Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Apartment fine, need extra patience for access

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Spacious apartment in scenic old Granada, with Alhumbra in view
Cons: Better instructions for check in procedure, access to parking
Location: Great location if you want to be in the center of the old town, in view of Alhumbra
It took us a very long time to find the hotel, and once we did, we found out we actually had an apartment down the street. Access to the street with the hotel was not easy. There was no place to park a car or even to unload luggage. It took several hours just to complete the process of checking in and parking the car, very inconvenient. Once we actually found the apartment, it was nice and comfortable, but I didn't sleep well at all due to noise outside. Between voices in the streets, vehicles on the cobblestone streets, dogs barking, and street sweeping and washing, it was not a restful night. My main complaint is not having enough information about check in, it would have been nice to know what time applied to "no late check in" and previous instructions about cars and access to the hotel. We wasted too much valuable time on this aspect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Jul 10, 2014
The hotel is located on a very narrow road and we were asked to park our car on a spot that is 500m away from the reception door which means you have to drag your luggage on a paved road to the reception building. The actual building is another 500 feet away so you drag your luggage again to this building. Oh by the way the hotel has not mentioned that there are no elevators so you carry all of your luggage upstairs into the second floor which is what we were given. There is busy taxi traffic on this road but you are not supposed to bring your car in front of the property which I did at the end anyway because all of this sounded very absurd to me. We couldn’t sleep at all because there was a lot of noise on this narrow road with taxis and tour buses passing by almost till morning and you hear everything right in your bedroom since the windows are made of wood (not the window frame the entire window is actually a shutter) but they have no glass on them. During our trip in Spain this was the least comfortable. The bottle of free red wine does not fix the problem because people come to a hotel for comfort. If I have to carry my luggage from building to building and them from one floor to the other it becomes a very uncomfortable stay. I believe the one bedroom units are more comfortable because you can check in and stay in the same building. We stayed in a different building with 2 bedroom units in it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent apartment with a very scenic view

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location location location. Beautifully appointed apartments.
Cons: We could be better prepared for the older building.
We were very happy with the actual apartment. We had a little trouble with the door of the apartment when we entered as the door was jammed in. But the apartment itself was beautiful and had a very beautiful view of the Alhambra right outside. The rooms were spacious and the decor very pleasing. We were 6 people staying at the apartment and it was spacious enough for all of us. The only other issue I would have is the fact that there was no elevator to the apartment and we had to take the bags to the room carrying them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Canada

Great hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super modern, beautiful rooms but not very well isolated. I could here all neighbors. Amazing courtyard. Location is top with 3 mins away from Plaza Nueva. Tip: Don't buy Alhambra tickets with them. They use the city tours and not the Alhambra specific tour.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by worldtraveller from london

Too far from parking, no wifi, no hot water

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The apartment itself and the surrounding neighbourhood is lovely. However, there is no way to contact reception from the room (landline doesn't work), so whenever you need anything, you need to go all the way to reception (couple of blocks down the road). There was no hot water, no wifi and there was a dirty broken pot at the entrance of the building. Also, parking is really far from hotel - about 20 min walk. They tell you that it's 5 min walk but it's definitely not.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Boston

Large apartment with great location.

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The location and size of apartment.
Cons: Have WiFi in the other location.
The apartment was large and in one of the best parts of Granada. The only caveat is that is was up the road from Shine Albayzin in its other location, which did not have WiFi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Perry Munson from Michigan

A Great Hotel With a Splendid View

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Shine Albayzin is a very comfortable hotel with fairly large rooms. It looks like a modernized structure in an ancient building. Yet, its updating has preserved the original motif very nicely. It has the classic interior courtyard and overhead sky lights. Beds are comfortable and the rooms really feel large with high ceilings and overhead beams. Our room was on the street (Darrow) and with windows closed we did not hear much street noise. The view of the north walls of the Alhambra, especially when lighted at night was impressive. It is a ten minute walk into the center of the city, in fact you are in the center in this hotel. LOST. The area around the lodging is quiet at night and in good shape, an essentially safe place to be. In the end, this was the most impressive of the seven hotels we stayed in while in Spain in spite of the fact that the services available were very limited. The people running the front desk spoke good English and were very helpful. This is not a place where you get room service, but rather a lodging that has the essence and feeling of Spain at its best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Neil from Los Angeles ca

Great hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed my stay at the shine. The hotel is very beautiful, but simple and modern. The staff are friendly and helpful. My room was a very nice size and was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was great, especially the shower. I would stay here again without a doubt
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carol from California

Charming hotel in an old-world neighborhood

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
My adult daughter and I stayed here 2 nights. The location is outstanding for walking to the Alhambra, the cathedral and downtown shopping district. More importantly, the location is right in the center of the Albayzin, with interesting views from the balcony off the rooms. The hotel itself is charming and retains its old-world appearance while offering all modern amenities and comforts. The only drawback was the occasional street noise (voices of people walking by) after midnight; however there is no auto traffic at all at night. The 7.5 euro breakfast is adequate but not lavish. We walked down the street to a fancier hotel to check out their breakfast only to discover that the breakfast room in that hotel was hot and the food was less attractive. I highly recommend this hotel for people who like to be immersed in the neighborhood.