Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Jun 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
We were really pleased with the service we got. The hotel was really clean and the food was excellent. We could not find fault with anything. Really enjoyed our stay. Thankyou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Washbourne Court

Posted May 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the hotel as we were attending a wedding in the village. Our initial impression of the hotel and staff was good. Check-in, the lovely Irish girl who showed us to our room couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was nice and spacious with a big comfy bed. The following morning at breakfast we were disappointed with the service, lack of staff and obvious absence of any management. We had to ask to be taken to our table. After our breakfast arrived, my husband had to wait 10 minutes, having asked twice for some brown sauce. Overall, the hotel served its purpose for the time we were there but we did feel that there was a lack of motivation and customer service from the staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Washbourne Court, Lower Slaughter

Posted Mar 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
Great location, lovely cottage room, hearty bfast. Evening meal in the bar was very nice but pricey. All in all, a very pleasant stay. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Posted Jul 9, 2010 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in a beautiful setting and the accommodation was fine. However for what we paid we felt very let down by the service . We ate in the bar restaurant one night and felt very let down by the presentation and portion sizes.Having orfered a trout we expected a trout -not a piece of thin fish barely bigger than a credit card. Also we did not expect the restaurant to have run out of chips and ice! Again breakfast was very small portions and the fruit salad which had run out on our first morning was nothing to be missed as it was just apple pieces in juice. Paying the high prices we did, we expected a much better standard of service. Would not return to this hotel purely for that reason .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Altrincham

Great location, poor service and value for money

Posted Apr 12, 2010
We just spent a very enjoyable 4 days in the Cotswolds staying at this hotel. Unfortunately this was more in spite of than because of the hotel itself. The hotel is set in the beautiful village of Lower Slaughter and is a mile walk from the equally lovely town of Bourton-on-the-Water. The hotel is in some lovely grounds and our classic room was bigger than we expected. Unfortunately the stay at the hotel was let down by the service. I couldn't decide whether the hotel is under staffed or the staff are under trained. The staff are polite and friendly but there were numerous occasions where we felt let down in small ways: The barman acting as receptionist when we arrived; Waiting an age at the empty bar for someone to arrive to serve us; Waiting an hour for an iron which then turned up without an ironing board; Not enough toilet roll in the room when we arrived; No tea or kettle in the room; Mix up at breakfast meaning our meals arrived at different times. This is an expensive hotel and so you expect better. A couple of tips: If you want to eat in the restaurant they have a no denim and collarless shirt policy; The wireless broadband may not be available in your room so pack a network cable with your laptop.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern England

Let down by dirty room!

Posted Sep 17, 2009
Last minute booking for 2 night stay with husband. Heard that the 'Slaughters' were wonderful so thought hotels in the area would be to. Lovely location, lovely old building but let down by cleanliness. We had 'marks' in the toilet which weren't ours, yuk! Hairs in the sink plug hole which weren't ours! Long blonde hairs on the bed (i have short brown hair)! At least a dozen hairs in the shower! We had to dust the wardrobe shelves before being able to put our clothes in their. Top of headboard - you could write your name in the dust. Delightful cobwebs at window! Lovely roll top bath in bedroom but couldnt use shower hose because clogged up - asked for it to be fixed - wasn't. The list goes on. This could be a lovely hotel but is definitely let down by the cleaning staff. Wouldn't recommend eating in the 'bar' area, dogs are allowed in and there was no atmosphere (no background music, candles etc). Food was good though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Excellent Location - Overall a good hotel with minor flaws

Posted Sep 2, 2009 on Hotels.com
I was expecting a quaint Cotswolds hotel and on the outside Washbourne Court lived up to the expectation. The inside has been totally modernised, tastefully but not in keeping with building character. The emphasis in the bar area seemed to be more concerned with ccommodating the maximum number of tourists rather than on comfort. The alcohol prices are extremely expensive even for this class of hotel. The restaurant dinner menu is excellent and the atmosphere was good, even though the service was a bit too attentive and rushed at times. We had to wait to be seated for breakfast on the first morning because of the number of people staying (it was a bank holiday weekend). Consequently the breakfast service was slow and the food was of poor quality. The following morning they opened another dining room with more staff on duty providing a better service and eating experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful setting

Posted May 27, 2009 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our long weekend at this hotel. Lower Slaughter is absolutely stunning and this hotel is perfectly positioned next to the river and with a wonderful lawn with tables and chairs on it where you can relax. The breakfast was excellent (one of the best we have had in a hotel) and the bar meals were also good. The bed was luxurious - only a shame our baby didn't let us sleep in longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Hotel with a few issues

Posted Apr 23, 2009
We had a lovely stay at this hotel and received a free room upgrade. There were a few issues with the room, namely no hot water, blocked drains and no heating. All of these issues were resolved swiftly however. We were in one of the cottages but, being renovated old buildings, the rooms are poorly insulated and every noise from upstairs could be heard below. It's probably best to request an upstairs room.