Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by George from Herts

Very noisy and needs a lot of attention.

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
An ok hotel but right between the Yumbo centre and a busy road. Thereby nights very noisy and no air-conditioning means that a window has to remain open otherwise hot. The apartment seems dated and needs some attention and lots of small snags that collectively made a BIG difference.Probably great for young people whose intention is to party all night at the Yumbo but wouldn't recommend for families or the people who are passed the partying age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Manchester

Simple, clean apart-hotel next to the Yumbo Centre

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Very clean, spacious and well-equipped with kitchenette, sofa and table and chairs, good shower and comfortable bed.
Cons: Strange, dingy 'dance restaurant' area near the reception, which was always empty. Also no air conditioning or fan and you had to pay extra for TV.
Location: The main reason for being here is to access the gay nightlife of the neighbouring Yumbo Centre. However, it is not too far from the beach (20 mins)
An absolute bargain at this simply furnished but very spacious and comfortable apartment hotel in Playa del Ingles. Reception staff were very pleasant and friendly, the rooms are comfortable and clean (and cleaned daily) and the bed was a double as we had requested and very comfortable. We also had a nice view over the pool. The only downsides were the lack of air conditioning, although surprisingly this was not a problem in spite of high temperatures. The Yumbo Centre is also very noisy at night, so this hotel is not ideal for light-sleepers. Ask for a room as far away from the nightclubs as possible. However, this did not cause us any problems, as we were there to enjoy the nightlife.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pat from London

A really convenient hotel for the Yumbo

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: My room had a nice view of the palm treesand the pool.
Cons: There's free wifi in the lobby, if thatcould be extended to the rooms that would be great. you do get one free hour of wifi in your room.
Location: I only discovered it on the last day but there is an asia supermarket just outside the hotel with all the things the local Spar don't have.
A pleasant hotel which was clean and well run. I didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that, nor did I try the massage service, but it looked professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tinus from Cape Town

Stunning hotel, with a fantastic pool!

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: The location, self catering units, the pool area.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is fantastic! Only about 50 metres away from the Yumbo centre.
We stayed at Playa del Sol for 13 nights and I wish we had stayed longer! We had a beautiful 5th floor apartment, with great views over the pool area. The room was very comfortable and very clean. Our housekeeper was very vriendly and the room was clean when we got back. The pool and bar area was stunning! There were always more than enough deck chairs available and ample space to put your chair and relax. Just remember, the bar area is a self help, there are no waiters walking around taking beverage orders by the pool. The hotel has a brilliant location, it is less than 50 metres away from the Yumbo centre. And being a self catering hotel, you'll be able to buy all you need to make your own breakfast, lunch and dinner! And on a side note, you can really save a lot of money this way. I would recommend this hotel any time! This was our first visit to Gran Canaria and I can't wait to return next year! Thanks again to all the staff for making our stay at Playa del Sol a really FANTASTIC visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sebastian from Sydney NSW, Australia

Good Location

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Paying for all extras (can add up)
Location: Right in front of Yumbo Centre
Good Location right in front of Yumbo Centre. Perfect for singles and couples who like to party. Very close to all Gay clubs. However this hotel has no aircon (you can rent one) and charges for all extra amenities in the room, such as TV, hair dryer, internet, safe etc and provides no toiletries. Rooms are clean and good size.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brian from England

Have a great time.

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Ideal location for the Yumbo centre which has cheap restaurants, 'adult' entertainment and shopping. Can be noisy at night though so request a quiet room if you won't be partying every night. Staff do take notice of specific requests and do their best to meet your requirements. Helpful reception with excellent English speaking younger staff. Clean, recently painted, nice location, bus 66 from airport stops almost right outside main entrance. A return visit for us. I expect we will be back again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

You want Yumbo? You got it!

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel ticks every single box available for the gay traveller. We travelled to Gran Canaria for the 2013 Maspalomas Gay Pride and the hotel is right on the edge of the nightlife in the Yumbo. Perfectly located; out of the shower, dressed and in the Yumbo within minutes! Similarly, at the end of your night out - in bed within minutes with no dark walk home! The rooms are clean and comfortable and have everything a traveller would need, including a fridge. The hotel staff are very gay-friendly and nothing too much trouble, and the rooms cleaned on a daily basis - unless you're hungover and prefer not to get out of bed! I would not hesitate to stay in these apartments again and would thoroughly recommend them to anybody - you simply can't get accommodation closer to the Yumbo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from London, UK

pleasant stay comfortable and affordable.

Posted Oct 14, 2012
Pros: location to yumbo
Cons: no airconditioning
Location: great for yumbo - great for beach access (20minute walk) lots of restaurants near by
First time to Gran Canaria - this is directly next to the yumbo centre - you cannot get any closer. Although so close I didn't find the room overly noisey! (However we spent most the time out in the yumbo centre until the early hours of the morning). Relatively close to the beach which is very walkable. The guy on check out in reception advised us of getting a bus back to the airport as was much cheaper then hotel. Although my room was un-airconditioned when I was there a breeze was present so this made it bearable to sleep. I will stay there again it's cheap and convenient to the yumbo and for the price the quality is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from London, UK

Playa Del Sol...I loved it!!!

Posted Oct 5, 2012
I was absolutely amazed and delighted with the Playa Del Sol Aparthotel. Having got such a reasonable rate I assumed it would be a run of the mill basic complex but I was wrong. The apartment was spacious, clean and nicely furnished. There is a maid service 5 out of every 7 days (not thursday or sunday but they tell you that when you check in). The pool area is very clean and nicely laid out and also very peaceful. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The apartments are right beside the Yumbo centre and even has an exit straight into it. There is a small shop by reception but it's also very close to Spar shops. There is a pool bar/cafe and also a bigger bar and restaurant which opens in the evenings.Free Wi/Fi is available in the reception area and there are also a number of pay as you go computers for customers to use. Overall I was very impressed with Playa Del Sol and have just booked to go back again to stay in May.