Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Martin from uk

Tired hotel, but good location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location, character of the building
Cons: Rooms
There was a mix up with our room when we arrived, the room was small and tired. The hotel is right in the city centre, in a nice old building
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, just so lax and badly run

Posted Mar 18, 2014
When we got to the hotel our room wasn't ready, we were told we could leave our luggage with them until it had been cleaned. We had to leave it in a corridor! Once allowed into our room we found it still hadn't been cleaned. We sat and watched this being done after having told reception. On check in we were informed that the bar downstairs was having a karaoke that night and it would be noisy. There was no mention of this when we booked, even though these karaokes were a regular Saturday night event. The room: Dirty, the bed was rock hard, the sash windows would not stay open, the central heating was raging and the temperature control was broken. We endured a Saturday night of blistering heat and a long, late, noisy karaoke. Neither my wife or myself managed much sleep. Breakfast: Semi-cold full English. One rasher of bacon, one very cheap and cold sausage, a few beans and half a tomato...oh yes, and a cold hash brown. Aweful, totally aweful. Check out: We had to get the breakfast waiter, the desk wasn't manned. This hotel is wasted in the hands of it's present owners, it appears to be spiralling down into an expensive (£59 per night) doss house. Take my advice, use another one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Glen from Somerset

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff are great, and the building is wonderful. I'm almost afraid to recommend it, in case the price goes up and we won't be able to afford it any more!
2 out of 5
by NJ**

Central Gloucester hotel, tired and grey

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Atmospheric courtyard, but not much more.
Cons: A deep clean of the floors, fix the broken fire door, fix the shower head, get PAC testing up to date, chill the white white, waiting staff to attend.
Location: Used for Gloucester Archives
Chose to be near the Gloucester archives. It was, but was fairly bleak 2 night experience. Room dusty round the edges, bath clean, but shower broken, PAC testing out of date, fire escape door outside my room would not shut at night so didn't feel very safe. Tired decor, cheap mattress. Clean sheets and towels. Restaurant acceptable basic food, staff leave you to your own devices. Warm white wine. WIll stay slightly further away next time in the chain hotel which will be better value and comfort for the same price. Real shame as this is a unique place to stay and a real gem of courtyard old fashioned pub. A missed opportunity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joan from Devon

New Inn Gloucester

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: The closeness to shops and Quays
Cons: Carpet was grubby, but overall cleanliness was good
Location: Excellent location on main shopping street, close to cathedral and quays
Hotel situated on main street therefore ideal for shopping, also close to historical Quays. Very pleasant staff. I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GP from Bristol

Nice hotel with plenty of bars and character.

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Hotel has comfortable rooms. The main restaurant is a good size with plenty of character. I believe it has four different bars although we only used the main one which was large with a good selection of ales, there was entertainment too on the evening we stayed which was exceptional. In the morning a good selection of fruit, yogurts and cereals was on offer together with a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and fruit juice before we enjoyed a hearty freshly cooked full English breakfast. We had a very enjoyable stay and would readily recommend this hotel to others.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

FADED GLORY!!!!

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
RUBBISH. Toilet in room didn't flush,chandelier falling from ceiling ,hanging by wires,no screws.Window catch broken,unable to secure,we were next to fire escape,you didn't need to be a cat burglar to climb in.Staff incompetent & rude,do not disturb sign ignored twice!! Breakfast a shambles,little on offer & what was arrived cold!! There was no order to when you got served,staff wandered off half way through an order,never to be seen again. Trying to get a coffee was a major endeavour,asking for a sauce bottle that wasn't empty proved impossible.Next morning they were all still empty!! Finally after complaining loud and long a surly woman retrieved a gunge encrusted near empty bottle from the bar area & slammed it on our table.No attempt was made to clear tables,everything simply built up around you,until you moved it yourself!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lizzie from Sussex

Great hotel and pub/restaurant but very noisy.

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We went for 2 nights Thurs to Sat for a personal celebration. The hotel is a beautiful old building and our room was fabulous - uneven floors and walls but full of character. There is a lovely old courtyard to sit in with a pint, and the restaurant looked good, although we only had breakfast there. The hotel is right in the centre and very close to everything we wanted to visit. But I so wish we'd booked a room at the back - we were over the main road at the front, & with no double glazing were kept awake with pub deliveries early on Friday morning, with metal barrels rolled to and fro across the cobbles, loud teenagers returning from clubs in the early hours of Saturday, and screaming seagulls every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyn from Australia

Pleasant experience at the New Inn.

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: The age and ambiance.
Cons: Horrible taste of tea in the room - undrinkable.
Location: Central to Gloucester and very convenient for sightseeing in the town.
The ambience of the hotel is excellent. It is in a convenient central location for sightseeing in Gloucester. The room was clean and adequate for my stay. The bathroom was modern and clean. The bar has a friendly atmosphere and the staff in the dining room were friendly but obviously not particularly experienced. The food was fine, but not gourmet fare. Overall, it was good value for money.