Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Kingston, Ont

Fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Top of the line
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walk around the historic town
Close to centre of the town. Beautiful rooms very well appointed. Excellent breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room for improvement

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Staff were friendly and over stretched, water pressure was very low in bathroom but i was informed that the whole hotel was having a total refurb this year
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Simon from Chester

Great service and even better soon.

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Easy booking system by phone to Hotels.com (no I've no connection!). Stayed 2 nights for Cotswold walking break. Breakfast excellent, evening meal very good too & reasonable price. Room comfortable but shower so powerful it hurt! Turn the pressure down and save money! Staff most welcoming. A charming and relaxing 'rabbit warren' but closing for complete refurb the weekend after we left. Hope to stay again in due course. If anyone finds the cushion I left behind there's a reward!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rob from Basingstoke

Poor stay

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
staff were not very friendly or helpful, there was no explanation regarding restaurant or meals. The breakfast was appalling some of which was inedible. This was an unhappy stay for us as we had been looking forward to staying here for along time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by gareth1969 from Solihull, UK

Good one night stay

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent character hotel in the heart of Stow-on-the-Wold. Room small but big enough and very clean and comfortable. Very friendly service and excellent cooked breakfast. Recommended.
3 out of 5
by Derek from North Yorkshire, U.K.

The Royalist, not very Royal.

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Sorry, not much.
Cons: The Royalist advertised car parking, it was full with 6 cars and 1 motorbike, had to park on the main road.
Location: The only positive, Stow-On-The-Wold.is a beautiful town.
This hotel dates from AD 947 and is the oldest pub in England and appears to have the original carpets and furniture. It is due to be closed for a complete refurbishment, and not before time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Perdita from England

Posted May 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
No idea it was the oldest inn in England until we got there, they should make more of this fact. Breakfast was very basic they should make use of the wonderful butcher they have just down the road from them instead of the poor quality bacon and sausage we were given. The TV in room was extremely small would have expected a larger one in this day and age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by VictoriaAR from Aston,Oxfordshire

Quirky room

Posted May 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The 'Tiny Twin' was a fabulously quirky room - everything we needed for an overnight stay. Called the 'Porch Room' it sits in the 'turret' over the front door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Reading, UK

A good based for touring the area

Posted May 11, 2013
Pros: Quaint
Cons: Food was ok but then I don't want a gourmet breakfast
Location: Location was great
It's a perfectly nice hotel for a weekend break. The room was huge and very characterful. We didn't,t eat at hotel, choosing to dine out instead. Breakfast was adequate and tasty. The hotel was as we expected for the price paid