Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riyadh, KSA

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Not bad, the trim is close hotel. The hotel staff is helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from London

Close to everything

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Good location. Breakfast good. Rooms clean. Staff friendly and know English well. WiFi throughout the hotel. Close to all major attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by viking

short stay

Posted Mar 25, 2012
Pros: breakfast buffet
did only stay very shortly, arrived late and departed early, great service and made us food allthough kitchen was shutting down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, USA

Posted Jul 19, 2010 on Hotels.com
The Scandic Opalen provides excellent service and location. Scandinavia is an expensive region of the globe, but the Scandic Hotel provides a sensible, affordable accommodation. The hotel personnel was cordious and professional and the breakfast abundant and varied. I would recommend this hotel and visit again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Portimao, Portugal

Central and good quality

Posted Aug 13, 2009
Nice for families
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

A less than stellar hotel experience

Posted Apr 15, 2009
There is a lot of construction on the building that was going on - and it looks like it will go on much longer. The room was small and cramped. The bed was really awful - very thin mattress with a rather strange design - this is definitely not above a two star hotel at least in my experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arden Hills,

An excellant breakfast not sufficient to make this hotel a destination

Posted Apr 1, 2009 on Hotels.com
Our confirmation was for a king-size bed. They gave us a queen. When challenged we were told that they call a queen a king! When confronted with the written confirmation they reassigned the room to a king. This building is a curved building. rooms on the inside (odd numbered) are much smaller than those on the outside (even numbered). Breakfast is fantastic. Bar food is horrible. They are adding additional floors so upper level room noise can be quite loud early in the morning. Limited issue of towels and no ammenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly bathroom

Posted Apr 1, 2009 on Hotels.com
I had a constant sewer gas smell in the bathroom, particulariy after flushing the toilet. Maintainance tried to fix it -- but nothing happened. It was a disgusting smell. For that reason, I probably would not stay there again. (Although my colleague did not have the same experience). The location is terrific - very easy walk to DT Gothenberg. The breakfast was nice. The hotel itself is under renovation in that they are adding another 3 stories to the building. This makes for a very noisy day - especially if one is trying to nap after a cross-atlantic flight. The entire hotel could use a make-over, which may be in the plans.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Okej hotell men små rum

Posted Aug 12, 2008 on Hotels.com
Hotellet byggdes om vid besöket vilket kan ha bidragit till lite lägre snittbesök. Detta hade varit passande att informera om vid bokning. Servicevillig personal och bra frukost på plussidan. Även bra att frukosten har öppet till 11. Trångt rum med liten extrasäng (beställde 3-bäddsrum) och något överprissatt, samt trasig ismaskin i korridoren på minussidan.