Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a relaxing seniors holiday.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: As above
Cons: Rooms could do with a bit of refurbishing
Location: As above
This was our first visit to the canaries? My wife and I are retired and just wanted a quiet week in the sun. The hotel was ideal. Most guests were older, mainly German. The staff couldn't have been nicer, particularly with disabled guests and the food was fabulous. The rooms are a little dated but all have a sea view and have everything we needed. The grounds open on to a promenade with walks in either direction and access to a nice beach. At the back is a large shopping complex with many supermarkets and restaurants. The pool is large, spotless and warm and the pool side bar and restaurant is a delight. We shall return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Katherine from Dublin

overlooking glorious atlantic

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. Lovely beach. Shops and restaurants opposite hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a four star hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Good location
Cons: Bathroom drains smell and tiles need regrouting ,Televisions are ancient and reception is not good.Evening entertainment was at times repetitive.
Location: Shops and a variety of restaurants nearby
This hotel needs refurbished ,it may have been four star about 20 years ago but not now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by anonymous from UK

An entirely enjoyable stay!

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: quality of the breakfasts and the buffet dinners
Cons: evening entertainment
Location: excellent for beach and swimming, shopping and excursions
Friendly hotel staff, a beautiful shady garden together with the proximity of the beach, very comfortable beds and the superb variety of the food all made our stay a very enjoyable one. I would certainly return to Dunas Don Gregory for another holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SH from Warwickshire

Great hotel for family holiday right on the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Beach location, spacious room, buffet choice, restaurant staff
Cons: Loud music late into the night, dated internal communal areas
Location: Great location right on the beach
The location of the Dunas Don Gregory is what attracted us to book this hotel, it is literally on a lovely soft, dark sandy beach which was perfect for a family holiday with a 2 young children. The hotel itself, although dated in some areas, was a pleasant surprise. From various reviews we expected to be the only family but there were plenty of younger couples and families with children of various ages along with the older clientele. Our room was spacious and clean, made up with 2 generous twin beds and 2 put-up beds for the children. We had a small balcony with amazing views of the beach, sea and Maspalomas sand dunes in the distance. The pool was lovely and there were plenty of free sun-loungers throughout the day. We stayed half board which worked out well with the children especially with the first dinner sitting starting at 6:30pm. The breakfast and dinner buffet was great. Dinner included lots of fresh salads, vegetables and selection of fish and meat dishes and plenty of choice for the kids who loved going to get their next course. The waiters in the restaurant were especially lovely to the children even though they were working extremely hard to keep the restaurant running smoothly with the large numbers of people moving through. We enjoyed our mealtimes and certainly didn't feel rushed to leave. The children did enjoy the acrobatic show one evening but be warned the music nights don't finish until 11pm so you may well be hearing the birdy song on a loop!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

" Relaxing short break "

Posted Mar 30, 2013
Pros: Beach promenade
Cons: Lounge area
Location: Quiet area, nice walk into town, takes about an hour. Buses/taxis easily available
Went as a single traveller, hotel was fine for short visit. Positives : Clean throughout hotel, lovely location on the promenade. Food adequate choice, reasonable quality. Negatives: Small outside area and lounge area, would probably prefer a larger pool area. Gym was in the basement, smelly with dated equipment and not enough space between machines. All inclusive drinks not replenished, always had to go and ask someone for another glass of wine at dinner. No waiter service around pool or in lounge area. Other guests were mainly over 65 years old, not a negative just an observation. Adequate hotel, not luxurious but clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

more for older couples without children

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Meal times
Location: Close to shops, restaurants and beach
Booked hotel for myself, friend and my 2 year old daughter. Wanted something quiet and close to the beach for a short break. Few hiccups at the start with regards to staff not being helpful and quite dismissive and breakfast not very good but the problem was resolved by the next day by the lady manager who was very helpful and apologetic. The location is ideal but is definitely for elderly couples we didn't feel very comfortable at meal times and around the pool as there were no children and we felt we were bothering the other guests because of my 2 year old (who is actually very good. ) We spent most of our time on the beach which suited us and it was an ideal location, close to shops , restaurants and of course the beach. The rooms are dated but comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Iwona from London, UK

Very Good!

Posted Mar 1, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The corridors could be refubrished.
Location: Close to the airport and litteraly on the beach.
It was a really pleasant stay. Relaxing atmosphere, clean and hotel’s staff very kind. Excellent view from the balcony (8th floor) which I enjoyed the most! I would definitely stay there again : )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meidel from London, UK

Fabulous location

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Pros: beach access
Cons: having to pay extra for parking
Location: on the beach
The hotel was practically on the beach in a quiet part of the island. You could watch the sun rise and set from your balcony. The staff were helpful and we had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing holiday.
3 out of 5
by Max from London, UK

Great place for a beach holiday

Posted Feb 19, 2013
What attracted me to this hotel was it's proximity to the beach as described in the information I'd first read. Its short walk is ideal for holidaymakers who want to spend their time doing the "sand, sea or surf" thing. I also liked that it was a reasonable drive - approximately 15 minutes - from the airport. However, being rated a 4 star hotel, is overly generous as, in my view, it isn't up to that standard. In general, most of the staff tried to be helpful, although language was sometimes an issue, and questions/requests got lost in translation. My biggest issue, was with the room. My first impression on arrival was the off putting smell, which I think came from a damp/mustiness in the bathroom - but coouldn't be sure. The decor, could do with sprucing up and I certainly don't expect to see cobwebs on the ceiling! Another drawback was the basic TV set, limited number of stations available, and the only English speaking channel was a dedicated news channel. Not a particular problem for me, but may be for others, especially families. I took the all inclusive option, which is useful if you don't want the hassle of trying to find places to eat. The food was plentiful, if a little bland, their focus clearly on catering for the masses, and not on showcasing the food of the region. On the positive side, there was lots to encourage healthy eating, but what was with the cold beans! Overall, - not the worst hotel in the world, but definetely could do better.