Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Leeds

Spring holiday

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Good service and cleanliness The cost for the 2 extra nights booked through Expedia was good value
Cons: Bed settee could have been more comfortable but ok.
Location: Porto Mogan just round the corner is good.
Cala Blanca is now a lovely quieter place now the bypass is open. We had a great week. Staff helpful. Pool great. Free bus to local amenities. Would recommend to all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you had a lovely stay with us We have taken on your suggestions and looking in to see what we can do to improve the comfort in your apartment. We do hope you will stay with us again soon. Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kasia from London

Nice place, helpfull staff

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Kind staff.
Cons: Room facilities.
Location: Great location, 2 Beaches, diving school, water park, port, many bars and restaurants nearby.
The closest nice beach is near port in Tauritio, where you can get by shuttle bus from the hotel. Helpful staff. Lots to do for kids: pool, clubs, wii games.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
It is great to read that you were satisfied with our services and the standard of our resort and accommodations - we are grateful for your recommendation! We are looking towards your next visit! Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Dundee

Comfortable, well equipped self catering apartment

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Reasonably priced, spacious well equipped self catering accommodation with a nice outlook
Cons: All apartments currently being upgraded over next two years. If you get an upgraded one you should have no complaints.
Location: Gets the sun for most of the day. Nearby Puerto Mogan offers supermarket facilities for self caterers. Access road at rear is steep. A car is useful.
We had one of the completed apartments that are part of an ongoing upgrade plan. It was comfortable and very well equipped for all aspects of self catering throughout. All rooms have a nice partial sea view outlook although the road below can be noisy when some inconsiderate road users open up the throttle. The balconies are very spacious with additional dining table and chairs and two sun loungers. The pool is on the top level which allows a welcome breeze when it gets hot. The pool sun loungers are particularly comfortable. We used the restaurant only on arrival and were satisfied with what we got at a reasonable price. However, as the point of doing self catering is just that, we did not use the restaurant again. Staff were helpful and made the effort to engage with guests. It gave the impression of a well lead and managed team who knew the value of making the effort to ensure guests had a good holiday also ensured their future job security. Only a couple of moans. Reported blown light bulbs were not replaced in our 11 day stay and a torn sun lounger took a reminder - which got a replacement within 5 minutes. Overall - reasonably priced, well equipped and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2014
We are glad to read that you found our resort to be of a great value and that our lovely team contributed to your enjoyment. Please come back soon! Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lizzie from Cambridge, UK

Stop over between flights / other resorts

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: We liked the pleasantness of the staff and cosiness of the apartment which made it ideal for a short stay.
Cons: A kettle in the kitchen
Location: Not there long enough to sample locality.
We had a very pleasant stay, only disappointments were lack of kettle (used saucepan to heat water for drinks) and closeness of main road to front of room; only narrow footpath and railings separating us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you chose Club Cala Blanca for your stopover in Gran Canaria, and that you had a comfortable stay here. We are sorry to read that the kettle was missing from your apartment: we encourage guests to let our front desk team know if they require any additional kitchen equipment, as they will be happy to provide this. We hope that you’ll choose to come back for another visit, to take advantage of everything that the resort has to offer – we’d love to see you again! Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you chose Club Cala Blanca for your stopover in Gran Canaria, and that you had a comfortable stay here. We are sorry to read that the kettle was missing from your apartment: we encourage guests to let our front desk team know if they require any additional kitchen equipment, as they will be happy to provide this. We hope that you’ll choose to come back for another visit, to take advantage of everything that the resort has to offer – we’d love to see you again! Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

wonderful view from balcony

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: everything!!!!
Cons: When all the rooms are refurbished it will be even better.
Location: Overlooking Taurito beach. It is great for a quiet break
We stayed in a room which has not yet been refurbished. It was clean, comfortable and we were very happy with it. I am normally quite fussy, but the balcony was huge and the view was one of the best we have ever had. The hotel restaurant food quality and value for money was excellent. The staff throughout the hotel could not do enough for you. The pool area was very clean and great if you felt the walk to the Taurito beach was too much. The hotel is on a hill which was great for views and I was happy for the exercise, but it may be too much for some. There is a shuttle service to the beach at Mogan and Puerto Rico so you are not stuck if you don't want to tackle the hill. Mogan was beautiful around the port area. The buses are great for getting about to other areas of the island. We would not hesitate to return and in fact I will be booking as soon as possible for my next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad your apartment was to your liking and our staff were helpful throughout your stay with us. It is great that you took advantage of the local area and the onsite facilities available to you. We hope to see you again soon! Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, especially for the price, great views

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Location: It's a bus ride to the town of Puerto Mogan, but there is a free shuttle about 3 times a day, and the bus stop is a very short walk away.
Large room - an apartment, really, well equipped kitchen, nice pool and pool area. Our room was on the bottom level, so right by the road, a room higher up would be nicer and give better views, but maybe you pay more for those. Only quibble would be the pool towels - you have to rent them at €4 a day, this seems bizarre, I've never experienced that at a hotel before.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad that you had a great time staying with us. It is great that your apartment was well equipped and kept to a high standard. We hope that you will return again soon. Miguel Dominguez Resort Manager
2 out of 5
by mikeA from gillingham

Beware!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
The pros: lovely staff, great pool & pool bar. Beautiful part of the island.The cons: unknown to us before our visit, this is a timeshare resort and you will be hassled by the sales reps. You have to be firm with them unless you are interested. Apartment in dire need of updating. Cleaned only twice during our stay.
3 out of 5
by Masisie from Christchurch

Nice hotel spoiled by tree blocking view

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: The accommodation was comfortable and adequate and the courtesy bus was excellent.
Cons: Ask the relative authorities if the trees can be trimmed back.
Location: There was not a lot to do nearby. the location was a good walk from the village centre but fortunately we were fit to walk and the bus appreciated.
Nice hotel, most staff pleasant, some receptionists seemed to look down on us. The worst feature of our room was the tree completely blocking our outlook which would have been beautiful and a very important part of my holiday was completely ruined. I requested a different room but was flatly refused. Also was shocked to have to pay a 99 euro deposit which I was not expecting. Seemed a lot and fortunately I had a card with me as would not have wanted so much of my holiday spending funds to have gone on something I did not expect to pay. The hotel was at the top of a hill but the courtesy bus was a very good feature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super Views and Super Staff

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: View and friendly staff
Location: Free Shuttle bus into Mogan is handy but be aware the last one into the town for an evening is early at 5.30. Taxi only c Eur 8 so probably easier.
The location can't be beaten. Some of the rooms are a little tired but don't let that put you off.
2 out of 5
by jerna from london

Hotel is dated but generally clean. It's on a hill

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: being able to read on the balcony
Cons: the restaurant
Location: bus trips to nearby towns. Costal walk.
the worst part of the resort is the restaurant. We had 2 meals at the restaurant but on both occasions dinner was very disappointing. The food uninspiring, the ingredients of poor quality and the staff pretentious. Oh yes, the inescapable live music too noisy. Not pricey but far too much for what we got.