Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Leeds

Spring holiday

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Good service and cleanliness The cost for the 2 extra nights booked through Expedia was good value
Cons: Bed settee could have been more comfortable but ok.
Location: Porto Mogan just round the corner is good.
Cala Blanca is now a lovely quieter place now the bypass is open. We had a great week. Staff helpful. Pool great. Free bus to local amenities. Would recommend to all.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you had a lovely stay with us We have taken on your suggestions and looking in to see what we can do to improve the comfort in your apartment. We do hope you will stay with us again soon. Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by savvytraveller from England

Great staff and nice apartment, but...

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our newly-refurbished one-bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortable, but the bedside tables and curtains were already broken and torn when we arrived. This was taken care of immediately when I brought it to the manager's attention, but I hate to think what they'll be like in a year's time. There was also a problem with an unscheduled housekeeping visit after our first night -- the bed was stripped but not made up again, and they threw out the food we had put in the fridge. The main bed was spacious and comfy with lots of nice pillows, but the sofabed was hard with a ridge between the mattresses. Parking became an issue over the Easter holiday weekend, with not nearly enough spaces on the road for all of the apartments in the area. It was necessary to park in the lot at the bottom of the hill, quite a hike. The biggest issue was the road noise: a busy main road runs just a few yards away from the apartments on Level One. I imagine the apartments on the upper levels might be a bit quieter. Also check to see if your apartment is adjacent to the glass elevators -- from them, you can look right into the patios on either side. Lower-numbered apartments on each floor are farther away from the pool. The live entertainment provided free on Thursday and Friday night was of very good quality. They don't get any English-language TV, but they do have a nice, free, library of DVD's.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we love to read of all of guests experiences with us! We are sorry to read of your concerns with regards to the housekeeping and we can assure you this has been addressed with the housekeeping manager. We will take on board your suggestions and we hope you will travel with us again soon. Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kasia from London

Nice place, helpfull staff

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Kind staff.
Cons: Room facilities.
Location: Great location, 2 Beaches, diving school, water park, port, many bars and restaurants nearby.
The closest nice beach is near port in Tauritio, where you can get by shuttle bus from the hotel. Helpful staff. Lots to do for kids: pool, clubs, wii games.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
It is great to read that you were satisfied with our services and the standard of our resort and accommodations - we are grateful for your recommendation! We are looking towards your next visit! Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Iluvhols1 from Oxfordshire

Fantastic for £200 for the week!

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great for a week. For longer stays you should be aware that you need a car or will need to use the bus to get out of the hotel. There is nowhere to visit within walking distance. However if you just want a relaxing week in the sun this could be just what you are looking for. There is a great pool, table tennis table and pool table and there is an entertainment representative to entertain the kids. The spar in Mogan delivers groceries to the hotel and Mogan is beautiful for a meal out - use the free hotel shuttle and go to Basil's for a Paella and wine. We had a relaxing break and found the hotel fantastic value for money :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Club Cala Blanca – thank you for your review! Our front desk team will be happy to help arrange car hire or provide information on local public transport if this is requested. We really hope you’ll choose to come back here for another holiday in the future – we’d love to see you again! Miguel Dominguez Resort manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by NL from Bristol

Comfy bed & restaurant staff fantastic with good

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was good enough but location was not in a very satisfactory place as the nearest location with so called eateries & drinks either were not open or were not inspiring but a short taxi or bus takes you to Mogan which was very pretty - We actually walked the journey on roads without pavements but cars were 'quite' polite!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are glad to know that your stay here was an enjoyable one and you have explored the island and made the most of your trip. Please visit us again soon! Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Dundee

Comfortable, well equipped self catering apartment

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Reasonably priced, spacious well equipped self catering accommodation with a nice outlook
Cons: All apartments currently being upgraded over next two years. If you get an upgraded one you should have no complaints.
Location: Gets the sun for most of the day. Nearby Puerto Mogan offers supermarket facilities for self caterers. Access road at rear is steep. A car is useful.
We had one of the completed apartments that are part of an ongoing upgrade plan. It was comfortable and very well equipped for all aspects of self catering throughout. All rooms have a nice partial sea view outlook although the road below can be noisy when some inconsiderate road users open up the throttle. The balconies are very spacious with additional dining table and chairs and two sun loungers. The pool is on the top level which allows a welcome breeze when it gets hot. The pool sun loungers are particularly comfortable. We used the restaurant only on arrival and were satisfied with what we got at a reasonable price. However, as the point of doing self catering is just that, we did not use the restaurant again. Staff were helpful and made the effort to engage with guests. It gave the impression of a well lead and managed team who knew the value of making the effort to ensure guests had a good holiday also ensured their future job security. Only a couple of moans. Reported blown light bulbs were not replaced in our 11 day stay and a torn sun lounger took a reminder - which got a replacement within 5 minutes. Overall - reasonably priced, well equipped and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are glad to read that you found our resort to be of a great value and that our lovely team contributed to your enjoyment. Please come back soon! Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lizzie from Cambridge, UK

Stop over between flights / other resorts

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: We liked the pleasantness of the staff and cosiness of the apartment which made it ideal for a short stay.
Cons: A kettle in the kitchen
Location: Not there long enough to sample locality.
We had a very pleasant stay, only disappointments were lack of kettle (used saucepan to heat water for drinks) and closeness of main road to front of room; only narrow footpath and railings separating us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you chose Club Cala Blanca for your stopover in Gran Canaria, and that you had a comfortable stay here. We are sorry to read that the kettle was missing from your apartment: we encourage guests to let our front desk team know if they require any additional kitchen equipment, as they will be happy to provide this. We hope that you’ll choose to come back for another visit, to take advantage of everything that the resort has to offer – we’d love to see you again! Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you chose Club Cala Blanca for your stopover in Gran Canaria, and that you had a comfortable stay here. We are sorry to read that the kettle was missing from your apartment: we encourage guests to let our front desk team know if they require any additional kitchen equipment, as they will be happy to provide this. We hope that you’ll choose to come back for another visit, to take advantage of everything that the resort has to offer – we’d love to see you again! Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Dorset

disappointment

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was OK BUT - I had requested in my booking to not be on the ground floor, anywhere else but not the ground floor. We were. The hotel was not full - my request could have been met. It seemed to me that there was a determination not to accommodate my request, for no good reason that I could see. Indeed, my request was met with Why? I have had good service from Diamond Resorts before - indeed we very nearly joined their membership scheme - I am now glad that we did not. I was also surprised that as an American group they did not accept American Express.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry we were unable to meet your request for a particular apartment. We often cannot meet requests when we have fixed members who occupy their apartments during this time, in addition to this we are primarily a members club. Our members do take priority when this comes to allocating apartments and apartment requests. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We wish you all the best with you future travels and we do hope that you will visit us in the future. Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager