Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jerusalm palestine

Posted Aug 27, 2014
The hotel so close to the center so you can have shopping and leave them in the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent overall

Posted Aug 21, 2014
great hotel in good location with friendly and attentive staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location opposite Central Railway Station.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Location & cleanliness.
Cons: A bit of a rabbit warren - copnversion of a number of buildings.
Generally good. Saw what I set out to see and enjoyed experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by philip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by leboe from UK

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel, good breakfast
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Gothenburg, Sweden

Tiny room and no WiFi

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was terrible until I received reimbursement for the issues we experienced. The room was tiny, no air circulation and no AC. Despite explaining that WiFi was critical they put me in a wing of the hotel where their newly installed service did not reach. It took talking to 4 people then the Front Desk Manager before someone told the truth and we reached a solution amiable to me. I had to work from the bar, but did get a partial refund.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Len from Canadaa

Helpful staff

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great staff at front desk very helpful. Very expensive for what you get for a room. Bed was comfortable enough, but found the room and bathroom to be rather rundown. I found this Hotel to be poor value for the money I spent. The breakfast was good. The location of the Hotel is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clive from Oxford, UK

Excellent hotel in centrum

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Almost everything. High quality and friendly place to stay.
Cons: The old part of the hotel is very dull and basic by comparison to the bright and airy new part.
Location: Superbly located for everything that a big city tourist / business person needs.
The economy double booked through Expedia was quite disappointing in the old part of the hotel. This was quickly put right within the first hour by Malin on reception with a significant upgrade to a much larger, new room at front of the hotel overlooking the central station - and at a fraction of the actual upgrade cost. We stayed there for a week and loved the place, quality, service, comfort and food. And the staff were so friendly and accommodating, fantastic. I would thoroughly recommend Grand Opera for either business or pleasure; could not be better located for everything in this lovely city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Johnny from Sweden

Budget room - you get your money's worth

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent stay. I had a budget room which was clean and tidy but in the old part of the building, and therefore not the most comfortable, which I knew when i booked. In summary: the budget rooms are not extravagant but give you good value for your money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from UK

Compact hotel near the city centre

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: We liked the central location. It was just over the road from the Central Station and the Bus Terminal.
Cons: The room was too small for comfort.
Location: Central Gothenburg is on your doorstep. Transport is very easy. This visit was a bit too early, as not much is really open at this time of year.
We had no problem booking this hotel and its proximity to all the main facilities in Gothenburg was very useful. However the room itself was a disappointment. I was very small and some distance from the main amenities. The breakfast was very busy, but dinner was not too interesting. However, being central there are restaurants nearby.