Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Gina from Manchester

Looked lovely but a disappointment

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Sounds funny but good toilet paper and amazing make up mirror in bathroom
Cons: Most things, carpets looked grubby, very tired in general.
Looked lovely and certainly is picturesque but very different at night, strange atmosphere when pub was open at night. Room very disappointing, very shabby bedroom and bathroom but bed was clean. Very creaky floorboards in he whole place as others have mentioned. Paid extra for breakfast but that may have been my mistake in thinking that it was included, but I think it make it very pricey for what we had.
2 out of 5
by al from lancashire

Location good but thats it

Posted May 30, 2014
Long service times. Cramped rooms. No bath. Wluld not stay again especially at price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location, friendliness of the staff. Overall ambience was very nice.
Cons: the floorboards need desperate work. bathroom is old and shabby. mould around the bath.
Location: beautiful village - lots to do.
Great location for walking around the village, however, not enough spaces in the car park for amount of rooms. Food was good except they ran out of wine? cheesecake and lamb....not sure how a busy hotel can run out of so many things on the menu. Nice room except every inch of the floor creaked under foot - even the bathroom. We could hear the creaking upstairs when they were walking around - GET THE FLOORBOARDS FIXED. If that was a superior, not sure how a standard room looked.
2 out of 5
by Lindsey from Norwich

Not very friendly welcome on arrival

Posted May 5, 2014
We arrived early at 12 and were told that the room would not be ready until 2pm. No problem, but we wondered if there was somewhere to get changed as we were off to a wedding. We were put in a room at the end of the bar - no privacy with glass doors and filthy toilets. We left at 2pm and despite having been there for 2 hours we were told we could not check in. Also no problem until we arrived back at 00.45 to find the hotel in darkness, all doors locked and us stranded in a deserted village. Finally managed to get signal on phone and found number. No one on site so had to wait for someone to arrive and let us in - no apology - just a grumpy man (same one who couldn't check us in). Staff next day were friendly and refunded cost of breakfast but generally service poor, room small and noisy and would not recommend. Lugging suitcases up stairs in 6inch heels whilst male members of staff walk past not offering to help is not good service.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Steve from Bicester

Excellent location - dissapointing hotel stay!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Great central location in pretty village. Bar and restaurant nicely presented.
Cons: Better parking management system and customer service when there is a problem reported.
Lovelly convenient location in picturesque Bourton-on-Water. Stay marred by lack of parking management (hotel need to operate a token system to stop locals not staying in hotel from taking the limited spaces available) and no response to address an over flowing blocked shower. We used our towels to mop this up but were not furnished as requested with replacement ones for the morning. Saying that reception did provide a £40 discount when the above was highlighted at check out. Room we stayed in small and rack rate high for this size of room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Nick from Cambridge

Good staff but hotel a disappointment

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would like to commend the staff for their professional & friendly service but was disappointed with the room... Bathroom was dated and grouting around the bath very grubby. TV service very intermittent as was the wifi. Overall, very over priced!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by dan from London

just ok

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nothing special. Location great. Rooms need refurbishment. cracking noise floor. Pub is cosy. Nothing really bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not What it seems.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
We were located in the Annex at the rear of the Hotel, not recommended, also Parking is limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janet from birmingham

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Location: Lots of gift shops and places to eat
W ould definitely go back again