Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by david and sue from uk

Honest review

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The general areas were lovely just the rooms poor. The barman in the pool bar was fantastic the highlight.
Cons: The welcome.......the atmosphere as there wasn't any....the cleaning staff were very poor....having to pay for everything, safe,TV, Internet, towels
Location: Very lovely area of restaurants very close, saved the day as the hotel offer was very poor.
Having read the reviews just before we left I was a little nervous but decided to go with an open mind. When we arrived we were both happily surprised by the amazing view from the reception area, check in was efficient but not friendly. Our room, a superior apartment on the 4th floor, was spacious and again had a great view of the ocean. The disappointing aspects were the bed, uncomfy with the oddest bed linen, two single worm duvets with holes in plus extremely firm pillows - we asked for pillows to be changed to softer ones and were told none available. We were also disappointed by the cleaning service, it was not thorough and they were very unhelpful. The pool was freezing, my partner had a couple of swims but I could not face the cold. Even standing up to your knees is painfully. The pool bar in the evening was where we had the best experience at this hotel. Both the staff here, the lovely barman and the DJ were friendly, characterful and welcoming. We popped in for a drink at the end of night most days to chat. Overall this hotel is tired and the majority of the staff seemed disengaged. I liked the small aircraft buzzing around but did find the motorbikes and micralights very noises. There is an unexplained timeshare aspect to this hotel, we were confused as to what was going on but were told 60% of the rooms were time share? If this is the case where are all the annual service charges being spent as it certainly isn't on the hotel?!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but cold pool!

Posted Feb 21, 2014
A week during half term, me, my wife and 10 year old son. Nice setting and picturesque close to the sea. No beach to speak of but plenty of space around the pool. But, the pool was FREEZING! Food average and the hotel is remote with few facilities and attractions nearby. Room comfortable with good kitchen facilities and a lovely balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GEORGE from Edinburgh

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: the location was great and very beautiful
Cons: the beds not good and the pillows very hard even when we changed them they need to buy new ones
Location: the location was great we just came for the sun and rest
The Hotel was beautiful but just needs a make over our bed was very old and the pillows were very hard,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Theresa from colchester, Essex

Nice comfortable stay

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Nice hotel, friendly staff, bit of a hill to walk up and down to the beach and restaurants but not an issue unless you are elderly, the bus is straightforward and within easy access, wifi is not cheap you can buy international tv at a reasonable rate but would be better if it was included in the booking price. I would stay again
2 out of 5
by Paul from Bellshill, North Lanarkshire, UK

Not great

Posted Nov 11, 2012
Pros: The superior room we were eventually given
Cons: The basic one bedroom apartment we initially had.
Location: Very quiet but plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance as long as you are over 25!
There were 2 adults, 1 child and 1 baby in my party. I booked a 1 bedroom apartment. The apartment I was allocated was smaller than most studio apartments that I have stayed in. The "bedroom" was actually an area enclosed with a sliding door. The room was uninhabitable with the number of people in my party. I had requested a cot and high chair in the room before arrival which was confirmed, although this was not present on arrival. I had to ask the staff 3 times before I received this equipment. The high chair looked like it had been lifted out of a skip and was not useable. We also found out that the advertised courtesy bus to maspalomas beach was cancelled. We also found the kids club to be locked whenever we passed and reception unable to tell us opening times. The hotel and its environs were actually quite good. The pool area was very pleasant as was the poolside bar/restaurant. There is an adequate supermaket on site and also a more formal restaurant, although I did not use this. The hotel lacked a buzz and we spent most of the time a short walk away at the Blue Village resort where we were able to use the facilities. There was much more of the kids to do and more of an atmosphere. We ended up actually booking a night there to get away from the Bluebay for a night. On our return we managed to complain enough to be given a room upgrade which was an unbelievable change. We were given a superior room which was enormous and quite pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by catherine

not close to resort

Posted Jul 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
hotel itself was fine staff not well informed of facilities eg reception staff location too far out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, England

You're on holiday - RELAX!

Posted Jul 15, 2011
After reading all the reviews of this hotel/complex I did approach the holiday with a bit of trepidation. The problem is where people have pointed out the bad bits about the rooms, the pool, the aerodrome, kart track etc but really - come on now - there's really nothing to moan about at Blue Bay! My wife and I have just come back from two weeks at Blue Bay with our 3yr old and 1yr old and we're genuinely sad that we're back and we really miss the place. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff and proceeded to the room (or should I call it a suite). Two flat screen tellys - one in the living room and one in the bedroom, a bathroom with bath and shower cubicle (&bidet), little kitchenette with dishwasher where I prepared many full meals (not just microwaved stuff) + air con in the bedroom (we did have a Superior room and my advice would be to go with that every time if possible). Rooms are spacious and cleaned, mopped, towels replaced etc 5 times a week. Facilities in the resort are great, staff are helpful and diligent (repair men work hard to maintain and upgrade the place). Shop closes at or before 9 (supermarkets down the hill in Bahia Feliz close at 10pm). The aerodrome provided constant amusement for my kids, "Look daddy, airplane/helicopter" etc and the kart track only seemed to operate on a large scale on a Sunday morning. Big deal. You're on holiday - RELAX!! Don't moan. Ge on with it...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hove, UK

Quiet location without being isolated

Posted May 25, 2011
We stayed 8 nights at BlueBay Beach Club and enjoyed our time there. It was easy enough to get to the more lively areas, like San Agustin (the resort isn't technically in San Agustin but in Bahia Feliz), Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas. There were several options around for food outside of the over-priced resort restaurant, and they were cheaper than in Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas, though they offered less variety. The on-site mini market was well stocked and reasonably priced. There are good bus links to other parts of the island, and a great (mostly) coastal walk to the bigger resort areas, for those who like views and don't mind taking their time on the journey. We liked that it wasn't as touristy as the other areas. There were a few problems. On our first full day, we had to wait 45 minutes for the hotel's free shuttle to show up, and the staff were very unhelpful and kept trying to blame us for missing it or give other excuses. Some people have complained about the airport next door, but that wasn't nearly as annoying as the nearby go-cart place, which was VERY loud and obnoxious. Also, the pool is unheated, but the resort have tried to make amends for this by offering free passes to the (heated) pool at the resort next door. And finally, their 'beach' is not at all impressive. If you like quieter holiday spots and don't mind time on the bus or a nice, long walk to get to other areas, then this is a great choice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blue bay Gran Canary

Posted Aug 11, 2010 on Hotels.com
The Hotel needs a lots of mantenance and the front desk never know nothing. The Hotel is very dirty and looks like a terror movie.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Germany

Good Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2009
The hotel is very nice. The view from each room is simply fantastic. The hotel lobby leaves a lot to be desired. But the staff is very friendly and helpful.