Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

olde world

Posted Jul 2, 2014
- Hotel is showing its years a trifle and a bit tarnished but still a nice visit, attentive staff, clean rooms and a nice bar and restuarant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in great location

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Lovely grounds. Great bar. Very, very helpful reception staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R from Wirral

Excellent Hotel/Good Location

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Ambience and location. Indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Pool staff excellent, set up sun loungers and provide towels for you. Gym.
Cons: Tea/Coffee making facilities needed in bedroom. We took our own kettle!
Location: In beautiful Park. Midway between centres of Vegueta (the old town) and the beach area ( Playa de los Canteras),40 minute walk (or €4 taxi ride) away.
Stayed a week. Most enjoyable. Not many children. Huge choice of food for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from London

Relaxing, beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, staff, food, gorgeous venue
Cons: changing the menu
Location: The Parque Doramas and Pueblo Canario near the hotel are beautiful & it's a short ten minute bus or taxi ride either to the town centre or beach area.
It's a really beautiful venue with great, friendly staff and an old world feel. Buses and taxis to the town centre or the beach are easy and cheap. When you're in the hotel it really does feel like you are away from it all and the gardens behind the hotel are lush. We were there on half board so it would have been nice if the menu in the restaurant would have changed during the 7 days that we were there but it didn't. The food was delicious though and the staff were helpful and happy to make some changes. The breakfast was incredible and the bar was a great place to relax with great cocktails. Unfortunately, while we were there they were remodelling the pool so we weren't able to use it. Overall though, it was really wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from UK

Grand hotel and beautiful surroundings

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Beautiful surroundings with nice little touches such as a piano playing in the bar area and a plentiful supply of taxis available for trips to the beach or old town. You will need to get a taxi as its quite a walk, we walked to the beach on the first day and with the journey there and back along with a stroll along the sea front we clocked up over 10km. The staff are polite but we found information wasn't forthcoming, for example facilities available, when breakfast is served and where. The hotel and grounds are well maintained and clean. The main downside is the motorway which runs nearby and you can hear the traffic especially if doors or windows are open. All this in mind, it was as fantastic hotel, well worth a visit and I would recommend a stay in the fantastic setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from London

Grand hotel situated in a beautiful park

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and the park location were really great. The gym and swimming pool are also excellent.
Cons: Breakfast food selection and presentation is not good and having to queue to use one of two coffee machines was not a great experience.
Location: Plenty to enjoy in Parque Doramas with the town centre and Playa Canteras only a short bus ride away
We spent a very pleasant week at this hotel. Staff were very friendly and always helpful, particularly when we forgot to remove the Do Not Disturb notice from our room and consequently found the room had not been cleaned. Within a short time of us advising the staff of our error the room was thoroughly cleaned. The hotel is situated in Parque Doramas which is a real haven - full of palm trees and fountains plus a great cafe. Transport is easily accessible with plenty of local bus routes close to the hotel.
2 out of 5
by jon from chester

Dull ,Old,Tired,

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms,helpful maids...
Cons: Internet was hopeless, WATER in ROOM for free, insulate rooms, play some decent music…get SKY TV !
Location: harbour restaurants….thats it and a supermarket !! you will need it...
Spent a week here in January…. What a sad old place it is…it is no way a 5 * hotel…maybe 3* at best… Unhelpful staff,with poor English….no lounge area to sit in and relax…bar area and restaurant are both stuffy and formal…no atmosphere at all,the so called "entertainment" is provided by a ridiculous piano that goes on and on all evening…maybe in the 1920s but not suitable for today…no one seemed to enjoy it….the rooms are badly outdated with dark furniture and very poor insulation…you can hear every word from next door…chairs screeching, toilets flushed etc …don't expect a good nights sleep with the enthusiastic piano player banging out the "tunes" until late…NO fan in the room ….NO kettle in room…NO WATER provided….we had to walk to the local Hippo Market to buy a case of water…don't even think about touching the MINI bar..it is ridiculously expensive...breakfast is acceptable but the two coffee machines are far too slow…no tea is provided…you have to ask for it..then a pot of HOT WATER arrives with two tea bags on the plate!! Fruit is basic…Also very annoying to be told where to sit…treated like school kids….rushed and at times rude service from staff… Also there are no key cards just a big key with a brass number tag…then you have to wait for someone to hand it over when you get in…!! INTERNET is absolutely USELESS…log in…reset…login in reset…all week long…3 different log ins…NONE of them reliable….TV rubbish BBC world for 2 weeks! SKY TV PLEASE!! Never again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Arzu from Manchester

Extremely Disappointing Experience Not A 5 Star

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Location , grounds
Cons: Staff needs customer service courses there is no eye contact with the customers at all . The reception staff needs changing.Wifi not working,
Location: taxis are cheap and shopping museums easy access.
I arrived at the hotel tiered exhausted as there were flight delays I asked to see the room as I had read a review about rooms being different than shown in the photos...the room that I was shown was a dingy dark which I refused as I was meeting my sister after two years who was flying in from Dubai and the purpose of the trip was a relaxing break. The receptionist was extremely rude there were two of them at the reception and Naiomi one of them told me that they can cancel the booking and I can go somewhere else. I asked for help in finding another hotel but they both refused saying it was not their job. I called expedia who as usual were very helpful and spoke to the hotel who put me in an emergency suite which again had no balcony was extremely small till the following day as I was too tired to even contemplate looking for another hotel but I was told that it will be an extra £60 a night. I spent a distressful night and called the reception next day to speak to the manager and was told by a new staff that it being a Sunday he was not in. And wont be in on Monday either as it was a national holiday but however there was a room that I can look at the room but again it will be extra £60 a night . I took the room another suite with a balcony. The half board was a waste of money as we only ate there twice the menu had no choice and food was not good. So after spending £1500 hotel only for 7 nights as flights were separate we are ready for a real break after this distressful tri
3 out of 5
by gill from London

Old World Charm but facilities disappointing

Posted Dec 31, 2013
This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It is a lovely old hotel full of charm but sadly the rooms and facilities leave a lot to be desired. The bathrooms, beds and TVs are not great. My shower was very poor plastic shower head with a dribble. The bed was hard and the TV and radio were very 70s. You have to walk through the lobby and across the entrance to go to the tiny pool so not great. Not really five star and not worth the money !