Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales UK

Great Chateau stop

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: It is just an hour from the Shuttle and a great stopover if you want to do some supermarket shopping in Bethune before returning home
I have stayed at this Chateau on many occasions and always enjoy it. The rooms in the Chateau are spacious and bathrooms large Staff are always on hand and helpful and there are three restaurant options to choose from if you want to eat in. The bar is great for an aperatif or a nightcap and there is an amazing trolley of petit fours to accompany your drinks. I can reccomend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Country Hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Now stayed at this hotel three times and it does not disappoint. Lovely surroundings and the food and wine in the restaurants, there are three to choose from, is superb. We use it as our journey break on driving to/from Italy. Within easy reach of A26 AutoRoute at Bethune.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, SK, Canada

Great location for exploring WWI sites

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The location in a small town, the historic factor of the building and the amenities on site.
Location: We had a GPS unit in our car so it was easy to find. If you were in the area for the first time, you may have difficulty locating it.
I chose this hotel based on customer reviews and was not disappointed. I was looking for something out of a city centre with good access to motorways so we could explore the World War I sites in Northern France. It was on the pricey side for our budget, but worth the expense. The hotel is grand but we didn't feel overwhelmed. Our rooms were huge, spotless and the bathrooms were well appointed and modern. We didn't have an air-conditionned room but it cooled off nicely at night so with the windows open we were very comfortable. There were almost no bugs to bother us. After a long day out site seeing, the restaurants on site were a welcome amenity. We had great meals at La Distillerie and Le Vasco. However there are other restaurants within easy reach by car. We also took advantage of the outdoor patio to have a late afternoon drink and soak in the atmosphere of the beautiful grounds. As well, we did not want to have the full breakfast. The staff were more than accommodating in providing us with coffee and croissants in the lounge area instead. For us, it fulfilled all of our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel, Excellent for the WWI battlefield

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Lovely building and grounds
Cons: Room decor could be a bit lighter
Location: The Somme!
Came upon it by chance. It is an extensive building and the communal rooms are great. THey have a fine dining restaurant which is good but a bit stuffy. I really enjoyed dinner in the Bistro which had outdoor seating and was more reasonably priced. Rooms a touch dark with very heavy fabrics.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adrian from Somerset

Quality hotel close to motorway but still quiet.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Large comfortable bedrooms and opulent public rooms. Choice of 3 restaurants on site, which is unusual.
Cons: Could do with tea making facilities in the room.
Location: A good stopover in the Pas de Calais area. Well situated for visits to the first world war battlefields.
A very pleasant stay. Robert II restaurant was good, but not great, and was by no means modestly priced. The new potager in the grounds is very impressive, and it is good to see a hotel growing food in a vegetable garden for use on the premises.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good facilities but a bit corporate

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Cons: I think a Luxury room should be more than just about the fixtures and fittings. We were in the attic and the windows were small and high.
We stayed for one night. Very welcoming and good facilities. We went for a Luxury Room, which was good, but it wasn't great that you could only see out of the windows properly when standing up (and it was a great view).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from London

Lovely stopping off point...

Posted May 27, 2014
...on the way to Champagne, wished we could have stayed longer, so we booked for Xmas! Beautiful working gardens, great staff and delightful food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from Hook

Good luxury overnight stopover near to Calais

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful old chateau with charm offering good quality accommodation and food. Ideal location as a stopover on way home to UK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel off the beaten track

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Great hotel, off the beaten track and very welcoming, food was great and plenty of it, the staff were very helpful and the rooms comfortable and clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel conveniently situated

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: The grounds, the space and the food and drink.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be good. Poor service in La Vasco restaurant, but the service in La Distillerie was excellent.
We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at La Chartreuse. we found the hotel staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the style of the hotel.