant it was no more than a 10-minute walk to all the places I wanted to go including restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by benno1969from manchester

This is one old building

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Generally OK but don't expect a modern feel with this Mercure brand. The room ceilings are pole vault height and the floor boards are showing their age, hence squeaking from above at 5.30am. Good buffet breakfast, pleasant staff.