Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Great hotel, exceptionally friendly staff

Posted May 18, 2015
I enjoyed my stay in this hotel immensely. Great location close to Yumbo centre but just far enough away to have peace when desired. Great to have a large double bed, when so often two singles pushed together is what's provided. I did not have a pool view room and whilst it made the balcony a little less attractive a place to sit there was no problem with traffic noise from the road, which is only busy relative to other holiday resort roads, it's not exactly Piccadilly Circus. Room had great sound proof glazing and air con so no need to sleep with windows open. My only issue was that I was accommodated in the next door hotel for the first night. I was told this was due to plumbing problems but given how busy the place was and my late evening arrival, I thought it more likely they were overbooked. I was offered a free breakfast and free security box as compensation. The free breakfast wasn't really to my liking but perfectly edible. A minor irritation really and more than counterbalanced by the exceptional staff who did all they could to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Some details to fix

Posted May 13, 2015
The temperature of the pool is a real game breaker! A sun driven heating (only a few degrees would be enough) shouldn't be to expensive and would make a world of difference! Room cleaning should have a little more attention to details! Everyday there was something.... Garbage not emptied, used toiletries taken away but not replaced, knocking on the door and at the same time entering already (can be bad timing :-). ) But overal very enjoyable stay! Nice spacious appartement in good location...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Was the second times in this hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
It was the second times in tis hotel, i booked before in different hotels in GC, but really. I didn't see. Or felled. Better than this hotel, every things was ok,and I will be in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Russia

A comfortable and welcoming LGBT hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Clean and cosy rooms Friendly staff Vicinity to the Yumbo Centre Jacuzzi & Sauna (free) Free Wi-Fi
Cons: Wi-Fi coverage is not the same in all rooms
Location: The famous Yumbo Centre is definitely all what you would need for shopping, having lunch or dinner, entertaining in night clubs and bars.
The rooms are amazing - a bedroom, a sitting room with a kitchenette, a shower & toilet - everything one needs to stay and enjoy one's holiday. The staff are very friendly and helpful! Guys at the reseception are gorgeous :-) There is a bar, a swimming pool, a jacuzzi, a sauna & a steam room, a gym! The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Yumbo Centre where the night life is full of entertainment and fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2015
Schönes, einfaches Hotel mit sauberer Poolanlage. Alle Mitarbeiter sind immer sehr freundlich. Besonders in Erinnerung ist uns Carmen von der Rezeption geblieben. Sie ist immer super nett!!! Wir sind nun schon zum 2.mal da und kommen bestimmt wieder.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Great Stay - the outdoor pool is wonderful!

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The pool and terrace
Location: Very close to Yumbo - quirky bars and restaurants and shops. Not near to the beach, but a cheap taxi to either the family or the 'gay' beach.
Had a great time at Axel. Rooms well maintained with facilities to cook for yourself. Saved some money on breakfast with this. Beds were comfortable. Shower was very good. Street facing was fine - no real noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol UK

Perfect for the lone traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The room, The pool, Fitness and jacuzzi
Cons: rooms can be a little dark but not in anyway an issue.
Location: If your looking to go out to the Yumbo centre then this is perfect, close but not too close.
A really brilliant hotel! facilities, staff and surroundings were just amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Cristina Cañas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your great opinion!! We really appreciate the time you gave us for your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services. We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels. Million thanks, Cristina Cañas General Manager Axel Beach Maspalomas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Bright clean modern hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Breakfasts are good but lunch was disappointing. Style over substance that leaves you hungry. Salad Nicoise was an exercise in how thin can you slice a tomato or egg and yet have it cover the plate. With just a smear of tuna. Go to any of the restaurants 5 minutes away in the Yumbo and enjoy delicious food with proper portions for a better price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Genial , mas de lo que me esperaba. Excelente ubicacion . Buenas instalaciones . Personal amable . Que mas se puede pedir ? Repetire .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent stay and great location

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Everything seem really nice
Cons: Tea and coffee package in the room.
It is really nice hotel and swimming pool. It is in good location, near shopping, beach, etc. Pretty happy with it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Cristina Cañas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are really pleased that you stayed with us during your last visit in Maspalomas. Thank you so much for your great opinion. We are really near of Jumbo and your opinion about our location is very helpful for us. We hope to see you very soon here again with us. Best Regards, Cristina Cañas General Manager Axel Beach Maspalomas