Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jamesfrom Manhattan

Back in time

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quaint, quintecencial inn in a Norman Rockwell scene. Staff very warm and even stayed over when we arrived later than expected. Beautiful little New England town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit, MI

Nice historic property with limited dining Mon&Tue

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The historical aspect was a draw. The room was very nice. They spent some bucks on the renovations. Rooms were updated but still held historic charm.
Cons: Cheaper dining options.
Location: A couple of covered bridges nearby, biking, art galleries.
Coming from Route 100, and a gravel road, the town is old but WELL maintained. My wife thought the town was a little spooky, seemingly in the middle of nowhere. Our room (33), was very nice with luxurious bedding, updated bathroom, and old fashioned picturesque common areas. It is in the house across the street from the main building and was built in 1816! We stayed on a Monday night and were a little put-off with the pricey food offerings at the only open restaurant in town. (We had arrived later). Although the website briefly mentioned Phelps Barn would be closed Mondays and Tuesdays, we hoped they would have offered some of Phelps menu items in the main dining area. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic, service very good. Met the manager. Very friendly and attentive fellow. We didn't have the heart to mention our dissatisfaction with the dining limitations and didn't want to draw public attention to the matter better handled privately. The community seems very proper and tends to cater to an affluent customer. Although we are not, we still enjoyed the property and old aura it gave off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laurenfrom Chicago

Fantastic breakfast in the morning

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This inn really should consider itself a b&b. After a sound sleep in a blissful bed in our oversized room, we headed downstairs for the included breakfast. We were seated with menus and warm, buttery raspberry muffins arrived at our table with coffee. I would have been satisfied alone with the muffins but no, we had our choice of anything from the menu too! We shared the eggs florentine with vermont cheddar sauce (devine) and the blueberry buttermilk pancakes (absolute heaven). This inn is situated in the charming and quaint town of Grafton which has many historic attractions. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a restful night and an amazing start to another day! Bravo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Clairefrom Fitchburg

Love this place!

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room and breakfast was exceptional, very quaint village and inn. A real getaway from it all!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New Rochelle NY

Charming Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everyone from the staff that we encountered were outgoing and friendly. The Phelps Bar, their pub, had an excellent selection including 8 beers on tap, 7 of which were Vermont craft beers. In the pub there are two fire places, both were lit. Breakfast was included with the room. It was sit down waited on and the food was excellent. We did not have dinner, but there is a formal restaurant and the pub serves food too. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rick Rothfrom Cambridge, MA

Charming, clean, and a Bargain

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place is so New England with locally made 4 poster bed, very quiet, beautiful surroundings, and very friendly staff. Amazingly a real bargain as well. Great breakfast included.