Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Perfectly adequate

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: They were pet friendly.
Cons: They probably can't make the rooms any bigger.
Since we were visiting the local sites it didn't matter too much that our hotel room was super small and cramped. Breakfast served was adequate, staff was adequate, bed was adequate. Adequate!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Wonderful

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Wonderful hotel. Nice pool area. Nice staff. Clean and friend environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Older property, nice staff; close to train tracks

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The property's staff is its greatest strength; we were frequently greeted by staff members and asked if we needed anything, or if there was anything they could do for us. Breakfast was very good; a wide variety of breakfast foods is offered, and the cafeteria staff was particularly attentive. The mattresses are not high quality, and the hotel is close to a very active rail line with trains running all night, so we did not sleep well. I recommend that you leave the television on with the volume on low in order to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Flagstaff gem!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing I could think of.
Location: Flagstaff is a town full of things to explore, and is a great launchpad for nearby attractions, such as Grand Canyon, Meteor Crater, and other parks.
I have to say that when we first came in we didn't expect to find much, perhaps just another chain hotel along the road. But this hotel exceeded our expectations for sure. Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and spacious room, clean pool, and a continental breakfast that blows most others away. Hot breakfast with eggs, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, yogurt and fruit, with a constant replenishing. We filled up for breakfast and didn't need anything for lunch, so more time for Grand canyon, Volcano and meteor crater exploring. If you are in Flagstaff, try this place out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: It's position on Route 66.
Location: Grand Canyon two hours drive, then Sedona a must drive down 89A.
Situated on Route 66 this hotel is easy to find, a very busy hotel but provides all that is needed for a short stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Marcos, TX

Less than hoped for

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: It is located in a good half-way point in our travels.
Cons: See above.
Location: We only stayed there one night on our way to somewhere else.
Room was rather small. Bathroom very small. Mattress old and lumpy. But the worst was the constant trains travelling in both directions across the street from our side of the hotel. Room price was $50.00 higher per night that the Best Western in Las Cruces the night before, and not nearly as nice and roomy. Overpriced accomodations--even with the Expedia discount.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Good spread of breakfast.
The one queen bed room I stayed in is small. Otherwise, clean with no bedbugs which is what care for the most.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ted from Lake Havazu, Az

Good

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Ok easy to get to room... Complementary Breakfast nneds more meat variety. . No bacon or sausage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jessica from Denver

Great hotel on Route 66

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
On this small strip of Route 66, some of the hotels look pretty run down and sketchy on the outside. Pony Soldier Inn is definitely older but they have done a great job maintaining the propery and keeping the rooms updated and clean. I have no complaints with my stay. My family and I stayed for 3 nights while in town for the Grand Canyon half marathon. The complimentary breakfast was awesome and much more than what I expected. Guest services was always friendly and accomodating. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in flagstaff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 Stars near a railroad track.

Posted May 20, 2014
Place was clean and less expensive. It's located on old Route 66, so it's older. The thing my wife really liked was that it was across the street from a busy railroad track. But my wife likes to watch trains, you may not. Not loud enough to keep you awake, but the trains run about every 15. minutes.