Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Not great...

Posted Sep 1, 2014
We only stayed one night and brought our dog, which they were great about so that is a major bonus. It doesn't look bad from the outside but the rooms are so dark and dingy. The room smelled of some sort of air freshener or something to cover up the smell of something; made me worry it was some sort of exterminator spray so we checked for bed bugs (didn't see any). Bed was comfortable but blankets etc is VERY old. Room was dark and dingy, dresser was broken, door to the room didn't close properly so we wouldn't leave our stuff in the room at all if we were leaving. Marks on the walls, bathtub takes ages to drain after shower. TV is very old and the size of a small computer monitor. No phone instructions or how to reach the front desk. I paid $110 plus taxes a night (the rate on expedia was $100). In hindsight, I really don't know why I didn't trust the reviews here. I wouldn't stay again. Pros; Free parking and pet friendly; had availability on a long weekend. Location is good and Golden is beautiful. Cons: Room is dark, stinks, old and in desperate need of an upgrade to at least nicer bedding, more than two towels and repairs addressed. Did not use the sauna or hot tub
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB

Over priced for old and dirty

Posted Aug 2, 2014
It was over priced for a dirty and old motel. I can handle an old place but dirty, no way!!! I dont think I need to explain more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tanya from ab

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Allowed pets for a small fee.
Cons: Cleanliness of room.
We got about what we expected based on the budget price we paid, but the room was not clean. There was hair all over the toilet, which was just gross. The sheets were not super clean either. Would like a bit more cleanliness to give this place a better rating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

expect cleaner for the price

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: room layout and pool access
Cons: not very clean
Location: Located across from a nice park, beach and
we had a kitchen suite which was laid out nicely and lots of room for our family of 4 plus 2 large dogs. Enjoyed having a back door access to the pool as well. Not very clean and the parking lot was kind of a pain as the way in was super narrow. For the price I expect a much cleaner and better kept hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Still not worth the low price

Posted Apr 2, 2013
We wanted something affordable and it was the best price in Golden at that time, but still overpriced considering it was in very rough shape. The bathroom garbage wasnt emptied from the last guest, and it made us wonder what else was forgotten. There weren't any sheets or blankets available in the room for the hide-a-bed. The hair dryer and its mount was off the wall and tossed on the shelf of the closet, and as the mount is attached to the dryer itself, it made drying my hair quite inconvienent.The fireplace was quite close to the bed, not sure if that's up to code or not...If it was around $50 a night it would be worth it, but otherwise we didnt feel that the value was accurate. Next time we will pay $20 more and go to a bigger name hotel as the quality is just that much better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best place to stay.

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Bathroom sink was dirty, beds were hard as rock, there was wi-fi available but it was difficult to get a connection. Overall the experience was less than expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Curtis

Low cost room

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Great accommodations for the price. Clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Larry from Calgary, AB, Canada

Sketchy

Posted Mar 17, 2013
Pros: price and availability
Cons: Vandalized room next to me
Location: Convenient. Right on Trans Canada Highway
As male travelling alone I was happy with affordable clean accomodation. The room next to me had been vandalized prior to my stay and was not yet secure. The door to the room had nee kicked in and the jamb was in a resultant disrepair. This did not provide me with a sense of security nor safety. The door had been 'sealed ' with duck tape. It was amateurish and