Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davids from Cambridge

Sonesta Inn Candolim Goa

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: The facilities are great, the location near the beech is great and the staff were brilliant.
Cons: Unfortunately there are frequent power cuts in the evening around 7.30 until the hotel generator comes on line.
Location: Good location off the main road, restaurants nearbye and the beach 100m walk on which there are beach shacks which are restaurants and bars.
Sonesta Inn is an oasis of tranquility located well off the main road to avoid noise but short enough to walk up to get a bus or walk into Candolim. The beach is a 100m walk through the hotel garden so very convenient. There is a decent size pool and ample sun beds looked after by an attendant. The staff are fantastic and very attentive, they couldn't do enough for us, the rooms are spacious, well laid out and very comfortable, we stayed in a Luxury Room, it was great with a balcony overlooking to pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by John from Sweden

Clean and generous for a simple hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

weel maintained hotel...almost on beach

Posted Dec 16, 2013
overall experiece is good.. hotel maintainence is very good close to beach and market also...so right mix of peace & fun.. hotel staff lack a bit of hospitality over all food was okay....but their biryani is owesome...we ordered the same biryani..5-6 times during 5 days... bit expensive..i paid 6000 INR per night for early december stay....it worth .4500-5000 for ture value for money deal...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ajith from Bangalore

Perfect property right on the candolim beach

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Perfect location and easy access to main area and the beach
Cons: The attitude of the staff which is indifferent towards and Indian vs Foreign guests
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PC from Ottawa, Canada

Excellent Location, Great Pool, Reasonably price

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Cons: - friendlier staff - keep pool open longer - improve placement of TVs in the room (seriously- it's stupid)
Sonesta Inn at Candolim proved to be a great choice- mainly because of its fabulous location. The Candolim beach is a very convenient 5 minute walk from the room, and is much less crowded than some of the other beaches like Baga and Anjuna. The room was clean and pretty big. Nice little balcony- even though ours didn't face the pool. The hotel pool is really nice and a great place to relax after a gruelling day on the beach :) Finally, the free breakfast has a good, tasty spread and is served outdoors. A few negatives: One, the staff (reception desk in particular) are quite grumpy and not helpful. We were scolded for asking for the internet password again, despite the fact that they change it frequently. The wait staff in the restaurant are pretty nice though. Two, I read about this on the reviews and thought it was a strange thing to comment on but it is true- the TV location in the room is really weird! Three, the pool closes at 8 pm- I wish they would keep it open for longer. P.S. The promotion gives the impression that the hotel has its own private beach- which is not true. There is a direct access to the beach from the hotel's premises, but the beach is public and open to all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Avinash from Pune

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: The quality and cleanliness of room is excellent. It seems like renovation has been undertaken recently. The staff is friendly.
Right from the time we checked in, we could understand that this was a perfect place for relaxing. The pool facing room was the best that you could expect.The pool was nice and beautiful and the staff was very friendly. The gentry coming to this place is top class. The only small glitch was the service during breakfast. Maybe we were there when the place was packed and staff found it difficult to cater to so many guests.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tula from Amsterdam

Worst front desk service ever

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
On the positive side: the rooms are nice, the location (almost on the beach) is great, breakfast is good and the pool and bar staff are very friendly. However, if you like having internet, do not go to Sonesta Inns. They provide free internet, but it should say "when available". It was not available for about 50% of my stay and when available, they have a complex login system and it is slower than a turtle on valium. Also, the electricity would fail with a loud 'bang' about 10 to 15 times per day leaving you wondering when a short circuit will set the place on fire. My shower actually included a neon light connected through exposed cables tied together with tape. This is in the most humid area of your room! And do not get me started on the front desk staff. No matter what you asked ("is internet being fixed?", "do you have tour suggestions?", "where can we rent scooters?"), the answer would always be an unhelpful "No".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vipul from Ahmedabad, India

Good mid-sized hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: Rooms and location.
Cons: Breakfast choice needs to be improved.
Location: Lots of restaurants, shop in the area, where you can get all provisions and also hire motorbikes to get a round.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in the hotel. - majority of the staff good a friendly however the reception staff need to be more friendly, - Rooms are clean, well set and good facility - rain shower, fridge - the hotel is very close to the beach where there are lifeguards so good for kids to go back a forth. - overall location of the hotel is not so bad although the access to the hotel seems poor but it is safe and ok even at night - We were on B&B basis for 4 nights and by the 3rd day we were fed-up with breakfast as the buffet had little choice eg. only white bread no brown bread or any other bread varieties.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bhai from pune

Posted Nov 10, 2013
The food was excellent.