Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Nice closet of a room

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Small, small room where air conditioner blew directly onto bed all night long. No positive response of night staff. They suggested we turn the unit off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Small lodge room, nice resort

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Cons: List hotel rooms on website. Include mini-fridges and microwaves in lodge rooms. Increase vegetarian options at restaurant.
Location: Due to the rain, we drove out to Charlottesville (45 minutes away) every day.
While the expedia listing was for a "hotel room", the website for Shenandoah Crossing's included no mention of a hotel, instead only listing yurts and cabins. Most of the reviews were from people who thought they were staying in a hotel room, but actually received a cabin or yurt. I combed over all the information many times, because we really wanted to stay in a yurt. We got to check-in, and it turns out there IS a hotel, and we were put into a tiny hotel room. Not exactly the resort's fault, but I do wish they listed the hotel on their website or with their listed floor plans, so we weren't surprised. The room itself was pretty bare bones - though very clean. Since the resort is pretty isolated (and the restaurant is lacking in vegetarian options), it would have been nice to have a mini-fridge and microwave to bring our own food. The yurts and cabins have full kitchens, so we weren't anticipating not even having a fridge. Additionally, there wasn't daily room cleaning, so it's not the same as a hotel in that regard. The resort was nice, but the rain prevented us from thoroughly enjoying the amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg

Beautiful setting and great amenities

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Amenities, natural beauty of area
Cons: In the hotel rooms, we could have used more space for the coffee maker and a small fridge . We needed a luggage cart to get our things up to the room
Location: We toured some wineries. Most people we saw were enjoying the outdoor activities.
Completely overwhelmed at the beauty of the resort. The amenities were also a big surprise : huge pool, lake for fishing, canoeing, and kayaking, horseback riding, hiking, log cabins, yurts, and even a treehouse ! As hotel guests, we were delighted to have a large lobby, bar, restaurant, and covered porches where we could congregate. We have already recommended this resort to our children - they can bring their camper and stay in the gorgeous RV park where the kids can play in the "water park". This resort has everything for families and for a "girls' weekend" .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Our stay was wonderful, great for families or just for couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Book it!

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful area with great views. Lots of recreation such as mini golf, horse back riding, activity area, general store and restaurant. Cabin had a full kitchen with fire place, porch, BBQ grill, full bath and more. I would recommend this to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely but remote

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
We arrived late for an overnight stay on a family trip. The resort was difficult to find in it's remote location out on country roads in pitch dark night. The unit was lovely, the stay pleasant, but we had some difficulty in reaching any staff early the next morning when we needed to check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family Vacation

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
Check in was very pleasant. The computers were down but the staff handled it very well. The only annoyances were the lack of an indoor pool (the description of the hotel says there is one) and the equestrian activities being closed for training on the day we were there. The cabin was very nice, comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jae

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Chari from Virginia

Not what I expected.

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels
I had expected to be staying in a condo/lodge, and was totally shocked that it was a cabin. I did call the front desk, but they could not help me unless I called the hotels.com site and paid a more expensive rate. The cabin had no shower curtain or plug until requested. The cable television did not work. The lighting was poor to say the least, and we could not use the kitchen table light because it sounded as though it could catch fire, as it snapped and sizzled when we tried it. The pool was opened, it was a Saturday, and yet at 5:30 the poolside bar was closed even though the pool was to be opened until 10pm. :(