Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by reggie from San joaquin county

Posted May 27, 2014
A great golf experience. Friendly people and staff. needs more ice machines near the rooms. great place to play golf at an affordable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ray & shirley from connecticut

Arizona Paradise

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The views, the accommodations and especially the staff. All were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Not a thing!the hotel is
Location: The resort is located at the base of the Superstion Mountains and has many hiking trails, golf and a pool. Nearby is the famous Fountain Hills.
This unique resort is nestled right up against the Superstion Mountains. Our stay was the last day of a week long-runaway from New England terminal winter! The first impression is of the magnificent grounds, and southwestern architecture. There are probably close to 200 casita-like rooms on the property, all surrounded by cactus, local plants, paved pathways and mountain views. If you need a ride anywhere on the property a quick call to the front desk and a friendly employee will arrive with a golf cart to take you anywhere. There are 2 golf courses on the property and the rates are very reasonable. We sat on our porch at 10 pm and were amazed at the quiet. The restaurant offers a variety of menus, although we only had the breakfast. Our stay was way too short. We will definitely return soon. 5 stars from us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nancy from Tacoma WA

Beautiful desert setting

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Beautiful private setting and a good value. Helpful friendly staff. Amazing scenery.
Cons: Some of the fixtures need to be updated. The bathtub was older but the shower was good. They only had one lounge chair on the patio. Two would be nice
Location: There are many beautiful scenic and historic drives in this area. About 30 minute drive to Phoenix.
We were planning a side trip to drive the Apache Trail and needed a central location outside of Phoenix. There weren't a lot of options but Gold Canyon Golf Resort came up. What a pleasant surprise. Set against the desert hills the facility offers beautiful views and a peaceful setting. The rooms are very spacious and even offered an upgrade to an outside jacuzzi for $50 which we took. Sitting outside in the jacuzzi listening to the birds and coyotes looking at the stars was awesome. Although the facility is older and in need of some updates it was still very nice, clean and comfortable. The grounds are amazing with cactus and desert plantings every where and the rooms are laid out like mini villas with maximum privacy and outdoor patios with fireplaces. I was very disappointed that they do not offer firewood for their fireplaces and was surprised they weren't gas. They charge $9.75 for an instant burn log which I think was outrageous. For the price the experience was a great value and we ended up staying an extra night. They offer vouchers for a nice continental breakfast which you can upgrade for $6 to a full buffet with an excellent omelet station. The towels were thick and plentiful. The bedding was crisp and high quality. We would stay there again. I would not recommend this as a place for children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jim from stockton, ca.

Well laid out-esp for golf get-away..

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Was in Gold canyon to celebrate a friends birthday...great accommodations-would like to come back in season(not hot)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from El Mirage, AZ

Super Resort

Posted Mar 13, 2013
Great room at reasonable rate with good eating at their bar & grill
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Ashland, OR 97520, USA

A great 'get away'.... Love it!!

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Beds are comfortable and the fireplace is romantic!
Cons: Don't have any negative comments!
Location: So close to Southern AZ but it feels like a million miles away!
Absolutely will be coming back!! It's a clean and fun place! Close to restaurants and easy to find!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GlennBob from Tampa, FL

Not Your Standard Block of Boxes

Posted May 27, 2012
A very different hotel with each of it's rooms being it's own little "casita" and the casitas grouped together in clusters on the grounds. I was visiting for a wedding, not a vacation, so I went with one of the lower priced rooms. The room was an adequate size and clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large enough, clean and had all the basics. The room had two levels, with the bed and bathroom on one level and couple steps down to the sitting/TV/patio level. I really enjoyed the room's private patio. Sitting on it at night emphasized one of this hotel's real advantages, it's quiet ! There's no road or traffic noise, only the hum of some of the other rooms air conditioners. However, this room's AC could have been a little quieter. The grounds are landscaped nicely with mostly native plants and it's a pleasant, but not short, walk to the on-site restaurants. The free continental breakfast was basic with cereal, bagels, danish, fruit, etc., but the seating in the restaurant where they have it offered nice views of the golf course, the pool, or the mountain that the hotel is built against. The major drawback that some might find for this hotel, would be the distance and steepness of the walk from the parking areas to most of the rooms. If walking isn't a problem, there are actually some hiking trails that start at the hotel are good for a morning walk #but take a lot of water !#. I will definitely stay here when I visit the area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shirley from California

Gold Canyon Resort

Posted May 16, 2012
Pros: Staff was very helpful.
Cons: Parking was far away from room.
Location: Resort was beautiful. We had a patio looking out on the golf course.
A beautiful resort with a wonderful staff. The only negative is that there was no parking close to our unit. We had to walk a good distance with our luggage and temps were around 100.