Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London

All inclusive hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The friendliness if the staff
Cons: The decor
Location: Beautiful sand dune walks & promenade
Decor a little dated & wifi only available in reception. However the service offered by all staff is excellent . Rooms very clean .Food excellent choice & waiter service for drinks at meal times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Professional
Peaceful which is what I wanted. Nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wiltshire, UK

Lovely Hotel & Excellent Staff

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I have 2 daughters 15 & 12 and we stayed at the hotel this Easter. From the moment our booking was made until the moment we left we were made to feel welcome and were looked after excellently. The staff were friendly and attentive from the reception desk staff, to the bar staff and the chamber maids - always smiling. Particular thanks goes to Annika on reception and Antonio in the restaurant. Our room was large and airy with a balcony overlooking the garden and the sea - the shower was hot and powerful and the beds though hard were comfortable. Only criticism was there were no tea/coffee facilities - however there was a fridge in the room stocked with water and ample places to get tea & coffee if required. The food was excellent - plenty of choice, fresh and a complete mixture to suit all tastes. For the week we stayed every night there was live cooking of fresh fish, meat & pasta, alongside, salads, fruit and vegetables. And for those that wanted them - chips :) The hotel is situated in beautiful grounds with a large central swimming pool but with access to the public beach through security gates. For us it was an ideal location in that we could remain in the hotel grounds or walk on to the beach or into the shopping areas off the promenade in a matter of minutes. No need for us to hire a car. We generally did think it was a wonderful holiday and would go there again - we would say more suitable for families with small children & couples who want a romantic get away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Nice hotel garden opening on to the beach

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Staff always cleaning and hotel virtually spotless. Garden lovely. Staff all very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Do away with plastic ? sheet on mattress under bed sheet. It crinkles, rustles when you turn over.
Location: Great location on beach. Plenty bars, shops and restaurants nearby
Fabulous view from room 559. 5th floor and odd numbered rooms seem to have best views.Fixed 4 mains menu in Krystal Restaurant too restrictive for 14 nights. Music trio evening entertainment also too repetitive for 14 nights and their repertoire not enjoyable. Buffet generally v. good and varied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lewes, UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The hotel facilities and staff as well as the location and climate.
Cons: The morning coffee tasted better from the machine than the freshly made pot of coffee that was offered at breakfast.
Location: The hotel was situated in beautiful gardens, which meant we did not notice the road or nearby hotels. Through the garden you can reach the sandy beach
We thoroughly enjoyed our week away at this excellent all in hotel. Staff were attentive and courteous at all times and the facilities were clean and well maintained. There was a wide range of well prepared and tasty food available to choose from. At breakfast this included a number of fresh fruit juices, including kiwi juice ( my daughter's favourite) and papaya juice ( my favourite). Lunch included a wide variety of fresh salad options as well as delicious fried fish and meats. At dinner the buffet offered a wide variety of freshly prepared foods or one could arrange to eat at the a la carte restaurant. If children did not like the slightly more exotic menu in this restaurant then they could go to the buffet next door and choose to their liking, which they could eat with the main party in the restaurant - as the youngest 2 children in our company did. A children's club offered a range of activities for children up to 13, which our daughter enjoyed and were she made some friends she subsequently played with, and the hotel was very child friendly. My husband and son played tennis together (rackets came from the hotel) and I enjoyed the water aerobic classes on offer in the sizeable pool. We also enjoyed the sauna and gym on site so there was the possibility of sunbathing as well of exercising, which helped us to unwind and recharge. We were offered a courtesy room to allow us prepare for our journey home after we had formally checked out which was much appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Very nice hotel very close to beach

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Hotel staff very friendly couldn't do enough for you kept very clean. Short walk to all amenities. Pool area kept clean and staff looking after us making sure our beds were where we wanted them. Food very fresh and plenty of choice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Madrid

Muy buen situado, con un palmeral excepcional

Posted Mar 2, 2015
El personal muy amable y siempre atentos, solo cambiaría el espectáculo nocturno, necesita mas variedad
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Have stayed in many other RIU hotels. This one was a bit tired and dated.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, England

You wont enjoy it unless you're an OAP...

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: This hotel is full of people in their 80's. If you're young/middle aged. This place isn't for you. It's like an old peoples home.
Cons: The food, repetitive and not nice. Don't waste your time making a reservation at the Krystal restaurant. Even the buffet wasn't that great.
Location: Beach on hotel not great. Visit playa de la Amodores beach. Definitely worth a visit.
Having read reviews of this hotel prior to travelling on trip advisor. We were expecting 4* quality. However, upon arrival we were disappointed, we were not even shown to our room by a member of staff. The porter boy pointed in the direction of a lift.. However, he pointed to the wrong lift. And it took us approx 25 mins to find our room after one of the lovely maids showed us the right way. I do have to mention that the staff at this hotel were really helpful and welcoming especially the a lady in reception called suzzane, always smiling and happy to help. Thank you suzanne for all your help you are a credit to the hotel. One of the main reasons we chose to stay at this hotel was because of the reputed RIU brand. A couple of us from our group had stayed at a number of riu hotels before in Mexico and elsewhere. So we were expecting a similiar standard. However, we were very dissapointed. I honestly have no idea how this hotel is classed as a 4* hotel. The Wifi only works in reception and the connection is slower than most places in Africa and Asia. The location of this hotel was good, close to playa de ingles- where all the nightlife is. Our group consisted of 4 people in our early/mid 20's, so location was convenient. The rooms are in need to a revamp, very old and tired looking, In general the entire hotel is very tired looking and in need of renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Expensive but well worth it.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
This was a short break to get some sun in winter, and it certainly achieved that! It appeared expensive, but as all meals and drinks were included it probably worked out cheaper than an ordinary hotel as there were no extras to pay. The staff were always helpful and attended immediately to any problems, but the hotel was looking a bit tired (eg the pool chair cushions, and our shower). Although drinks are unlimited, not all brands were available - particularly champagne, which was Spanish cava. Food was excellent, although no waiter service so buffets every meal, and fruit juices were not all fresh. There was a staff dispute with strikers playing drums all day, but hopefully that was temporary. There is no local town centre or atmosphere. But these are all minor niggles and the overall experience was excellent and we recommend it.