Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in excellent location.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Very welcoming staff, excellent food and very comfortable rooms. Lovely views of the church and yew trees but the church bells do chime regularly through the night (would not be a problem if the windows are closed, but as it was a warm night, the window had to be open.). Would recommend dining and staying here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Excellent location

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The location is great....fantastic views from the room ...and the food and service were excellent !
Cons: Upstairs needs a wee bit TLC
Location: Very central location in the middle of an extremely beautiful village ... we visited the church and basically just wandered around the lovely streets
The main hotel downstairs was quite plain, but chic - really lovely. Once you got upstairs, it was a slightly different story... there was a slight musty smell and the carpet had seen better days ... My room looked out on to the church, which was fantastic ! Beautiful view ... the furniture was a bit old, but the room was comfortable ... one of the bedside tables had 2 books under the legs to stabilise it ... but that just added to the quirkiness ..good big bathroom and the shower was good ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from North Yorkshire

Great value warm and friendly environment

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: It had a great atmosphere everyone very welcoming.
Location: The village of Painsbridge is charming with interesting history and the churchyard yew trees need to be seen.
We needed an overnight stop to visit Badminton Horse Trials (yes they were all guilty, heard it all before!) with our terrier. There was no reticence at all about him being in our room, the bar or restaurant as long as he was well behaved. The dinner menu was exceptional, as was dinner, but I would advise anyone planning to stay, to book in for dinner when you book your room if you wan to eat there. The restaurant was very busy. We will be back if we need to stay in that area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RayB from Hexham

Excellent Hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed here many times now over the past 6 months and won't go anywhere else! Staff are great, Hotel is very comfortable, Rooms pleasant and the meals are excellent. Only downside Electric showers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DesF from London

Total opposite of last visit

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Last week was obviously a fluke, normal service resumed on this visit. My request to have the same room ended with a request to pay to upgrade even though empty. The room I got was pokey, not warm, and at 5`10" why did I headbutt the light fitting. Ordered the same food, kindly and politely delivered but why £6 for a large chips and scarred scallops. Oh well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A Noble from Scotland

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a really pleasant stay at the Falcon. We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The food in the restuarant was really fab and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The bar is well stocked and on the Friday and Saturday nights we were there had a great atmosphere. Our room was in the annex and was very clean, fresh and comfortable. The only downside was the bathroom was very small. Painswick itself is a lovely village nestled on the hillside but within very easy reach of Stroud just 10 minutes away. I would definately stay here again and would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Desf from London

Perfect location for my trip

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed in a very comfortable room in the coach house annexe, The greeting on arrival was very friendly and courteous. Later I ordered a meal and requested it to be covered so I could take it back to my room. They very kindly delivered it with a smile and the meal was so well presented and delicious that it made it to onto my Facebook page. I have booked with them again next week based on my experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gillian from shropshire

Lovely country hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, friendly and welcoming. The decor is beautiful and our room was spacious and comfortable. Although we hadn't booked for Valentines dinner they squeezed us in which was very kind. Breakfast was delicious looking out at beautiful village of Painswick.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by unsatisfied from uk

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Food excellent.; bed, linen etc very good. Heating left a lot to be desired. When we arrived the room was very cold and clearly had not been heated. There was a four inch gap in the double glazing which meant that a constant draught was present. We asked for heating to be turned on and were told that the room would be warm in 20 minutes or so. One and a half hours later the heating was still off so we complained. At that point a portable heater was put in the room. Also, there was never any hot water; it was always only luke-warm and for the first time in many years i had to boil a kettle in order to shave. I really feel that the hotel policies regarding heating (in the middle of winter!) should be reviewed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014