Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fancy boat in the city center

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: Heat condition
everything was great, just the heat condition wasn't very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jenny Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Frank from Los Angeles

unique

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We went there for a guy's trip and booked two rooms. the rooms were great, the wifi fast and the breakfast was good as well. Parking is a bit of a hassle, but you can walk easily from the hotel to most central locations in town. The boat is beautiful and makes for a unique hotel experience. I recommend checking out the bar on the top of the deck, staffed by a very friendly crew.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by PA from USA

Gorgeous old boat, unique experience

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very glad I chose to stay here for one of my nights in Gothenburg, though it was more expensive than the average hotel. The boat is HUGE and tastefully decorated, it's a must-do to at least try. Great views of the Gothenburg waterfront from my porthole window. It is also well-located on Lilla Bommen, which offers both tram/bus and ferry service. Front desk is very attentive, good free breakfast. Only negative is it can be a bit noisy in the rooms sometimes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convinient

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: convinient, clean and good service
Location: very central for evertthing
Close to city facillities, covered walkways to save getting wet ( if raining), loved my cabin, good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An old 4-masted sailing ship converted to an hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014
The Barken Viking is an iron-hulled, 4-masted sailing ship converted to an hotel. The room (cabin) was comfortable and well laid out and the buffet breakfast very good. The location on the waterfront opposite the Opera House and 10 minutes from the railway station supports easy access to Gothenburg itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by NAdams from USA

Sailing Ship in Gotenburg

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was very comfortable and the location was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brian from Washington, DC

Unique Hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
I very much enjoyed my stay at the Hotell Barken Viking. Good location, friendly and efficient staff, comfortable rooms. I would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends and colleagues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jesslyn from Singapore

Quiet and private

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Surprise to find a table of fruits and hot drink at the entrance. We helped ourselves to it while waiting for check-in, it's awesomely welcoming. Excellent breakfast spread well-prepared very early upon our request. We enjoyed the private and serene ambience on the upper deck of the ship, laying on the wooden bench reaching out stars has indeed created much bliss. We enjoyed our stay at Barken Viking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lars Brock from home

Great hotel with central ocation

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great!!! Will return!