Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by baur

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MTBC

Surprised

Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was pleasantly surprised by the facilities. Like other review, the customer service orientation by front desk staff is questionable. But the location is great and easily accessible by public transit. The single room was very small. I laughed at the thought that they offered a remote control or the TV with a deposti because you can reach it from your bed! The room was clean but too noisy if you try to have the window open because of street traffic. The AC was not very good which is why I tried to open the window. Still, good value for your money!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by YOURI

satisfactory

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
was OK, stuff is not very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Hostal Athenas

Posted Nov 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
great location. very cheap.only tiny complaint- they had no iron and only one hairdryer for the entire hotel (which was never available).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Paper Thin Walls

Posted Sep 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is an old building with poor sound insulation. I could overhear conversations next door, footsteps and doors closing. Hard to get a good sleep in this hotel. The internet was down most of the time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Not impressed

Posted Jun 9, 2007
Even considering the cheap price, the hostal was not impressed well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS, Canada

At least the lobby looked nice...

Posted Jun 1, 2007
The hotel lobby is much fancier and more spacious than the rooms themselves. We had a triple room, and it was VERY tight. However, the location is great, and they do offer parking (albeit the smallest parking garage elevator I have ever encountered...thank goodness my passengers got out and were able to guide me in!) The annoying part of this hotel was that it definitely didn't want you using the electricity. The only room plug was pretty much behind a bed headboard (making it near impossible to charge my batteries, for example) AND the room key card had to be in the slot in order for the electricity to work. So, we could only charge batteries while we were physically in the room...not great when 3 people are trying to share one plug! We found a great, buffet-style restaurant with salad bar, soups, pizzas, and desserts...while I don't recall the exact name, I believe it was "Fresh Co." or something like that. It was located near the hotel, on the main street. It was a refreshing change from the Spanish fare, with lots of veggie options, for 1 good price. We ate there twice, and wished other cities had it!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Warsaw, Poland

city center venue

Posted Mar 1, 2007
This affordable hotel is located in the direct neighborhood of all most important Granada "must-see" places, 5 minutes to the cathedral or a closest bar, 5 minutes to abyazin, 15 minutes to alhambra. It is worth recommending on the quality/price bases, since the quality of rooms might be questioned. As it is rather a hostel style the co-guests used to be extremely noisy in the evenings and walls are thin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Istanbul / Turkey

nice,cheap and clean

Posted Nov 4, 2006
If aim your visit to Granada is to see the marvellous Al Hambra, then you just need a clean, cheap and a nice hotel.This is the right address.It is on the public bus route too. Also inside the hotel you can find vending machines for coffee,cold beverages and as well internet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

The stinkiest hotel in the world?

Posted Oct 20, 2006
I would not recommend this hotel. My room was dirty and smelt of sewage, and when I woke up in the morning I had insect bites all over me. I can only assume these came from the bed. On the plus sides, the location is perfect - right in the middle of Granada, only a few minutes walk from everything. Its carpark is also convenient (although make sure you are a confident driver before you try getting your car in and out of those tight spaces). So, if you have a peg to put on your nose all night then go for it, otherwise look elsewhere.