Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a hotel that is near Charlottesville.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Terrible drive at night from Charlotteville. It's 45 min on back roads. Room was very small and not like the pics on Expedia at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Family Get-away to mountains

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Cleanlines, staff was very helpful and nice.
Cons: Much construction going on. Some things closed due to renovation. Lightbulbs and cobwebs needed attention and putt-putt course needs renovation/work
Location: Charlottesville and the children's museum, wineries, local Marion County Fair was terrific!
Great experience. Nice staff! Great room and amenities for the price paid at the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Greencastle, PA

Nice resort. Very family friendly!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The hotel was newly renovated so everything looked and smelled new.
Cons: There was no WIFI in the hotel so that was very disappointing.
Location: There were numerous wineries in the area. We had picked this resort because we were going to the Horton Winery and this hotel was close by.
This was our first time visiting and we were very impressed with all the amenities that were included in the stay. We enjoyed the paddle boating, mini golf, and fishing. We also enjoyed seeing the horses. It was such a peaceful environment. We plan to return with our children as they would love all the things there are to do!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Jul 13, 2015
The guest rooms are small which would be fine if there was better amenity placement. The TV needs to be wall mounted so the one tiny armoire is not housing the coffee maker, iron, iron board and ice bucket. The guest room was very moist during our stay, we had barely wet swim suits that were still wet after being hung to dry for two days. It was an enjoyable stay, the property is great and guest rooms are well appointed. Someone in management needs to stay in a room with a family for a night or two and see the few tweaks that would make the room far more useful. All things considered we would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Nice closet of a room

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Small, small room where air conditioner blew directly onto bed all night long. No positive response of night staff. They suggested we turn the unit off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Small lodge room, nice resort

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Cons: List hotel rooms on website. Include mini-fridges and microwaves in lodge rooms. Increase vegetarian options at restaurant.
Location: Due to the rain, we drove out to Charlottesville (45 minutes away) every day.
While the expedia listing was for a "hotel room", the website for Shenandoah Crossing's included no mention of a hotel, instead only listing yurts and cabins. Most of the reviews were from people who thought they were staying in a hotel room, but actually received a cabin or yurt. I combed over all the information many times, because we really wanted to stay in a yurt. We got to check-in, and it turns out there IS a hotel, and we were put into a tiny hotel room. Not exactly the resort's fault, but I do wish they listed the hotel on their website or with their listed floor plans, so we weren't surprised. The room itself was pretty bare bones - though very clean. Since the resort is pretty isolated (and the restaurant is lacking in vegetarian options), it would have been nice to have a mini-fridge and microwave to bring our own food. The yurts and cabins have full kitchens, so we weren't anticipating not even having a fridge. Additionally, there wasn't daily room cleaning, so it's not the same as a hotel in that regard. The resort was nice, but the rain prevented us from thoroughly enjoying the amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg

Beautiful setting and great amenities

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Amenities, natural beauty of area
Cons: In the hotel rooms, we could have used more space for the coffee maker and a small fridge . We needed a luggage cart to get our things up to the room
Location: We toured some wineries. Most people we saw were enjoying the outdoor activities.
Completely overwhelmed at the beauty of the resort. The amenities were also a big surprise : huge pool, lake for fishing, canoeing, and kayaking, horseback riding, hiking, log cabins, yurts, and even a treehouse ! As hotel guests, we were delighted to have a large lobby, bar, restaurant, and covered porches where we could congregate. We have already recommended this resort to our children - they can bring their camper and stay in the gorgeous RV park where the kids can play in the "water park". This resort has everything for families and for a "girls' weekend" .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Our stay was wonderful, great for families or just for couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Book it!

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful area with great views. Lots of recreation such as mini golf, horse back riding, activity area, general store and restaurant. Cabin had a full kitchen with fire place, porch, BBQ grill, full bath and more. I would recommend this to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely but remote

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
We arrived late for an overnight stay on a family trip. The resort was difficult to find in it's remote location out on country roads in pitch dark night. The unit was lovely, the stay pleasant, but we had some difficulty in reaching any staff early the next morning when we needed to check out.