Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Convenient and quiet

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Convenience and quiet
Cons: Nothing
Location: Has an original Pony Express station and a lovely street where old houses are located
Handy to freeway and close to gas and restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gothenburg, NB

Decent Stop

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Good, clean room. Breakfast average. Nothing outstanding but no real negatives- works.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red Wing MN

Nice place to stay!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Easy access from highway...good value for the money.
Location: a pizza hut and a local bar and grill nearby.
Hotel staff were very friendly. Pool and hot tub were nice. Room was very clean and inviting and breakfast was great! Would stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Nice pool and good breakfast. Carpet wasn't very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Middle Ground

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Wasn't great but wasn't horrible. Rooms could have been a little cleaner but the bed was nice. Price was right and the staff was friendly. I was not expecting the Ritz and it wasn't.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice hotel, but GREAT value.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The other review is outdated, because this Howard Johnson looked like it was practically brand new inside. The room I had with a king bed was huge and everything was very clean and modern. What really impressed me was the indoor pool and spa (hot tub). Not many affordable hotels have these, but they did here and again they were very clean and relatively new looking. I've been to plenty of hotels where the pool is dirty or old, but his certainly wasn't the case. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was great too. I don't expect many vegan options with continental breakfast, aside from fruit, but they had oatmeal here, in addition to many other options. Even the bed was super comfortable. I've stayed at many hotels along this road trip and my stay at the Gothenburg Howard Johnson has been the best so far. It may not be a royal suite, but you'll be very impressed with what your money gets you here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Road Dogs from California

Pleasant Surprise. "Dog friendly" with fees.

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent stay. Clean, quiet, indoor pool. Dog fee per dog which increased nightly rate but it was dog friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Travis from Iowa

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall Stay was good. But hotel ran out of towels and didn't keep up breakfast in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alice from Nebraska

Smokey

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
It would've been a nice stay but even the non-smoking room smelled like smoke. Otherwise it was a good value.