Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury bed and breakfast style lodge in the jungle

Posted Mar 24, 2015
What a wonderful experience. The casita we stayed in was absolutely beautiful. The grounds were prestine with nature at every turn. My husband and I loved the privacy of smaller resort and often had full access to kayaks, bicycles and even the swimming pool. The staff is amazing. They make you feel like part of the family and are always willing to answer any questions you may have. I definitely will be visiting this place again. I miss it already.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic resort in the jungle!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Staff, grounds, food, excursions
Cons: Would prefer room away from restaurant
Location: Cave tubing, Blue Hole National Park
Wonderful two nights at Sleeping Giant Lodge, wish we stayed longer and will absolutely will be back! The staff are the best I Have ever encountered,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Elegant! A Gem

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The location was beautiful. The food was really awesome. The facilities were 5 star quality as was the staff. Everyone went above and beyond!
Cons: Reading lamps in the rooms.
Location: Hiking, caving, zip lining, kayaking, horseback riding, birds - a tremendous amount of activities not to mention just soaking in the beautiful setting
An incredibly beautiful and peaceful place tucked in the jungle with acres of orchards to roam around in. Staff is exceptional!! We will definitely be visiting this place again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martinfrom Switzerland

Lovely Place

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
A very lovely place with a high standard und a good familiar atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Hidden in the rain forest.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds with plenty of amenities for those wishing to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Food was wonderful and filling.
Cons: Although we were specifically asked about food allergies (green bell peppers) we found it nearly impossible to get a meal without them.
Location: Well off the main road, quiet and safe. The stars at night are wondrous. Right next to Blue Hole National Park. Getting to some activities takes time.
The Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge was a hit on the first day. Upon our arrival we were given a personnel tour of the facility and grounds by the manager Eugene. Our private casita (little house) was cool, inviting, and awash with the local flowers. Nestled into the base of the forested hillside the casita was cool and wonderfully comfortable. The outdoor porch was private and perfect for morning coffee. There are no TV's and limited access to WiFi but those were exactly the things we were trying to get away from. Activities were numerous. The staff was friendly and courteous. Because of the obvious popularity the Lodge is in the midst of an expansion with several new casitas under construction although this was not disturbing to our stay. (Google Maps overhead photo is way out of date.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Gem on the Hummingbird Highway

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Location: We spent a great day biking through the nearby orange groves, kayaking up the river and hiking up the nearby hill to take in the view.
The management and staff are spectacular and the grounds are beautiful. They really went above and beyond to take care of their guests and we couldn't have had a better experience. Great stay, would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Beautiful and quiet resort.

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: The room was spacious and very clean. The staff was amazing.
Cons: Beware of bugs in the area! They will bite.
Location: There are a lot of tours nearby. We went to Tikal and visit the famous Mayan site as well as went caving exploring at ATM. There is also zip-lining.
Eugene and his staff will go out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed for an excellent stay. Everyone was warm and friendly and we had a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia, USA

Royal service at a reasonable price

Posted Nov 20, 2014
My wife and i recently stayed there for our honeymoon and were exceptionally pleased with the level of service. The staff are amazing in their treatment of as guests. We felt like they regarded us, as their customers, to be important and they worked to meet our every need. The restaurant offered okay food at prices nearly rivaling a US restaurant mid-low price establishment. However, the service is equivalent to a four start dining experience. Be sure to get the guided walk to the lookout on the hillside. It is a hike that is a little strenuous in the humid heat unless you are used to doing mountain hikes but the amazing views are worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jewel hidden in the forest

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Location: They offer tours from the hotel but, honestly, it's a little cheaper to make arrangements yourself.
My wife and I LOVED this place! I've been to Belize 3 year for mission trips but this was an anniversary trip. I like getting away from the island/touristy scene and this place is off the beaten path on Hummingbird Highway. The ONLY reason there wasn't a 5 on facilities is because the bathroom outlet didn't work but that was very minor. The staff (Garreth, Eugene, Keith, Swift, and Amelia) were incredibly friendly and remembered our names every time we walked through the lodge. The pool was wonderful and the river access with canoes was great. I don't know what the person who gave a bad review of the food was expecting but ours was amazing. I had stuffed grouper and my wife had lobster on the last day and it was priced at or below what I would have expected to pay in the states. Would love to visit there again on my next trip to Belize.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Grounds

Posted Nov 17, 2014
The hotel grounds are beautiful as well as the trail to the outlook. They also supply kayaks - free of charge and it is a must. The hotel bed was super comfortable but I would not advise that you get a single room. Our was under the bar and you can hear the chairs move as well as people walking. The food was good but wish that they also offered a simple menu. Please be advised that the hotel is far from the city so bring refreshments for your fridge while out and about.