Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, NZ

Great location right on the beach and pool great

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Pool, stunning sea views, good location away from the hustle of Surfers paradise, easy access to Pacific Highway (M1) to get to the theme parks
Cons: Cleaning staff need to improve, room upgrades as the building is 30 years old and walls are fairly banged up etc. Air conditioning or fan in rooms
Location: Great location, handy to everything. Good for families as a bit quieter than Surfers Paradise and no roads to cross to get to patrolled beach, park
Pool, bbq area, sun shade area and lounger chairs were fantastic. The unit was not as clean as we would have liked it with the utensils in the drawer, oven, bathroom fan and hair/dust and dirt behind and under beds and furniture. Only 1 roll of toilet paper is supplied for each toilet during your stay, extras are purchased from reception for $1. Undercover parking is quite a tight space so don't hire people mover etc View from our room on the 23rd floor was fantastic/breathtaking from the apartment and balconies and would have like to enjoy it with more relaxing/comfortable outdoor/deck furniture than just 2 plastic chairs that were supplied. On the subject of cleanliness we witnessed other guests complaining about the lack of cleanliness of their apartments at the reception desk. This was consistent with our views however the lady at reception at the time handled the complaint fantastically and offered them a full room clean service instead of the express clean you get when you stay more than 8 nights with Royal Palm Resort. Good location from lovely kids pirate boat playground/creek for paddle boarding/swimming and Dune Cafe was excellent for smoothies/lunch/ice blocks etc. These are all within walking distance from the hotel. Overall for such expensive accommodation in peak season we would rate our stay 7 out of 10.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nsw

close to beach

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Swimming pool area , BBQ area and Spa.
Cons: Definitely with no HESITATION the rooms need immediate TLC . Carpet all ripped out in corridors . The whole apartments all together.
Location: Location was very nice with ocean view . Beach at your doorsteps. Curribium Wildlife park .
Very disappointed with the condition of the apartment and can not comprehend or accept this sort of accommodation is still available for people. The state of the apartment was terrible very old and dirty . We save al year and look forward to something nice and we received this . I am also disappointed with the expedia staff that recommended this hotel ( Royal Palms Resort) and will definitely not rely on there recommendations again. It is sad to see this having location of resort was amazing and only required better accommodation . Apartments are urgently in need of a refurbishment and should not be offered until done. Bed linen and blankets were dirty , carpet was filthy , vents ,fans and lighting were dusty and dirty . Fly screens were torn , curtains were filth . Mop provided appeared to be 20 years old . The Drains in both bathrooms will flood when having a shower . Door rims were dirty . Furniture was very old . Definitely was overcharged . Gym area in basement was terrible .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ipswich

Room and Pool review

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: The pool was great.
Cons: The units upkeep.
Location: The location was great with the ocean right on the doorstep and the shops only a few blocks away.
The lagoon style heated swimming pool with slide was fantastic- especially for the children. We requested great views but were put on the side of the resort- we did have some ocean views but certainly not great. The room was in poor repair. The bedroom door was split and broken, The shower head wouldn't stay up in the main bathroom. The shower head in the ensuite was useless. The whole unit needs some paint and tidy up. The carpet was stained and not very clean. One of the toys slipped behind the cushion on the lounge and when I lifted the cushions it was filthy. I did complain about the door and the shower head - the maintenance fellow said that the door needed replacing and so did the shower head. He fixed the shower head into a position so that you could at least get some water but that was it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location essentially on the beach,dirty unit!

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Location, pool. The staff were helpful when they were there.
Cons: Cleanliness, paint, access to basement second level (no elevator), decoration, pictures on walls etc.
If you don't have a cell phone you CANNOT check in after hours!! The unit we had was dirty and badly in need of a facelift, number 3D; no not rent this unit until it has been refreshed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beachfront hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Views, sea breeze, beachfront, pool, clean and spacious unit.
Cons: Double glazing on bedroom windows to block out noise from highway. Some minor maintenance issues in our unit - eg. handle missing from drawer, etc.
Location: Beachfront. Easy access to Gold Coast attractions. Not in the heart of the Gold Coast which is what we preferred.
Overall experience was very good. Great views of the ocean from the living areas of our unit, with a lovely sea breeze coming in every day. I loved being able to easily walk onto the beach from the hotel. The pool was a draw card for my daughter - it was huge and a nice warm temperature. The only downside was the noise from the highway which interfered with our sleep as our bedrooms faced the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel with direct beach access

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Closeness to beach as well as option of heated pool. Loved the high floor
Cons: Apartment was clean and comfortable but could have done with fresh coat of paint
Location: Close to restraurants. One lot of shops had Chinese, Thai, Indian, Subway and fish and chips and has Bws across the road. Close to surf club.
Enjoyed ocean views and whales folicking. Apartment was comfortable and resort pool and Facilities provided a relaxed family getaway as well as close access to the beach Happy holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Smashafrom Melbourne

Hidden Gem on the cool bit of the Strip

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
One of the last bits of the coast to offer a true family holiday with direct access to beach, large clean pool and enough space to share BBQ's and sun lounges - awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by RDenhamfrom Canberra

Excellent view

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service was great. Our 9 year old son loved the games room and pool. My partner and I thought the outdoor spa was lovely. Both the pool and spa at night lit up with lovely colour changes. We had a very good view of the ocean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Views were great!

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Staff were friendly on arrival. Room was tidy and clean. We ran out of toilet paper on the third day but reception were not open to get some more (luckily we had some in the car) but i would have thought they would have someone on reception or at least contactable 24/7 (they did have a number for emergencies but i didn't think needing toilet paper was an emergency!) or have spare toilet paper in the actual room like most other hotels! The view was great from the balcony!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Donnafrom Dunedin, New Zealand

The kids said I chose good

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very safe and secure. Was great just walking in and having everything there. Kids loved it especially the pool and spa. Nice sitting out on balcony having breakfast watching the planes flying overhead. Would certainly book again if I get the chance to come back to Australia.