Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott

Very central

Posted Jun 8, 2014
For my particular purpose - visiting the Cheltenham Science Festival - the location of this hotel cannot be bettered. The general state of the room was in need of modernisation. Being right on a main road, it was also very noisy. That said, I would stay there again when I go to the Cheltenham Literature Festival in Oct, simply because the location is so convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bev from Wales

A lovely old hotel in a great location

Posted May 27, 2014
A lovely old hotel in a great location. The Queens is a beautiful old hotel. Admittedly it is in need of a make over, but that is part of the charm. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious! I would love to stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris Swain from Winchester

Very tired Hotel needs investment

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is showing its age - it's badly in need of a re furb - was it worth the price to stay today - sadly No - on the plus side the staff and food was excellent but the shower had no power - the curtains were torn - the chairs had collapsed - its not worth the nightly charge and I was dissapointed to pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David

Recommended hotel

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed here before and whilst I didn't get the biggest room this time the overall stay was fine. The hotel decor is a little outdated (though the receptionist said it is due for an upgrade) but it just feels old fashioned rather than tired or unkempt. Superb location, plenty of (paid) parking and lots to do nearby.
3 out of 5
by A N Other

Mercure Queens Review

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel has an excellent location in Cheltenham.
Cons: The service at breakfast and we also had a long wait at the bar for a night cap.
Location: Greta location.
The hotel served a purpose and other people we knew were staying at the hotel so that's why we booked as we were only there for a night. We only booked a Queen room to keep down the cost and the room was ok but a little enclosed (small) but it was adequate for the night. We had to pay additional money for car parking that I wasn't aware of (my fault for not checking but you would expect this to be included). The breakfast wasn't great as we were left with scraps as the buffet wasn't kept well stocked (including the HP Sauce) and the breakfast staff were either short in numbers or not very attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Da Meas from Leicester

Excellent position

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great position in the town. Very nice hotel but a little expensive and tired in places. Friendly staff. However would stay again for the convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by FE-B from Glasgow

Beautiful hotel in stunning position.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: I have known this hotel for many years although this is the first time I have stayed overnight. I am glad it has retained its old-fashioned standards
Cons: Can't think of anything - it was the standard we expected.
Location: Queens Hotel is an impressive building at the top of the Promenade - close to many small, if expensive, shops and caf├ęs. What more do you want?!
We were given a room on top (third) floor with windows facing two ways and good views of Cheltenham Ladies' College which is just a stone's throw away - and the reason for our visit. There is a lift, but there are short flights of stairs to reach different levels. We had very good evening meals in the bar and buffet breakfast in the dining room. There is a pleasant lounge and a garden. There is also a car park for which cars are charged overnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Calgary, Canada

Perfect location, mostly great room

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Room #: 121 Bed: great! Big. Comfy. High quality sheets, quilt, pillows. Bathroom: beautiful! Really nice fixtures and tiling. Roomy. The hot water came fast. Strong pressure (toilet and shower). Room (other aspects): no view, but I don't mind that. The size was not large but was perfectly fine, especially considering the spacious bathroom. Very high ceilings, which was great. There were shabby bits -- ripped curtain that was hard to close. One chair was stained in multiple spots. A lamp with a detached shade that would fall down if bumped. Halls/lobby: I am bad at judging these things. To me they looked aged in the bad sense. To some they might look historic in the best sense. Location: great. A five minute walk to the main shopping area. A 30 second walk to an upscale set of shops, restaurants, and bars. Just across the street from some nice gardens and town hall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marsh from Solihull

Great location...........

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The location is superb for venturing into the town & is close to shops, restaurants and bars.
Cons: Needs a lick of paint and double glazing !!!!
One night stay at a very reasonable price, staff helpful and car parking on site is a bonus for a small charge.