Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gold canyon az

This hotel is the worst service and rude staff

Posted May 23, 2015
I booked during slowe season and first think I noticed was many help wanted signs on property. We went to eat at bar and restaurant and bar maid told us no food other than the apps were available despite the full menu and was giggling when we decided to leave at check out manager rude comments to my wife and followed her to our room after breakfast and tells me she going to add extra charge for there free breakfast. I go and pay for the extra food supposedly she thought we had more than our share for 2 adults and 3 kids. Then she says she gonna charge same for previous day. Despite the fact I didn't even eat there. This a very rude and strange place. Stay at golf resort and avoid this place I'd ur in gold canyon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Clean and comfortable.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Available washers & dryers...clean pool, great breakfast included.
Location: Golf & hiking
If you need to be in Gold Canyon, you don't have many options. Good thing the Best Western is a nice, clean, comfortable hotel. Available washers & dryers...clean pool, great breakfast included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good place to stay outside phoenix

Posted Apr 3, 2015
stayed after a baseball game at salt river fields
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Centennial, CO

An extra $10/night per child over 12!

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Peaceful general atmosphere. Good location for us.
Cons: Absolutely need to be honest and spell out on their web page the surcharge for kids 13-17. We felt deceived and cheated! A horrible experience.
Location: Easy access from the highway. In the Gold Canyon community. Near the desert's edge.
What could have been a fairly pleasant stay was overshadowed by the rudeness of the front desk staff. I booked 4 nights for my husband, 2 children (13 and 16) and I through Expedia. A "Business Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non-Smoking," etc. Great. My Expedia print out says the room is reserved for "2 adults, 2 children." Great, now I can pack... Upon arrival, the front desk staff abruptly informs us that our children will each be an additional $10 per night. We disputed the charge because we booked and prepaid through Expedia, not the hotel itself. Upon checking out, the situation with the manager got ugly. Only if you click on the Child Policy on the website do you learn that " children 12 and under are free in room..." They still don't tell you 2 teenage kids per night will cost you $20 more per night because they are counted as "Extra Persons." (even though they just sleep in the second bed). We felt totally CHEATED. Our "extra persons" charge was $85.36! Based on our experience, reading reviews, and the story of the people behind us at check-out, I believe this individual hotel WILL OVERCHARGE YOU IF THEY CAN FIND A WAY. Our room was not "spacious", it was average. The decor is not "beautiful", it's the standard Southwestern stuff from the 80's or 90's. The little pool and hot tub were nice. Breakfast was OK if you don't mind some kind of egg product instead of fresh eggs and aging fruit. They won. They got their extra fees out of us. But I urge you to stay elsewhe
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, AZ

Nice hotel, oversold rooms

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Very nice suites, clean and good amenities.
Cons: Guest service needs an upgrade, there are certain things you should not say to a guest.
Very nice hotel. Experience ruined a bit by oversold rooms. Downgraded my room at first and then begrudgingly gave us the room we booked when we called Expedia for a credit due to them putting us in a cheaper room. The front desk then had to add "we can give you the room, but then we will have to deal with another upset guest later." Room was nice, I would recommend the jetted tub room on the second floor with a balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
It was a great, would recommend to others. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2014
This hotel wasn't bad. The worst thing about it was the odor which is rather typical for older hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable stay. Friendly atmosphere.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Great stay and I will recommend to others. Thank You
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Golf staycation.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Clean and quiet
Cons: n/a
Location: Exploring, Golf, hiking
Went to Gold Canyon for a two day golfing vacation. Our Motel (Best Western) there was very nice, as were the people and the included breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted May 7, 2014
I was disappointed at the fact that when we arrived we learned that the swimming pool was out of service. Traveling with a child, we were looking forward to that swimming pool. The beds were kind of hard as were the pillows. Other than that everything was good. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was cozy. The breakfast was pretty good, hot breakfast along with cereal, fruit and pastries.